We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

A very very good holiday inn in a great location within walking distance of new street station. Brilliant rooms.
Only downside is that it can get a little noisy due to central location. We paid extra for the breakfast which is expensive but very nice and all you could ever want for breakfast! Managed to get quite a good deal on this hotel and paid £66 for a twin room on a Friday night. Excellent value for what you get. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear James P,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. For those not on Breakfast inclusive rate, we do offer a very competitive rate of £10.50 per person if purchased the night before (terms and conditions apply) and at the weekends, we offer 2 for 1 breakfast at the rate of £15.45. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently stayed here for 1 night (theatre break), room over looked main road and with windows open there was some road noise but it is to expected for a city hotel, room was very clean and comfortable. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, there is a fridge it's empty apparently you have to order what you want, we didn't use this so cannot comment, there is a shop across the road that's open until 4am. There is plenty of choice with the breakfast. New st station is just 5min a walk, bullring shopping centre is just a 5min walk and the hippadrome theatre is just across the road. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs very close too. Will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear bonnie008,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I will never ,ever book with a Holiday Inn or Holiday Express in my life. We cancelled our reservation within 24 hours and I got charged the full amount. Apparently, the fine print said a cancellation fee, got it, but the part where it stated 100% of the booking was the cancellation fee was written very poorly. Even a Stateside Holiday Inn rep, said it's written badly and not clear. After discussing with Hoiday Inn Birmingham and they declined to reverse the charges, I said will you change how it is written so it is "clearly" stated, as it's not....they said NO. I understand a cancellation fee and even offered to pay one, but got charged the entire amount of just under US $100. I will tell anyone in the world who will listen.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michi8836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Michi8836,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your booking experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied. We are only able to offer such competitive rates by placing restrictions on amendments/cancellations to the bookings. Alternatively, you can always take advantage of our flexible rates with 4pm on the day cancellation policy. I hope this incident has not marred your opinion of us, and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business, hotel is okay, breakfast was good, unfortunately the rooms facing the road are really noisy and kept me awake, bar is good with Key matches on big screen, free WIFI, might try alternative next time as I like my quite sleep

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Phil N,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Being a City Centre Hotel, we are located in the middle of everything and some noise can be expected, even though we have fully double glazed windows throughout. Glad to hear this did not really spoil your weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel is located right in the city centre within walking distance to everything. Clean, friendly staff. Parking is expensive due to location, but cheaper alternative is only about 15 minutes walk away.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gibafulatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear gibafulatata,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver all your expectations from a Holiday Inn. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very strange layout internally with confusing stairs to access bedrooms.
Public corridors very dark and need better lighting and signage.
Rooms are OK, clean and tidy.
Service was good - nothing exceptional.
Breakfast buffet had a good selection and plenty of tables

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear John H,

Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I have taken your comments on board and will be raising it with the higher management at the earliest opportunity. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Holiday Inn is right in the city centre, so the location cannot be faulted; 5 minutes' walk from New Street Station and the Bullring. Check-in was quick and efficient. My (single) room was a double bed and quite spacious, yet friends who had asked for a double were given a small twin room. Lights were accessed by inserting the keycard into a slot, which is OK until you remove the keycard in the dark and the lights go out immediately, with no indication of where the door handle is! There is a free-to-use small safe and a small fridge. Bathroom was standard, with a decent shower. The bed was comfortable with a choice of soft or firm pillows. Despite the fact that there was a notice advising care when opening the windows fully, they only opened on a tilt. The air-conditioning controls were quite low on the wall, which necessitated kneeling down to be able to read the settings. Evening meal was canteen-standard fare, below the standard I would expect for this price. Breakfast was buffet style and pretty ordinary; undercooked bacon, gristly sausages and over-cooked fried eggs. Bar prices were about average for a city centre hotel (just under £4 for a pint of Guinness, or a Gin and Tonic) - but you may have to wait for service. Mid-afternoon and the barman kept disappearing, resulting in a 5 minute wait before getting served and I was the only one to be served!. This happened on more than one occasion This hotel was OK for a one-night gathering of friends, but I wouldn't want to stay here any longer than that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear specsaver,

Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I can assure you that I have taken your comments on board and fully discussed with the Hotel team. I hope this incident has not fully marred your opinion of us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $79 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing