We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the friendliest of welcomes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
“Not the friendliest of welcomes”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked over the phone thinking I was calling the hotel direct to find I was through to a reservation centre with someone who didn't speak very good English and couldn't understand me.

I checked in the lady who checked me in had no customer service skills as such!
Did not smile once, seemed like she didn't want to be there! Didn't say a lot! And very slow I was there for ages!

I asked if they had a bar to which I was told yes! But as it was late I can't pay cash and have to leave a security swipe to open a bar fridge in my room!
So I didn't bother and went to a bar which wanted my business!

I was charged £55 for one night stay which is good value!

I travel to birmingham a lot and never stayed here before, so thought I'd give it a try!

Location is ok although the exterior and road it's situated on is grotty!
The reception is located round the back down some alley way it looks like I couldn't initially find the entrance!
Nice welcome with two big bins outside!

I enquired about parking and its majourly over priced so i parked in the Arcadian which was cheaper!

Was placed in room 101 which is right on the end, of what is a very noisy road traffic noise, horns and shouting all night! In what looks a dodgy area!

I only stayed 1 night however on receiving my bank statement have been charged twice!!!! So I have paid £110 for one night!
For that price I could have stayed at a better hotel!

Currently querying this with management!

Spoke to someone and let's see if they call me back today after 3pm

Apparently I extended the stay at 2pm ish although when enquiring this earlier on in the night was told I couldn't extend as they were full??

So how have I been charged twice!
We shall see if this gets sorted!

On another note rooms seem very basic considering!
No proper wardrobe
I had one spare pillow and one soft one and a hard one!
With no instructions on how to get which ones you wanted and the spare pillow had no indication of which it was so how your pillow menu works I don't know as couldn't find it!

Could not seem to get the heating to work so was very cold room all night. Weirdly every time I changed the temperature up! It automatically reset back to another temperature lower than what I requested and you can't select the function of heat/fan or air con as it says on the instructions!

Room was big although shower room seemed small with grubby shower curtain and the first hotel I've stayed in with 2 seperate shower/bath taps and two shower heads etc!

Corridors seemed gloomy and dull and I received no instructions how to get to my room so walked to the wrong end of the long corridor initially!

Free wi-fi is useless and keeps cutting off and had to enquire about how to use it! Instructions for this are not clear enough and had been failed to be told at reception on check in which I would have thought be standard procedure as I'm not a mind reader yet!

I'd definitely only stay here as a last resort in the future! Didn't eat or drink here as no one seems bothered here I felt like I was an inconvenience!

So if this payment is not sorted I shall be enquiring with my bank as this was unauthorised!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lammy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre.

With regards to the noise from outside; I have taken this matter up with the Local Authorities as we do not have any control over the environment outside the building, yet it is also a great concern to us. As being a commercial property, there are set procedures when dealing with those incidents which require a lot time and forms to be filled in. To support our case with the Local Authorities, I will be sharing your invaluable comments with them. Being a City Centre property, you would expect to have some outside noise. Even though, we have experienced similar incidents last year, we can not inform all customers of what could happen, as this is not a regular issue.

Regarding the Bar; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests do get a great stay and a great service from our team. Unfortunately we don’t accept cash after 11pm so that we have only residents at the bar. Thank you once again, for your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    638
    351
    114
    78
See reviews for
92
446
95
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great stay,service is top nosh,rooms are not average but suitable for the price.all modern which I think is important furnishes ae lovely.checkin upon arrival was easy staff were nice.
Again very nice all round and would defiantly recommend to anyone who's on a nice tightly budget

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.
We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.
Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.
Kind Regards
Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre is strategically located within 10 minutes of brisk walking to the bustling Birmingham New Street station with regular services to and from London (1 hour 20 minutes away by Virgin Trains) and other parts of the UK, and also to the futuristic Bullring Shopping Mall anchored by Selfridges and Debenhams department stores.

The Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reminds me of the Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport, which while totally serviceable, provides a quick and comfortable transit stop rather than a relaxing vacation residence, and lacks facilities such as a pool and a gym.

Staff are generally friendly, but service can be tardy, as perhaps can be expected of a busy hotel. A call for an ice bucket was not fulfilled despite a reminder after an hour’s wait, and we had to personally make a trip down to the lobby bar to bring up the ice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.
We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.
Regarding the ice; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests do get a great service from our team I will pass the comments to my team to see if such problems doesn’t occur in the future.
Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.
Kind Regards
Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As per all the Holiday Inn's I have stopped in they have shown great service, great value for money and lovely rooms. This one is just as I would have expected. The only thing that lets this one down is the hideous views of the building work, the roofs and the ring road in Birmingham, but it can't really do anything about that. If you want a business hotel though to work in it can't be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetuan22s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed her 6 April. Great location right in the Centre easy access to the train station. We parked in the car park just near to the hotel for ease but the hotel does have a discount with another NCP car park. On arrival greeted by very friendly and helpful reception team who gave us all the information we required for our stay. We were in Birmingham to go to the WBA v Arsenal game. Very easy to get to WBA, trains available every 10 minutes. Large, clean rooms with very comfortable beds and good sized bathrooms. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Good service clean rooms and a good location .
Situated just near the train station and Bullring . Loads of option to eat around.
Good clean rooms most of them re furbished now.
Recommended .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aammaarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First discovered the Bar here last Grand National Day (2012) and its a little oasis of calm in the city centre where you can have a good value bite to eat and drink in comfort with excellent personal service! I've dropped in now and again for a drink and this year reserved a table for the folks and I to watch the race in comfort (mothers too embarrassing to be standing in the bookies shouting at the screens!) and we spent a leisurely afternoon grazing and drinking and waiting for mothers winners to be come in! This is just a comfortable, reliable bar service grazing food (father ended up taking the other half of mothers pizza home for supper - though he's not keen on leftovers!). Thanks to Geoff and the team for looking after us - and we will be popping back before next years race! (oh and they both had winners - 3rd and 4th this year!)... go here for a little peace, good prices and an out door terrace!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassionateAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,212 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing