We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but don't expect a good view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As per all the Holiday Inn's I have stopped in they have shown great service, great value for money and lovely rooms. This one is just as I would have expected. The only thing that lets this one down is the hideous views of the building work, the roofs and the ring road in Birmingham, but it can't really do anything about that. If you want a business hotel though to work in it can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetuan22s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed her 6 April. Great location right in the Centre easy access to the train station. We parked in the car park just near to the hotel for ease but the hotel does have a discount with another NCP car park. On arrival greeted by very friendly and helpful reception team who gave us all the information we required for our stay. We were in Birmingham to go to the WBA v Arsenal game. Very easy to get to WBA, trains available every 10 minutes. Large, clean rooms with very comfortable beds and good sized bathrooms. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Good service clean rooms and a good location .
Situated just near the train station and Bullring . Loads of option to eat around.
Good clean rooms most of them re furbished now.
Recommended .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aammaarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First discovered the Bar here last Grand National Day (2012) and its a little oasis of calm in the city centre where you can have a good value bite to eat and drink in comfort with excellent personal service! I've dropped in now and again for a drink and this year reserved a table for the folks and I to watch the race in comfort (mothers too embarrassing to be standing in the bookies shouting at the screens!) and we spent a leisurely afternoon grazing and drinking and waiting for mothers winners to be come in! This is just a comfortable, reliable bar service grazing food (father ended up taking the other half of mothers pizza home for supper - though he's not keen on leftovers!). Thanks to Geoff and the team for looking after us - and we will be popping back before next years race! (oh and they both had winners - 3rd and 4th this year!)... go here for a little peace, good prices and an out door terrace!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PassionateAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after an event on Saturday at the NEC. Found the hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be very friendly. Main problems.... dont get a room at the front of the hotel on a Saturday night far too noisy (even 6 floors up) and having ignorant guests staying on the same floor....being woken up at 4 in the morning by guests who have no respect for anyone and then by the nutters outside overall not a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear valued guest,


Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

With regards to the noise from outside; I have taken this matter up with the Local Authorities as we do not have any control over the environment outside the building, yet it is also a great concern to us. As being a commercial property, there are set procedures when dealing with those incidents which require a lot time and forms to be filled in. To support our case with the Local Authorities, I will be sharing your invaluable comments with them. Being a City Centre property, you would expect to have some outside noise. Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Holiday Inns tend to be fairly standard formulaic hotels. The things that make the difference are the details. At check in there was eye contact and some engaged conversation about my home location, as well as helpful thoughts on where to eat out. Much better than being processed by someone from far away who has no interest in the person.

The room had curious wooden shutters instead of curtains however they were very effective at keeping out the light and almost all of the sounds of the city. There were a few late night morons in extra noisy cars but the sounds were muffled enough to not intrude.

At £67 for a quality hotel that is a stones throw away from New Street Station, I felt that this was great value. The breakfast is reasonably priced provided you pre-book at reception.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My busines stay was for 5 nights in March 2013. My 7th floor room with ensuite shower overlooked the main road was relatively small but clean, warm and, apart from some noise outside the hotel on my first night, was relatively quiet. Within a few yards of the Bullring shopping centre, New Street station and the bus station. Breakfast was excellent. Buffet style full english, fruit and cold and hot drinks. The staff worked quietly and efficiently in a very busy hotel.
I was mor than a little dismayed with evening restaurant prices which at first glance appeared to be reasonable. However, as all components of a meal appeared to be extra, the final bill rapidly climbed. Steak with a choice of sauces had to be topped up with fries and other "extras". One meal and a drink came out between £25 and £28. if I hadn't asked I would have been served with a steak, one cherry tomato and a shallot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobccooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $77 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing