We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but challenging!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed last night in this hotel whilst in Birmingham on business. It is in a central location, with very helpful staff and the rooms are comfortable and very clean. The beds are comfortable too, and the pillows are divine! The room was very warm and the windows opened, but only a little.
The hair dryer which was attached to the back of the wardrobe and the lead had to be really stretched to get anywhere near a mirror. Quite a challenge! To be fair, my colleague said her hairdryer was just in a drawer so she could plug in at a location of her choice.
All in all, a pleasant stay and handy for China Town with some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariamcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear mariamcb,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction.

Regarding the hair dryer; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We will be looking into this issue
Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had an overall pleasurable business stay at Holiday Inn CC in Birmingham. Location is quite central next to the New Street train station, room was very good, breakfast was acceptable. The view from the window is however rather depressing, industrial and overall non-spectacular, which is not miraculous considering the exact location of the street.

I got the quite nasty surprise from the receptionist that "there are no power plug adapters beyond reception desks", but of course "they offer them from the machine in the hotel" for 7 pounds...so don't forget to get your adapters beforehand!!!

Also be aware of the weird location of the build-in hairdryer - deeply hidden in the wardrobe next to the room's door and NOT in the bathroom...

Lucky me, all night long doors have been slamming - no idea if that's usually like that or not...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear lucyset,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction.

Regarding the noise from the corridor; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests do get a great stay and undisturbed sleep overnight. As you notice we have put posters in all bedroom floors to eliminate this kind of incidents to occur.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location close to Birmingham New Street railway station and the shops / Bullring. Not the best looking hotel from the outside, reception functional and efficient. Well priced for a city centre hotel. No real issues with the room which was a good size and had been recently refurbished. It certainly had all you would need - safe, ironing board, tea and coffee, flat screen TV, comfy bed, etc. For some reason hotels are pulling out their baths when they refurb and the Holiday Inn has followed the trend - shame really as showers are not everyone's 'cup of tea'. As others have commented the worst thing was the noise from the street at night, I was on the 1st floor and even with double glazed unit's and heavy curtains the noise finds its way through. I couldn't get into the hotel restaurant (too busy to accommodate me at the time I wanted to eat) which was a pity, but there are plenty of food establishments a stones throw away. Breakfast was ok with all you'd need to set your day up - would have liked hot plates and much hotter food, but have become accustomed to luke warm buffets!

Room Tip: Rooms are OK - just take the ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear RandRI,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center

We are working very closely with local authorities and Southside BID (Business Development District) to address those issues such us noise. We do have wardens working 24/7 to deal with some of the issues We have recently refurbished all our rooms with double glazed windows. The council have also red routed all Smallbrook Queensway.

Regarding the Restaurant; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests do get a great stay and a great service from our team I will pass the comments to my team to see if such problems doesn’t occur in the future.

Thank you once again, for your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Close to the railway station and the shops. Our room was very small, tea and coffee making facilities and glasses were situated underneath where you hung your clothes. The hairdryer was positioned where it was almost impossible to look in the mirror. No bath only a shower, but the shower curtain didn't reach the shower tray so when you had a shower the floor got soaked. Worst thing was the noise from the street at night, we were on the 5th floor. We didn't have any food at the hotel so can't comment on that. The price wasn't bad, check in and check out went smoothly, also when we arrived back in the evening the doorman checked that we were actually staying at the hotel so security good. Rooms were clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhooper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear janhooper50,

Thank you for taking time to write your review.

We are working very closely with local authorities and Southside BID (Business Development District) to address those issues such us noise. We do have wardens working 24/7 to deal with some of the issues We have recently refurbished all our rooms with double glazed windows. The council have also red routed all Smallbrook Queensway.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center. Concerning the Room, I am sorry to hear your comments. Please contact me on your next visit to Birmingham.

Thank you once again, for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

City centre hotel next door to the Radisson. Five minutes from Birmingham New Street station.
The room was better than expected considering the external appearance of the hotel.
My main problem is the noise from the street. I had a room on the 5th floor and was very surprised by how poor the soundproofing of the windows (which looked relatively new was). There is continuous noise day and most of the night. I have stayed quite a few times at the Radisson next door where soundproofing is excellent, so the poor quality in this hotel was a surprise.
I would only ever stay here again if I can be guaranteed a room away from the street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear MMmd

Thank you for taking time to write your review.

We are working very closely with local authorities and Southside BID (Business Development District) to address those issues such us noise. We do have wardens working 24/7 to deal with some of the issues We have recently refurbished all our rooms with double glazed windows. The council have also red routed all Smallbrook Queensway.

Thank you once again, for your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If I'd had a choice I'd have arrived by train into Birmingham New Street Station - but on this trip I had my car with me and I foolishly parked in the NCP car park neighbouring the hotel - warning - the NCP car park is rather expensive. The lady at check-in suggested a better, less expensive car park located close to the hotel in China Town (APCOA - Wrottesley Street) which is £10 for 24hours if you show your hotel bill to the parking attendant. I decided to take the hotel's advice and went to move my car from the NCP - which charges £6 for the first 0-2 hours (ouch) and £20 for 24hours.

I had an executive room on the 6th floor which was comfortable, big and very clean. I ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a very good risotto. Breakfast had the usual hotel offering.

Wifi is complimentary throughout the hotel - a good point and unusual for Holiday Inn. I enjoyed a comfortable sleep even though my room overlooked a central road.

I'd recommend this hotel for value and service - just be careful of the parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear WB3,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.

Being a city centre hotel, the parking is limited at the site, but with plenty of car parks within walking distance. As you mentioned, we do have a concession with Apcoa car park as you know (currently at £10.00 per 24 hours). If you contact the hotel, we would be more than happy to give you directions, for your next visit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I don't really ever stay in holiday inn's and I wasn't expected such a nice hotel. The room we stayed in was huge, one of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. The staff were friendly and polite, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle75120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Michelle75120,

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay with us, I am so glad everything went well. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

It is very encouraging to receive your comments.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $70 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing