We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, good location. Overall, satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value for money, good location. Overall, satisfactory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in a twin room for one night with a friend.
Large room and cleaned to an acceptable standard.
Large TV, plenty of wardrobe space and other amenities.
We didn't book too far in advance but it was still very cheap.
We thought this was better than previous hotels we have stayed in whilst visiting Birmingham with higher star ratings and price.
The room was facing the main road so it was a bit loud if we had the windows open, but otherwise the air con worked perfectly well.

However, we had one issue. The bathroom door was SEE THROUGH. It was frosted, but since it was the entire length of the door (within a wooden frame), and the door being right next to the loo, it was quite...intimate...?! This was a problem since you could see A LOT. Considering I stayed with a male friend (I am female)...it was a bit awkward to say the least!

Otherwise, the hotel was extremely good value for money, close to the station and a short walk to bars/clubs/restaurants so we didn't need any taxis. Happily stay again. Though, will probably take a poster or something to cover the bathroom door.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putkinslikesed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear putkinslikesed,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    610
    338
    102
    72
See reviews for
86
419
94
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

So glad I was only there for one night! Found someone's socks under the bed!,The TV did not work,and the water did not drain away in the shower,bin men arrived around 5.00am and the bed and pillows most uncomfortable.
I am a Gold card holder and when I complained in the morning the receptionist said I should of called to get it sorted,but it is not what you expect of Holiday Inn Hotels. £13.95 was the charge for tea,toast and cereal in the morning l!! when I asked if this could be refunded due to the problems I was told no
My colleagues also said they had a bad nights sleep due to noise and uncomfortable beds,the only good thing about the hotel is it is a walk from the station hopefully I will never be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Shawsy_11,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

In order to investigate any concerns you experienced during your stay, I’d appreciate if you could contact the Hotel directly.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

As we travelled by train, very handy as litterally took us 3 minutes walk from New Street Station. Quick check in and warm welcome but we were on an odd 'SP' floor looking onto city street. NOt sure if it was up or down from reception! Windows were half way up the wall and covered by wooden shutters. Excellent power shower. I always thought that you knew what you were getting with Holiday Inn even if not great but I found this a bit odd. Had 3 kids with me but our 2 rooms were at completely opposite ends of a long corridor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear 54Maggie

Thank you for taking time to write your review.

It is my regret that you found problem with the "SP" floor. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to delight our guests. We are I the process to refurbish all the "SP" rooms to a modern style.

Thank you once again, for your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 13th October 2012.
Upon arrival was upgraded to an executive room on the 9th floor as a gold member of the premier rewards scheme. This was very kind, as were the complimentary drinks at the bar that evening, so thanks for that.
Having stayed at the hotel before, I did think think that whilst the executive room was bigger, had bath robes, slippers, a complimentary bar of diary milk chocolate, and non-complimentary mini bar, the ordinary room I'd stayed at before was better as it been updated and generally felt more modern and comfortable.
Breakfast the next Sunday morning was I think extraordinarily busy due to the Cliff Richard fan club who had been in residence the previous evening. Despite this the staff at breakfast coped well with the extra numbers and the breakfast experience was overall a good one, despite the queues for toast.
This is a good hotel, it's obvious the management take care about what goes on in the hotel, especially at night, when the very polite and professional security guy takes the time to check who is coming into the hotel and is not afraid to implement the strict access rules after hours for non-residents.

Room Tip: It is probably best to get a room at the back of the hotel or on a high floor at the weekend, mid-we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Dimeander,

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay with us, I am so glad everything went well and our staff have looked after you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

Concerning the Restaurant breakfast, it is very encouraging to receive your comments.We will also look at the way of easy up the queues.

Thank you again for your review.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I only stayed here for the one night I was in Birmingham for. It's adequate enough and clean so it does the job. Probably wouldn't consider staying more than a couple of nights, however its location isn't something to be overlooked.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mhll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear mhll,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City. It is always most encouraging to receive such feedback from our customers.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My daughter had an audition in the city for 10am. We arrived on an early morning flight and decided to go to the hotel to leave our cases and maybe to freshen up in one of their bathroom. The girl at the reception ( I think her name was Jana) pleasantly surprised us by offering to check us in earlier even though we had not requested this at the time of our booking which was entirely our fault. She was exceptional in the way she checked us in and ensured that everything was arranged including our taxi back to the airport the next day. She did all this with a smile and a welcoming warmth. Now that's what I call "customer service"! The room was spacious and clean. I couldn't have asked for more. I will surely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayolala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Ayolala,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the customer service you received was outstanding. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Definitely enjoyed my stay at the holiday Inn City centre in Birmingham. Love the executive room. Thought it was clean and just feel very comfortable. Free and strong Internet was a plus! Walking distance to the Bull Ring made it even a superb choice. Will want to stay again in this hotel if going back to Birmingham

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Truffles01,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City. It is always most encouraging to receive such feedback from our customers, such as you.
Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center.

I am glad you liked your room accommodation. Concerning the Internet, it is very encouraging to receive your comments on the internet quality.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing