We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice room - but noisy”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel and was impressed with the room (good size, nice bathroom (tub included)) However, my room was facing the street which made it a quite noisy experience. On top of this there was a lot of noise from the adjacent rooms from people playing loud music and laughing. Luckily I had earplugs, so I managed to get a decent night's sleep.
There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom :(

Otherwise a good experience with good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear 1Cam,

Thank you for taking time to write your review.

We are working very closely with local authorities and Southside BID (Business Development District) to address those issues such us noise. We do have wardens working 24/7 to deal with some of the issues.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center. I am glad you liked your room accommodation. I will pass your comments to the Head Housekeeper to eliminate the bathroom problems.

Regarding the noise from neighbour room; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests do get a great stay and undisturbed sleep overnight. As you notice we have put posters in all bedroom floors to eliminate this kind of incidents to occur.

Thank you once again, for your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    637
    350
    112
    78
See reviews for
92
445
95
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

short walk from New St railway station and close to shops, theatres and resturants make this a good city centre base. Welcoming and helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet (although I dislike urn coffee and DIY toast).
Resturant ok, bar food fine for a quick snack - and some of the best onion rings I have had in a long time.
Room clean, comfortable and effective air conditioning.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor facing the main road but the effective double glazing meant I was disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sarah C,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City. It is always most encouraging to receive such feedback from our customers, such as you.
Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center. I am glad you liked your room accommodation.
Concerning the Restaurant breakfast, it is very encouraging to receive your comments on the food quality. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the coffee servant and toast.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to an event at the o2 acadamy and it really was just around the corner. The hotel had no car parking, but plenty of nearby carparks.We used the chinatown carpark, again a 2 minute walk and cost us £12.50 for 24 hours, not bad for city centre parking. The hotel staff were all very friendly, the room was clean and large enough. The hotel bar was good, if a little on the pricey side, but good food and great portions. The breakfast was buffet style and served until 11 on a Sunday.
Overall, perfect for a bolt hole when out and about in the city.

Room Tip: We were located at the back of the hotel and found it quiet, our friends however had a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear H J,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction

Being a city centre hotel, the parking is limited at the site, but with plenty of car parks within walking distance. As you mentioned, we do have a concession with Apcoa car park .

I am also happy that you enjoyed the the standard of our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is vers good. Despite the average hotel Italië offers a great room with a great bed. Room size and bathroom were perfect.

Breakfeast was good. English intercontinentale buffet with good quality.

Is on walKing distance of bullring shopping centre, trainstation and sits on top of some shops bar restaurant and convieniance stores

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judgeoftravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear judgeoftravellers,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, I am so glad that the room and Breakfast was good. I am looking forward to see you at the Holiday inn Birmingham City soon.
Thank you again for your review.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Reason for the trip was for our wedding food tasting. We booked a room and thought we'd make a night of it. Also we could test the hotel out ready for our wedding reception next yr!

Check inn.
very easy, staff was very helpfull. Thank you.

Rooms.
We had a standard room with b&b. The room was better than expected. I have some picture uploaded on here for others to see. Very clean, however my only gripe was the mini bar was empty, (But this was just something i would of liked so only personal maybe there are filled on req).

Wedding food tasting.
Our wedding planner who works for the hotel joined us for this, it was a very nice touch. The food was excellent i couldnt fault it, the restaurant manager was great too he couldnt do enough for us.

Sleep quality.
We had room 810 this was on the back side of the hotel. double glazzed windows i couldnt hear a thing, and they are working on Birmingham new Street station over night too. The beds was very comfotable, and a pilllow of choice, soft or hard!! Excellent nights sleep.

Breakfast.
When we got down stairs to the restaurant we was asked our room number by some very nice staff. They asked if we had eaten breakfast there before, we hadnt. He took us around and showed us where things was and said it was a buffet and to help our self.

They had everything you could ever want for breakfast, cereal, full english, fruit. yogurt, toast, french croissants the lot. Oh juices too. Overall a very nice breakfast.


Overall.
From start to finish we was impressed. They staff are helpfull and the hotel is too a high standard. Im pleased me and my partner have chosen this for our venue for our wedding reception next sepember we know our guests will like it here to!!

Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear PGDanny,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, I am so glad everything went well and our staff have looked after you. I am looking forward to see you on your weeding day.

Thank you again for your review.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around the world
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Here's our review, based on our 8B criteria.

* Bed - Very comfy
* Bedroom - Good size
* Bathroom - Good size with bath
* Bar - Nothing special, in fact probably just as you would imagine from the Holiday Inn.
* Breakfast - Fine. A few ingredients were already missing from the cooked breakfast even though there was still half an hour to go. I got the impression that they would have been happy to replenish anything that was requested, but that’s not the point.
* Bods - I organised a conference there and everyone I liaised with was very helpful – before, during and after.
* Budget - Fair
* Back (i.e. would we return?) - Yes, although it would not be first choice. You know what you’re going to get. I would say this is the typical Holiday Inn experience (in a good way), although there was no gym/fitness centre. The carpark in nearby Chinatown (5 mins walk, when you know which direction) is the best value and HI customers get discount. The Indian restaurant over the road is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear NickAndPaula,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction

Being a city centre hotel, the parking is limited at the site, but with plenty of car parks within walking distance. As you mentioned, we do have a concession with Apcoa car park as you know (currently at £10.00 per 24 hours). If you contact the hotel, we would be more than happy to give you directions, for your next visit.

Regarding the quality of breakfast, I am sorry that you felt some items were missing from our breakfast . I can assure you that I will monitor this matter in detail and make the necessary changes where needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

As a lover of good hotels in nice grounds this Hotel is a shock to the senses as in where it is positioned in the City. Right on a busy junction . Once inside though the friendly staff and comfortable rooms really make you relax. Nice and clean bedrooms with good facilities ,clean en -suite bathroom,tv ,internet,mini bar.....
The breakfast is to die for... we didnt try the evening food in the restaurant ,but the choice looked good and the quality should be good due to the brekky being excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel pick up a lot of noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear JohnCommerford,

Thank you for your review. . I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City. It is always most encouraging to receive such feedback from our customers, such as you.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center. I am glad you liked your room accommodation.

Concerning the Restaurant breakfast, it is very encouraging to receive your comments on the food quality.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing