We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better inside than out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Looking at the hotel you do think you want to get back in your car and run but it is better inside. I have stayed here a few times and it could really do with a makeover on the exterior. It is down the road from the bull ring and round the corner from New Street Station. You can park at Albany car park behind (which is very rough but ok). The rooms are ok and the bar a bit dated but it does have a balcony area (true it does look over the road and dodgy shops) which in the summer is a welcome addition. This is a fine hotel for business or a flying visit but not for a long stay or a romantic break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear UkBustraveller,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center. I am glad you liked your room accommodation. It is my regret that you found the hotel exterior unattractive. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to delight our guests. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to consider needed improvements and I hope that you can give us a chance in the future to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on Friday 29th June, The reception staff were friendly and professional. The hotel building was better on the inside than the outside. The rooms were reasonably decorated but nothing special and all fixtures worked, sadly only a double bed, not a king size, this did not aid a comfortable sleep. However the rooms were very clean, throughout.There was only one towel in the bathroom on arrival but reception had others sent up quickly after my request.
The menu in the restaurant was not exciting and as a vegetarian i had only 2 options, both pasta dishes. I do expect a better quality menu in this day and age and at a 4 star hotel. When i asked the waiter for any alternatives he pointed me to the bar menu, which gave a choice of Pizza, or Nacho's, not great for a birthday celebratory meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Dawn186424

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologise for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We regularly review our menu option and we will take you feedback into our consideration for our next review. I hope you had good stay otherwise.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon with improved menu option for you.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Convenient for the city centre shops and restaurants. Easy to get to from New Street Station. Just face the Bullring and walk to your right.

Not a particularly inspiting facade but the rooms are big, bright and modern. Functional bathroom with good shower. The twin had plenty of space for two to spend a few days. Small table with chair and a desk and chair..

Facilities good with good sized TV (limited channels), tea and coffee maker and an ironing board and hairdryer.

My room faced the street which was pretty busy and relatively noisy. Didn't cause any problems sleeping though.

Breakfast was good with a choice of continental and cooked items, toast maker etc.

Good choice for business in the city centre or, at the right rate, for a tourist.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Adrianhobson,

Thank you for your review, I hope you had good stay with us. The location of the hotel it is great, we are in the heart of city centre everything is within minutes walk away. We are currently working on a project regards to the TV channel options and looking to roll it out very soon.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Nothing that will set the world of fire but does the job for a hotel near the station and my local office. Nice bar and rooms are large with FS TV.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkfish870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear monkfish870,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Concerning the Bar and the TV , it is very encouraging to receive your kind comments.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I've stayed in many holiday inns, all over the country so I know what to expect with this style of hotel. Usually pretty basic but I have to say this is one of my favourites. From the outside it really is nothing to look at. Inside is much nicer and the rooms are great. The exec rooms are really nice with granite finishes and are very tastefully decorated. I particularly like the bathrooms which are very modern and classy. Small touches like low lighting under the sink and granite surfaces make the place feel more of a 4/5 star city hotel than a holiday inn. Wifi in the rooms via Ethernet and granite work desks with plenty of good lighting and spotlighting. There is a mini bar and flat screen tv too.

The restaurant and bar are also great. The food is tasty and reasonably priced and they also show main sky sports events too.

There is a piano lounge and open balcony which is useful in the warmer summer months to have drinks.

I have stayed many times in this holiday inn and quite look forward to going back. There are also some nice Indian restaurants across the road if that's your thing. Thumbs up from me!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank Lad24LFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Lad24LFC

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay with us, I am so glad everything went well and our staff have looked after you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again for your review.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely, well kept Holiday Inn next to train station. However they have only about 6 parking spaces so you end up parking in the near by multi storey which is very expensive and grotty.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Taffbowen,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City.

Being a city centre hotel, the parking is limited at the site, but with plenty of car parks within walking distance. We do have a concession with Apcoa car park (currently at £10.00 per 24 hours). If you contact the hotel, we would be more than happy to give you directions, for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Walking distance from New Street station, main bus routes, restaurants and shops. I asked for, and was allocated, a room facing the "quieter" direction -ie up towards the civic centre area and was sufficiently high up to enjoy the view. No noise whatsoever from lift outside the bedroom door(the receptionist had worried a bit about this); room temperature able to be adjusted to suit my needs; able to open the windows for air; lovely comfy bed; flat screen TV with easily obtainable radio channels; tea/coffee etc in room; lovely large shower in a decent sized and clean shower room; toiletries etc; breakfast very good, wide choice etc, very friendly waiting staff;easy check in /out altho' busy. The only downside would be , as its a busy hotel, two lifts might be insufficient at peak times, especially for business people in a rush. Nice to see local young people enjoying themselves at a "school prom" in the evening, but no poor behaviour.

Room Tip: Back facing, higher up -don't worry about being near a lift, all is sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear GillyPNorthEastCoast

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
190 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $75 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing