We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor performace rescued from dire by Bar Staff and Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I'm a Premier Points user and normally stay in the near by (and Excellent) Crowne Plaza which is part of the same chain, however on the website the Holiday Inn came in a tenner cheaper at £60 so I thought we'd give it a go!

Reception had no Premier fast track check-in so we waited at least 10 minutes before getting to the desk, once at check-in there was 'no record' of our car parking being booked and the clerk insisted on arguing about this (what was stated on the website). I was disapointed at no parking but even more so at having a 5 minute argumant about it even when I said don't bother I'll find my own parking parking! I ended up having to park the car at the Pallasades Shopping Centre and walking back 10 minutes in the rain!

The room was well appointed and on a high floor which was all as requested, the bathroom was a big disapointment (see photos) not least of all because the very hot towell rail fell off the wall and hit my wife who then scalded herself trying to hold it whilst I ran to help; (if she had not held it it would have ripped the electrics out of the wall) we informed the desk at check-out to receive the response 'oh sorry about that, you have a balance of £12.50 to pay for your movie'. The desk manager stepped in to ask for the room number and called house-keeping to adress the fault. But cheers! We're really glad my wife bothered to get hurt whilst saving you a couple of hundred quid in electrical repairs by stopping the towell rail wiring being ripped out the wall!

The layout of the bathroom is the worst I've ever seen in a large chain hotel; it was impossible to sit on the toilet without having those modern detachable legs! I'd love to know; why was there was a need for huge vanity unit leaving 5" gap at the front of the toilet bowl?

It's worth noting, I would have rated this hotel very poor but for an experience in the Bar, a young lady; Kadi (though my spelling of her name is suspect) went out of her way running all over the hotel to get ingredients to make me a White Russian; it would have been so easy for her to just say they could not do one. Brilliant service not experienced in this country for a very long time!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid city noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky L, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on the shortfalls you experienced during your recent stay at the Holiday inn Birmingham City Centre.

In order to investigate the matter fully, I’d appreciate if you could contact the Hotel directly.

I hope this incident has not marred your opinion of us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Check in was excellent, and staff very freindly. Bedroom was clean,but the shower curtain was grubby and tiles needed a good clean. Bar persons a bit slow they seemed to be more interested in taking pictures on their phones, it was only when i was seated with my group that i found out they were taking pictures of four legged rodents running around their feet. Not good for us customers to here and see this as we were nervous of staying in the bar so retired to our rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky L, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on the shortfalls you experienced during your recent stay at the Holiday inn Birmingham City Centre.

In order to investigate the matter fully, I’d appreciate if you could contact the Hotel directly.

I hope this incident has not marred your opinion of us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice up to date hotel with large rooms and great baths. Good location 3 blocks from New Street train stations and major shopping.restaurant area. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear Madam,

It’s always most encouraging to receive such feedback and it does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time.

We have passed your comments onto all parties concerned and have posted a copy of your comments on the staff notice board.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good points:
~ central location
~ 5 minute walk to New Street Station, Bullring, Victoria Square, Mailbox
~ Very close to Chinatown and the entertainment, theatre and gay area
~ relatively affordable
~ decent, modern, nicely designed rooms
~ modern bathroom
~ free wifi
~ breakfast costs only GBP 10.50 if ordered the night before
~ nice buffet breakfast has pretty well everything, except luxury items
~ 10 min walk to The Gym
~ kettle in room, with lots of free tea and coffee, and cookies
~ safe in room
~ comfortable bed; lots of pillows
~ friendly, efficient service from reception and cleaning staff
~ wall of windows in some rooms
~ flat screen TV (with only English channels)
~ windows can be opened

There's always a danger in listing the no-so-good points, because people tend to take these out of proportion. However, no hotel is perfect.
~ double rooms are small, but we changed to a twin and these are bigger
~ smallish bathroom; small tub
~ extraordinary noise from rooms facing the street, at least on Friday and Saturday night (including cars, horn blowing, party-goers, screaming)
~ guests can turn up the heat, but it makes a noise
~ shower/bath water is fine, but you can’t make it truly hot if that's what you like

This hotel is recommended if you get a twin room facing away from the street. I would have given it a rating of 4/5, except for the noise on Friday and Saturday night for rooms facing the street.

Room Tip: Get a twin room facing away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s always most encouraging to receive such feedback and it does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time.

We have passed your comments onto all parties concerned and have posted a copy of your comments on the staff notice board.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Efficient check in, clean room, comfy bed. For city centre hotel, it was not too noisy (a few sirens heard outside during the night). £10.50 standard charge for breakfast was high for small bowl of cereal and a piece of toast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s always most encouraging to receive such feedback and it does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time.

We have passed your comments onto all parties concerned and have posted a copy of your comments on the staff notice board.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Check in was very quick and efficient. Stayed in a very large exec room on the 8th floor. Only woken once in the middle of the night by a lot of bottles being put into a wheelie bin or it could have been refuse collectors. Considering the room size, it would benefit from a larger tv and the bathroom was small (again considering the size of the bedroom. We were room only so cant comment about breakfast. Very well located for the Bullring and New Street Station.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s always most encouraging to receive such feedback and it does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time.

We have passed your comments onto all parties concerned and have posted a copy of your comments on the staff notice board.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is quite an old hotel, recently refurbished, in the centre of Birmingham just around the corner from the main train station. Some bargain rates to be found.

As a PC Platinum member, they looked after me well - upgraded my room and offered some free drinks. The bar on the 1st floor is also pleasant.

Free WiFi in my room. Only complaint was the road noise, despite the double glazing. Suggest that you ask for a room that faces out back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s always most encouraging to receive such feedback and it does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time.

We have passed your comments onto all parties concerned and have posted a copy of your comments on the staff notice board.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $79 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing