We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only just about average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only just about average”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The convenient location of this hotel is the only thing that I liked. Although there was nothing particularly wrong with the place everything was only just acceptable and for this sort of money I would normally expect a lot more, even in a city centre location. Disengaged staff with no real desire to help ( or in some cases even be there ! ) I got the feeling they were just completing a process rather than delivering customer service. The rooms were very clean but at first it seemed there were no windows until I discovered that they were behind two enormous wooden boards, my room had a horrible view too. The dinners weren't great, very mass produced and no imagination, there were loads of staff wanderig around but trying to get one of them to take my order or ask for anything was almost inpossible without having to stand up and go over to one of them. The breakfasts were a similarly average affair. Decor wise this hotel is a bit dated but everything works.Just don't expect much, if all you need is a clean place to sleep then it is fine but for anything else I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get one that doesn't look over the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear PRR79,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    637
    350
    112
    78
See reviews for
92
445
95
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were on the 7th floor, lift was old and could do with a little maintanence. We decided to have a meal in the resturant but the desserts was not half as good as the choices on the in room menu so we decided to order cheescake x2 to the room and was charged £14.50 for the priviledge. We was absolutely disgusted as on the menu it stated £4.50! We wouldn't mind only it tasted as if it had beed sat for 2 weeks before it was served! We stayed for 2 nights, the first night wasn't too bad noise wise (sunday night) but monday night we got a grand total of 1 hour sleep after all the clubbers went home at 5am the noise began in the hotel!!!! After we complained at reception and all they said was we have had a battle with them to keep the noise down! No apologises and no compensation or any sign of making it better! I will not be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hixyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear Hixyy,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here when we visited to see the xmas market. Only stayed overnight, it was in a perfect position for the shops in the centre. We were given an execitive room which was lovely, pity we were nt there long enough to take advantage of the room. The breakfast was continental or English which were both good and cooked in small quantities so it was nt dried up. Did nt notice the noise from the road outside as im used to living by a railway and we were on the 7th floor. I would use this hotel again for a weekend visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear gyllopy,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in October. Paid slightly extra to upgrade room and think it was well worth it. The room was nicely finished, with a very large bed and nice basic bathroom. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but we just went to Bullring and ate there. Hotel really handy to railway station, Bullring.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcbalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We (Wife and I) have just spent the weekend at this Hotel.Unfortunately we were on the 1st floor and facing the road :-( Quite noisy due to the road and noisy club goers (We were young once)
We can't blame the Hotel for that though.
My only complaint, was that the mattress was too soft for my liking!
Ideally located for the tourist, we went for the Xmas Market and were not disappointed. i found the locals very helpful when asking for directions.
One tip for you all though, when in a bar/pub, be aware on how you tip the server. I am used to telling the person, 'To take your own!' On merseyside they will take 20p. The two pubs I done it in, one person took £1.75 and in another they too £1.50. needless to say, I never said it again.

Room Tip: Ask to go higher and to the rear of the building if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Exeuctive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear pjred,

Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was upgraded to an Executive room on the 9th Floor - big room, comfortable bed but the 9th floor is built on some form of extension on the top of the original building; there was a door dirctly onto the balcony, but the door was just a thin wodden door locked with two bolts, one of which didn't work. The upshot was that anybody in any of the other rooms on this floor could have gained access to my room (luckily I was only there for one night) there was no sound-proofing (I looked out onto a tower block that was being demolished and the work carried on through the night) and the room was very cold. I have stayed in other rooms on different fllors in this hotel and the noise is always a real problem (very busy main roads and inn the heart of club land) There are much worse hotels in the city centre but there are much better ones too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear PAW72,

Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at exutive room upgraded due my Platinum membership. The room is clean old fashion even it has been renovated recently. The bathroom shower was broken. I had dinner but the food was poor and the resturent had bad design. The corridor has bad smell. I didn't enjoy my stay. The park is far from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2016
Dear Raaid,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing