We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for the bullring and the Hippodrome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
gloucestershire uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location for the bullring and the Hippodrome”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here one night when we were in Birmingham to see We will rock you at the Hippodrome. We booked using airmiles which was for one night with breakfast in a standard room, However we decided to upgrade to an executive room for extra £15 cash on arrival. Check in was quick and easy although the young girl checking us in kept getting interrupted by one of the other girls at the desk which we thought was rather rude and unprofessional . We were given room 805 and we soon there using the fast elevator. The room was pretty large with a huge very comfortable bed a 40” flat screen TV with freeview and a limited amount of pay movies. It also had a very nice work station so if you are staying on business it would have everything you need. There was the usual tea and coffee making bits and pieces. We had robes and slippers and the bathroom had a nice selection of toiletries also dove liquid soap and lux shower gel dispenser on the wall. The room was showing some slight signs of wear but on the whole was of a good clean standard. In the morning we opted for breakfast in our room which only cost us an extra £3.50 for tray charge, it was hot and fresh and we both enjoyed it. The girl checking us out was the same girl that kept interrupting our check in girl the day before and she couldn’t have been less interested if she tried , she didn’t offer a good morning or a was your stay ok in fact all she could mutter was that’s £3.50 tray charge. I paid and left without the offer of a smile or safe journey or anything really, I did notice she had a book open at the desk and maybe I interrupted her reading. It’s a shame after such a nice stay that’s our parting memory. I would not let her put me off though and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear steve1503,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    618
    340
    105
    76
See reviews for
86
425
95
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Loved it would stop again will be booking again soon.very clean and friendly spot on location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear Heedy,

Thank you for such wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and trust in us. I am pleased to hear that our staff and service meets your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from Birmingham New Street Station which is ideal for those people on business. The bedroom was an Executive room and is well appointed. A comfortable, very large bed and a choice of pillows. Good working space. There is plenty of hanging space and the room had an iron and ironing board. My only criticism would be about the hairdryer. As with many hotel issue you have to keep your finger pressed down and this is difficult when also trying to style your hair. There is a good selection at breakfast with both continental and full English breakfast being available. The hotel is clean and all the staff are very courteous and helpful. This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and the standard is consistent.
The Bullring and Mailbox shopping centres are all within walking distance and the hotel is situated near to the theatre.
Good location for business, shopping and leisure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarrface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear Scarrface,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is actually one of the better hotels I have stayed in recently. Close to New Street Station and very central to the Bull Ring. The check in was fairly quick and easy. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor looking out over the back of the hotel. Room was a good size as was the bathroom and both were clean. The bathroom was starting to look a bit tired but have seen far worse! Plenty of choice for breakfast. The biggest problem I had though was with the noise from outside. I was initially happy to be at the back of the hotel as I had read some of the reviews about the noise out the front. However, firstly there was the issue of the huge fan on an adjacent roof that was on constantly. Then there was the constant noise from about 1am both nights of rubbish collectors, bottle collectors and other sounds from very noisy vehicles and what sounded like construction work. If it hadn't been for the sleepless nights I would have given this hotel 4 stars. I can't really fault the hotel on the service/cleanliness/value aspects but definately wouldn't recommend to a friend - well, unless they were happy not to get any sleep during their stay!

Room Tip: As high up as possible away from noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigchocciefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear Bigchocciefan,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed here for a business meeting and was generally suprised at the level of service and quality of the bedrooms.

I stayed in an Executive room, which was spacious, clean, well stocked and had a huge king size bed, which you don't see too oftern in the UK.

The breakfast was excellent and well priced for the amount of food on offer, I had a full English and it was great.

The staff were so friendly and efficient. My expectations were exceeded.

Only a very short walk to the Chinese Quarter and to the upmarket Mailbox development, with a wide range of shops and restaurants. Parking is next door at he NCP, but is was good value.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear GarethParry,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I paid around £35 for the room for 2 so didint expect much. was extreamly happy with my choice. the decor was lovely, the room was HUGE and the location was brilliant!! stayed here on a friday night and didint hear any noise at all!! the air con went cold and was great as it was soo warm! it was 2 min walk from the theatre- the reason why we were there, and bull ring and train 5 mins walk. Didnt have any breakfast so can't comment, everything about this hotel was great! Only downside was parking, obviously its a city centre hotel, so had to pay £16 for parking for 24 hours- isnt the hotels fault, and would get this at any hotel in the centre, but was jst the only moan we had!
it also had free wifi! i would rate this hotel a 4* easily and would definatly stay here again if i was ever in birmiingham!!

Room Tip: we had 418 and it was HUGE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith_chalmers_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear judith_charmers23,

Thank you for such wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and trust in us. I am pleased to hear that our staff and service meets your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights mainly because the Crowne Plaza was full. The rooms are okay, showeres are a bit weak though.
My main gripe is the restaurant food menue. It really is not that good and the quality of the food is mediocre at best. The staff are not all that motivated either form my observations.
The bar area is dull and seriously needs a make-over
I won't be coming back unless I am really desperate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing