We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knockout weekend, this place is great!”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #48 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Knockout weekend, this place is great!”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We booked with laterooms and had the chocoholics package, which was free entry to Cadbury World. Within 30 mins of me logging off, the phone rang and someone wanted to arrenge our tickets. Room 57 was brilliant. Sepaprate room for the children, which I wasn't expecting, large bathroom and the biggest bed I have ever seen - think USA! Everything was clean, the staff were very helpful and polite everywhere we went. They were also very welcoming of the children. The restaurant was fab. They gave the children a menu, hich made them feel really grown up. The food was out of this world - prawns, soup, caesar salad etc for starters and decent steak , pasta and extensive fish/grill menu for main course. Great desserts too. The service was speedy and a half of lager was £1.20. Breakfast lovely as well. Will defo go back here - they also provided a really useful book about Birmingham which advertised attractions for all age groups. Went to Cadbury World and the Science Museum and had a fab time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzel148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWMH, General Manager at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2009
Dear guest,

Great to read that you and your family had a fantastic time at the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay. The whole team work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a similar experience. We are in the process of setting up other similar inclusive packages to include additional local attractions at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    161
    74
    39
    26
See reviews for
186
156
19
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torbay
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed 2 nights. Room was spacious, however service was questionable. Asked for extra tea bags on first night which didn't arrive. Ordered papers on 2nd night which also didn't arrive. Was told that they would go out to local shop to buy them if they could find some staff as it was a Sunday. Brakfast was served at our table on the Saturday but was buffet style on the Sunday as it was so busy. Finally there were 3 fire alarms on the Sunday morning. The first we were told was a false alarm when we arrived in reception, The second time only a fraction of the residents turned up and the receptionist continued to check people out. We weren't told what was going on. The third time we stayed in our room. Apathy rules!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWMH, General Manager at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your coments regarding your stay wth us. The inconsistent response to your minor requests should have beenn dealt with far better and I will be discussing these issues with the relevant staff concerned. With regards to the fire alarm issues, we take these matters very seriously, as we do with all matters of Health & Safety and we are currently going through internal training where I will raise the importance of ensuring the we follow evacuation procedures to the fullest at all times.
If you wish to discuss these matters with me in more detail than please feel free to call me at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westaussie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

I needed to return to the uk from Australia for the funeral of my mother and other private matters, we initially booked into a hotel the madria in northfield as this place was closer to my family, what a mistake we made ,after three days we left . I managed to book into the Westmead for the next 17 days and what a pleasure this was there was nothing I could fault the westmead with, thier service was impecable ,the staff on all levels were extreamly helpful and friendly,the food..., well you were spoilt for choice, so fresh and well presented and more to the point, tasty .Room service was quick ,and the cleanliness of the rooms ,towels, bedsheets, very high standard. The WiFi conection was simple and efficient, as I've said you could not fault this Hotel. Its set in a country surrounding great for pleasent walks, ideal for weddings, I think they had four while we were there . I will definatly stay there again when we visit our family in the near future. ...A great big thankyou Westmead .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelwestaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWMH, General Manager at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us at The Westmead.
It is always reassurinag to read such positive comments about the service our guests recieve. We work very hard to ensure that all oue guests enjoy their stay with us and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Westmead in the future.

Kind Regards

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

With friends over from Canada and having promised a trip to Cadbury World during our last visit to them, we set about looking for a hotel to stay in close by.

What a lucky find the Westmead turned out to be. Not only did they book Cadbury World for us, as part of a package (which fast tracked us into the tour too) ,but also provided us with all the help we required to satisfy our 2 family requirements - at a price that did not break the bank!

The welcome was both warm and friendly and the rooms all of excellent and high quality.

The restaurant, for both dinner and breakfast, was superb and again rarely do you come across staff so accommodating and pleasant in today's society.

We have already recommended the hotel to our friends and actually will look for an excuse to go back as our experience was so good.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWMH, General Manager at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
Many thanks for your kind words, it is always reassuring to know that we have looked after our guests and we hope to welcome you back to the Westmead in the not too distant future.

Regards

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Only stayed one night but was given a huge 2 bedroomed suite which was like new, might as well of been a 5 star! Dinner and breakfast included was splendid and also had a family ticket to Cadburys world included which was worth over £40 so was amazing value. Very helpful staff and spotless. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFrayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

My mate's wedding party were staying here and they told me the rate (£70) and I was visiting and was impressed. Good sized rooms and good staff - I spent most of my weekend here, because the place I was staying in was so rotten. It eclipses totally the AWFUL Middleton Hall Hotel (where I was staying) a few miles away, which was a staggering £60 a night in a dingy, woodchipped, falling apart, shower barely spitting room with a miserable excuse for an owner. The website says £50 a night - don't be deceived. Go to the Westmead. It may be a little ordinary, but you won't be left with a bad taste in your mouth.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We often stay in the Midlands to see family, and have used a number of inadequate hotels. Such a relief to stay at The Westmead! The staff were friendly, and our room was spacious and clean. Every small detail had been thought of, and athough it couldn't be described as 'luxury', it is certainly a gem, for the price, in that part of the world.

We arrived on a Saturday to find a wedding party in full swing, and expected to be kept awake all night. However, our room was in a different wing, and we slept like babies, with no interruption. The only slightly unpleasant factor was that, when returning to the hotel late evening after a meal with relatives, the stench of spilt beer from the party lounge was overpowering. However, not a trace of it next morning, and we were served an excellent full English breakfast - one of the best I've had for a long time.

So, lots of Brownie points for the Westmead. We will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Property: Westmead Hotel
Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing