We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of attention”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of attention”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A business day for our clients to include a 2 course lunch...excellent attention by friendly staff with a smile...a very long day for the trainers, so nice to see people smile and ensure that we received all we required....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    162
    74
    39
    26
See reviews for
190
156
19
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the westmead and we had the most amazing day!
All of the staff were so helpful - even the next day when the wedding was over! The wedding breakfast was just as good as when we went for the menu tasting! I stayed there the night prior to the wedding in one of the family rooms and could not get over how big it was!!
I would recommend the westmead 100% to anybody looking to get married or just looking for somewhere to stay!! Thank you, mr & mrs Connor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed overnight following a friends wedding. The room was spacious, clean and available early so we could settle in before the celebrations. The staff were polite and helpful. The wedding meal was great and the following morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. A very handy (plenty of parking) and pleasant place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our Company uses the Westmead regularly, we have delegates attend from various countries as we are an international operation. Ben and his team are improving with every visit that we make and nothing is too much trouble. I highly recommend this venue to anyone in business large or small, with good motorway links and access to an international airport AND it represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Probably the biggest standard double room I have seen when stopping in hotels, nice clean and modern also very comfy bed and with air con for those warmer nights. Hotel is in a perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of the city, lovely relaxing bar and restaraunt area offering some really nice high quality food, really reccomend the al a carte menu!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li8m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Me and my husband got married at the Westmead on 7th September. I just want to say that first of all there was nothing more that the staff could of done for me from booking to actually getting married. I stayed in the Arden suite on the eve of my wedding with my 3 bridesmaids and the room was comfortable and big enough for us all to get ready in comfort and with as little stress as possible. Make up artists, hairdresser and photographer came to the room on the morning of the wedding. The master of service (Simon) and Jamie couldn't of done enough for us and our guests. Nothing was to much to ask, from getting us fans when too hot, too washing the cars on the next morning. They made our day as relaxed and as comfortable as was possible.....and that goes to all the staff (reception, bar, catering, maids). The catering staff ensured that the food was perfect and the tables were laid out to pure perfection. They aloud us to have the final say in absolute everything, ensuring that we were both 100% happy at all times. When they changed the room for the evening reception we were totally amazed. It looked like a completely different room. Again the food was beautiful and all my guests were left feeling full :). All the night staff ensured that all our gifts were safe and put in our rooms. I cant express my complete gratitude and thanks to every single person/staff that we came across, every single one of them made my amazing and dream day complete. I couldn't of asked for more. I highly recommend this hotel for both wedding and overnight stays. Mr and Mrs Bloxham <3

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We reserved a two night stay bed, breakfast and dinner with tickets to Cadbury's Chocolate World and the West Midlands Safari Park for two adults and two children (aged 5 & 3).

The receptionist was very helpful on arrival and they had our tickets ready and we were off early to the West Midlands Safari Park nice and early.

On our return, we were shown to our room which was lovely and comfortable (apart from the very dirty rubber bath mat and shower curtain. The beds were comfortable and the children's beds were comfortable also.

Dinner service was great on our first evening. The staff - very attentive and the service - fast. They even brought our drinks and desserts to our room.

Breakfast was pretty good. A good selection on the menu and service was prompt and that allowed us to get on our way to the Cadbury's Chocolate World.

Dinner service on the second evening was terrible. We were sat ready for dinner at 19:15 and it wasn't before 9 when the children got their pasta and tomato dish. It took half an hour for the bread (4 slices of the baguette) to be served and when we asked for more, only to be told they are out of bread and we could only have artisan bread!

Eventually we got our dinner but the children we so tired, they didn't eat and were falling asleep at the table. We had to abandon dinner and complained to the shift manager who could only apologise. The poor waitress (the only one who kept talking to us) was so embarrassed and actually told us there was a big function and they were struggling! This was shocking as the restaurant only had 7 other people (4 of them were also a family, also going through what we were!).

Breakfast on the second morning was back to normal good service. The Managing Director came and apologised to us in person and asked us to email him with our complaint. This is something I found strange as he was there in person and should have dealt with it there and then! We checked out and we were left feeling let down after what had been a very good stay overall.

The wi-fi signal was also very weak and there is no coverage if you're on the Three network.

So good things:
Value for money - great special offer
Family friendly
Free parking
Friendly staff
Good food

Not so good things:
Dirty shower curtains (disgusting!)
Mouldy/dirty rubber shower mat (disgusting)
Lack of connectivity
Service poor when they have a big function
Lack of restitution when things went wrong

I would still recommend the hotel for value but I would think twice before returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in furthest wing have poor wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
950 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
585 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,070 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Property: Westmead Hotel
Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing