We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a fantastic hotel very welcoming will be going back there it was very clean and the staff were great”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 14, 2011

very well located plenty of parking the breakfast was very good will really enjoed our stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank ginaWILLERBYHULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 658 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

I had two friends that had health and safety problems with their rooms, one had a bath that would not drain, and another had to put their hand into the systern to flush the toilet. The hotel would not let them swap rooms or call a plumber. They also made them both pay full price for their rooms. I was a guest at a wedding and on one of the last tables for the buffet. By the time we got any food, 1.5 hrs after sitting down, there was no garlic bread left and very little chilli. When I asked for some they just said there is no more and did not try to help in any way. The same happened with desert where there was no profiteroles left and the staff did not care.

The couple had a lovely day but i was appauled at how the guests were treated and I would be mortified if I found out any guests at my wedding were trated so badly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
4  Thank ktjash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The rooms are comfortable, clean and smartly furnished. The restaurant serves great food, with a variety of dishes to choose from. There are plenty of rooms away from the road if you don't like traffic noise. Slightly older hotel so some bathrooms are less modern, but all have mod cons and power shower over the bath. I stay here regularly for business and staff always remember to give me a quiet room. I've also used their conference facilities and the manager and staff are on hand to ensure everything runs smoothly throughout the day. Everyone is very caring and attentive to providing the best possible service. The attitude is 'nothing is too much trouble'. Also, the hotel is very well located as it is only a few minutes from the motorway links.

Room Tip: Avoid larger rooms at front if you want quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lefty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

On opening the door of the first room I was given I found someone else's luggage on the bed which didn't inspire confidence in hotel security. A trek (and I mean a trek) back to the reception resulted in a change of rooms but no apology. Second room had a broken towel rail with a part sticking out dangerously. Otherwise clean and reasonably appointed. The bar was very busy there being a wedding in full flow, and with only two people serving it took an age to get served. Breakfast was adequate but though menu stated one could have the eggs any way you liked I was not was not asked and it simply turned up fried, bacon and sausage were of the cheap catering variety, toast also turned up white after asking for brown. At least the staff at breakfast were friendly and served with a smile which is more than I can say for the receptionist. All in all a lot of niggly faults which would not take a lot to rectify and make a stay at this hotel a much better experience. OK at the price I paid but would have been very disappointed if paying the full price. A better breakfast could have been found at any number of establishments on my way home for half the advertised price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank vergyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Came along for wedding and stayed from Friday to Sunday. Being the Easter weekend the cost was only good due to having a wedding party discount, normally £125 per room per night, discounted to £70 per r/n. Rooms were kept upto scratch on cleanliness, maids waited until we went out before cleaning, thank you :)
Drinks and food slightly overpriced and the maitre'd seemed to be new to the hotel, slow but learning. At the wedding breakfast, food was good, but the waiters kept turning the air con up for some reason (only reason I can think of is to buy more drinks...).

Area for wedding photographs a little small and quite dangerous for little children as it is right next to the car parks entrance.

Slightly perturbed by the policy of requiring a pre authorisation payment, if you didn't want to pay by card, it is sort of tough.

Overall a lovely stay for our family, clean and very helpful, fulfilling our requests throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I was booked into this hotel last night and made the mistake of going to the wrong hotel and stayed in the Hilton, Bromsgrove. I have been told I will be charged full rate last night for the Westmead even though I did not use the room, despite the fact that they have no sheets to wash and I had no breakfast. 50% or 60% I could understand, but the manager was having none of it. Maybe this is normal policy but it seems unfair and I will not be using the Westmead in the future. On the other hand, I thoroughly recommend the Hilton who gave me a room at a cheaper price than the Westmead and have nicely appointed and comfortable rooms, not to mention a stonking breakfast. Worth the unexpected £60 extra!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank aloicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed here for a friend's wedding at the weekend, which pretty much took up all of the 200 rooms! Organisation of the day was in general very good, although the heat in the room for the ceremony was unbearable and nobody did anything about it (afterwards they opened the fire doors to let in some air)

The hotel itself is nicely presented, and very accessible from M42 and Birmingham. The rooms are clean and a good size, with full bath and strong shower. The double beds are two singles attached (huge!) and quite firm so we found them comfortable. Walls paper thin unfortunately - boyfriend was woken up by next door snoring and I could hear every word of their conversation.

The service on the bar was slow - I think there was only one person available for most of the day.

I had to order room service due to missing most of the wedding to illness, but £8 for a stale chicken sandwich and a bowl of fries left a negative impression.

A good base for a night's stay, I personally wouldn't bother for anything longer, and there would be better hotels nearby for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $65 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing