We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Guest House
Ranked #12 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2013

my stay at this guest house was amazing..i had booked in for several nights during the time of the spring fair at the nec....my room was a twin room with en suite bathroom....it was clean...very comfortable. my room was cleaned daily and fresh towels and tea and coffee replenished daily.....breakfast was more than adequate...cereal and fresh juice...followed by a full english breakfast..and as much tea/coffee as you wish...the dining room was well set out and spotlessly clean.... the en suite bathroom was clean...nice fluffly white large bath towels...and also soap,shampoo,shower gel etc are provided....

overall my stay here was fantastic...a lovely clean house....a very nice genuine friendly couple...and very good value for money...

i look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigh66657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights, coming from Oz and had a fantastic experience. Michael and Marlene are are extremely friendly and helpful. The place has a very real homely 'British' feel to it which I thought was lovely as an overseas visitor. I stayed in the single room. The room was cosy and warm. Bed was comfy. Wifi was quick. The cooked English breakfast was delicious and kept me going for most of the day. Most importantly (for me at least) this place is extremely affordable. Definitely recommend this place if your looking for a place to stay in Birmingham.
-Josh, Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: Room 1 is perfect for singles/those travelling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaBekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped one night and couldn't wait to leave. Very busy four lane road over road from 24 hour garage. Very thin pale curtains on single glazed damp windows. When the lights go out its lighter than when on due to the garage and street lights. Ice cold bathroom cupboard. The oldest squeakest beds you won't get any sleep in, werid mixture of too much old furniture to negotiate. Breakfast consisted of 1 sausage, 1 rasher bacon, 1 egg and half a slice of fried on one side only bread. The area around is very poor and although CCTV monitors the car area it's at your own risk.

I actually thought they must have made up their previous reviews as it definitely wasn't what we were expecting and the welcome from the owners wasn't particularly warm and welcoming.

If you see from my previous reviews I try to be fair and honest to all so you get a good idea of the experience but unless they spend a bit of money on new beds, curtains and ingredients for breakfast they will struggle against all their competitors fast.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere you will get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_fusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed several times before. Last time I booked the room 1 month in advance. Price and and the room (must be ensuite) was agreed with the hotel owner. When i come, hotel owner told me, that only one room left because he let all the other rooms to other guests. Room was not ensuite with shared bathroom. He told me also with mean grin , that if don't like the room i can try to find other place to stay at, knowing that all the other places were booked in advance. I had to accept this offer, because it was late evening, few chances to find anything else, and was too cold outside.
There was no hot water at all in the shared bathroom, of course, in the mid of December.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed three nights at Central Guest House and found it to be lovely. The staff was very sweet and attentive. The rooms were clean and nice. The breakfast was great! All that with a price that can't be beat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallHopeBayLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Located very close to bus services and with parking. Rooms are excellent standard, breakfast was brilliant, well deserving of the 3 star award. Michael and Marlene very friendly and helpful. Large rooms with en suite and individual lights above the beds. Tea and coffee supplied in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_and_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed with Marlene and Michael several times during March and April. They are so helpful and friendly, it's a real home from home. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, great value for money and the breakfasts are wonderful. If we have to go to Birmingham again this si where we would stay. Thank you so much.
Best place to eat nearby is Peachy Keanes - loved the chocolate fountain!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling0ldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
3.4 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Guest House

Address: 1637 Coventry Road, Birmingham B26 1DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: $78 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing