We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Only cost £42 for the room so can't really complain. The reception staff were delightful. The position of the hotel is very central, unfortunately this meant being woken at 06:00 by market delivery vehicles. The room was clean. A bin is required in the bedroom. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rachel,


Thank you for your review. I am very happy to see that you were pleased with the friendliness of our reception team and that you found the bedroom clean.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    574
    364
    144
    119
See reviews for
125
449
176
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Like you would expect from Ibis hotel, a chain internationally wide that all the hotels are at the minimum standards so there isn't anything bad to expect.

We only wanted this hotel for a place to shower, get dressed have a night out and sleep so for that reason it was brilliant.

Just next to the Arcadian centre of bars, and still only a 10 minute walk from New Street station and the bars of Broad street its ideal.

The rooms are small, and the twin beds were still close together, but all the amenities were in order and all was clean.

They also have underground secure car parking for £10 a 24 hour so even after check-out i left my car there for a while. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kslade86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, found our team friendly and location convenient. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We took two rooms for the night. Both fine, admin easy, breakfast good. Short walk to the car park (£10). The room was very hot (and noisy air conditioner unit outside from the neighbouring buildings if the window was open). They need air condoning in the rooms.

Good value for money, perfectly ok, but. To the best nights sleep any of us have had. However, staff always cheery and helpful, even at 1am! It's also quite central for Birmingham..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Independent_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jos,


Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, found check-in easy and like our breakfast offer. I have noted your comments in regards to air conditioning.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was only visiting for a couple of days wanted somewhere cheap enough but still wanted the location. This place ticked both boxes!
The rooms are small but are adequate enough for the short stay. Place was clean and the staff were very helpful.
I was taken back by the decor in the lobby as its all nice and modern but when you get to the floor corridors its not as shiny and new but im just nit picking here.
Its a shame with places like this that the car park isnt included but there was ample parking spaces because they use the muti story just across the road from the hotel, same price as the tiny car park on site.
When arriving its quite daunting to find it on a main road and just around a corner in the road, I didnt have any kind of noise keeping me awake so dont let the main road put you off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our renovated public areas. I have shared your positive feedback in regards to cleanliness with housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked the Ibis on a last minute weekend trip. The online prices are very reasonable, specially if you are looking for a quick stay in the heart of Birmingham. The hotel is situated in Birminghams China Town, one of my favourite places to visit.

The rooms are very small, even though the room in general is quite clean, the carpets are worn and dirty. The toilet is very small but fit for purpose. Obviously if you stay in the centre expect noise and traffic all through the night, but I didn't find this a problem and I was too tired to care!

We paid £55.00 per night on from Saturday to Sunday which is brilliant for short stays. Will definitely be going back again when I plan a weekend visit to Birmingham, convenient and affordable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riadotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you found our hotel convenient for your weekend stay and that you are planning to return. I have shared your positive review of cleanliness with houseekeping team. Please let me explain that our carpets are cleaned on a regular basis but if you have noticed any of them not being clean, I would be grateful if you could please get in touch with us.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing