We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you expect for a cheaper hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here following a night out in Birmingham and unfortunately the room we were given was quite noisy. The facilities were quite basic and could do with an update, but the room was comfortable enough. As the title suggests, this is fine for a budget hotel but unfortunately we didn't get a great deal so you should bear this in mind- it is not worth much money!! Would stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cham265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,


Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the noise disturbed your stay. I am glad to see you that would return and stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you again and providing you with hassle-free experience.


Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Last time I stayed at this hotel I wasn't satisfied because of a strange smell in the room. Still I decided to give it another chance. I had a better experience this time but the rooms are a bit worn down compared to other Ibis I stayed at. The rooms aren't expensive so I will probably stay here on my next visit to the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping and maintenance teams.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my grandson as we were visiting friends in Birmingham. The room was basic as expected but unbearably hot. I had emailed the hotel before we arrived asking for a cool room. I was assured that if the room was too hot I could request a fan. I went to reception after seeing the room and was told I couldn't have a fan for health and safety reasons!!! I told the receptionist about the email I had received and she turned around and gave me the fan from behind reception. The room was still too hot at night so I had to open the windows and couldn't sleep due to the sound of revellers and sirens etc. On the plus side the hot breakfast was tasty and good value for money as was the price I paid for the room. Great location for Birmingham city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Jill,

Thank you for your review. While we are pleased that you found our location convenient, I am sorry that you found our bedroom too hot. I have shared your feedback with reception team and also passed on compliments to our breakfast team.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 323potter01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LeeGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great hotel.... Clean, great staff and very comfortable but busy, busy, busy area. Car park full when we got there so we had to park on Neville street NCP. A ripping off £20 fee for less than 24 hours overnight parking. Disgraceful. Hotel great though just get there early to get a car park space and save your self some dosh. Cannot review food as we went for a curry but bar staff superb. Bar shuts around 2am I think, maybe later.

Room Tip: Park early, or pay a hefty parking charge elsewhere..... Rooms at back probably quieter. Main Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with bar team and housekeeping department. I am sorry that you did not manage to park your car with us. Shall you stay with us again, we will be able to offer you a discount at the APCOA car parking opposite the hotel.

Once more, thank you for your lovely comments. They are greatly appreciated and certainly motivating.

Kind regards,


Joanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,315 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing