We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A decent hotel, very clean and the lobby looked smart. On check in we were asked if we wanted breakfast, and were told it was available 6-10:30. We were then later told 4-11 and in the morning were told we were too late by quite a rude member of staff.

The room itself was clean but lacked a bin in the main room, the bathroom was small but sufficient. The only issue was that there was only one big pillow per person, so we ended up folding them up to make them useful.

For a budget hotel it was ok, but staff need to keep in the loop on all issues.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanteLucien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is located approximately 2 minutes from the city centre and the shopping malls. The room was not so big, but clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and the stuff very helpful.Very good choise for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at ibis Birmingham City Centre. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

overall a great stay some improvements neeeded especially in the ironing room a better quality iron and ironing board could be looked at and also the rooms do not come with shirt hangers I had to ask the staff at reception.

And finally the rooms temperature was to hot during my stay.EEDBACK

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank zararmir06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. I have now actioned the comments regarding the ironing room and extra hangers have now been introduced into all rooms. I am currently looking into the issue of temperature of our bedrooms.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

On the plus side, it's in an handy central location, cheap, the main lobby area was pleasant and the room was clean. That's where it ends though.

The mattress was far too firm, and rather than two standard pillows there was one large pillow. Needless to say, it was difficult getting to sleep and staying asleep, especially as the room was so warm. Matters weren't helped by the huge amount of noise going on in the corridor (bear in mind this was 4:45am on a Monday) which no member of staff was doing anything about. When we'd tried to order a taxi the previous day the receptionist tried checking us in instead, even though she'd already done that a few hours previously. The bathroom was that small that to open the shower door you had to force it past the frame of the main door. And as for the underground car park, even an advanced driver would struggle navigating it. The entrance was so narrow to turn into and once inside the spaces so surrounded by pillars you'd be doing brilliantly to emerge with your car unscathed.

I've stayed in some decent budget hotels before, but this wasn't one of them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discobadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us at ibis Birmingham City Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matters you have raised, but feel free to email me on h1459-gm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Rather poky room compared with some other Ibis hotels. There was inadequate storage space and a lack of decent clothes hangers. The bathroom was fine, but again a bit poky. The towels were changed daily which is unnecessary. The bed was comfy, but the pillows are rather overstuffed, which results in a crick in the neck.

The reception area was clean with superclean, well cared for loos. Breakfast is ordinary... and expensive if you don't book when you check in. If you only have toastor cereal, it is rather overpriced.

The hotel is within reasonable walking distance to the city centre.

Given that this was a budget hotel it was ok, but does not compare favourably with some other Ibis hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RosieJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We at the ibis Birmingham City Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts, and having noted all your comments. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Midweek 1 night stay for my Mum and I. Excellent location, a stone's throw from the Bullring, the Old Rep and the Hippodrome.
Secure onsite parking - don't attempt if you're no good at parking as very tight to enter.
Checked in at 1pm and generous check out time the next day - that went for the parking too.
Bit extra to pay for breakfast which was a fair spread of options. Quite an entertaining breakfast room, little lady attendant couldn't wait to snatch plates away as soon as anyone had their last mouthful - unfortunately not so hot at restocking hot breakfast ingredients, bread, glasses and mugs.

Some shorter guests had to abandon the opportunity of a cup of coffee as they couldn't reach the mugs which are situated right at the back of a square, long shelf 'hole' which short armed people can't reach. I would recommend bring your own small stepladder to breakfast. You could of course wear stilletto heels which the height challenged manager took great advantage of to reach into the leftover hot breakfast items at 10.00am!

Spotlessly clean, brilliantly comfortable bed, warm and friendly staff. I'd recommend it for a basic, value for money stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked 2 double rooms & 1 twin room for a 1 night stay at the Ibis Birmingham for a birthday weekend, hotel was very easy to find, upon arrival the staff were very welcoming, check in was easy, rooms were immaculate and the bed was very comfortable, en-suite was nice and clean with a large walk-in shower. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking to visit Birmingham whether it be for a romantic weekend or shopping trip. 5*****

Room Tip: I would suggest you book early as this hotel is very popular due to its prime location.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham City Centre again very soon.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
308 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $59 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing