We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed during the week for training course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stayed during the week for training course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was here for the week and needed somewhere reasonably priced as taking time off to complete a training course.
Hotel was great for my requirements, very reasonably priced and the bedroom plus ensuite was exactly what was needed. I was on the fourth (top) floor and had no problems with outside noise (as some previous reviewers have said).
Didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on food, as there were plenty of restaurants locally to satisfy my requirements.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Birmingham Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    574
    364
    144
    120
See reviews for
125
449
176
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I read the reviews on here and was slightly concerned about the noise complaints. We were going to a gig at the 02 Academy and as the room was only £40 we thought we’d take the risk seeing as we wouldn’t be back until late anyway. We got back at around midnight after a few drinks and I have to say their wasn’t really an unreasonable amount of noise. There was some noise from the bars/clubs below but it was faint enough to get to sleep very easily.

The rooms were basic, but clean. My only complaint is the room was quite hot. In terms of location we couldn't have got any better. Great for shopping in the day and for bars/restaurants at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenVDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham City Centre again very soon.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for one night for going out and club night. Very easy to get to New Street to meet others. Excellent customer service at check in from Natallie. Sorted car parking for me which is underneath the hotel - car park messy and could do with a tidy up.

Got a rear room on the 4th floor which is probably the quietest location. Room small but functional and well equipped. Bathroom small but entirely acceptable and user friendy. Shower could be a little more powerful. Amazing comfortable bed (but not as comfortable as German Ibis hotels). Thank you.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis Birmingham City Centre and I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Positives:
- Staff friendly and helpful (e.g. issue with adjoining room door being unlocked sorted quickly)
- Room clean and tidy
- Bar staff friendly also

Negatives:
- Breakfast - over cooked, under cooked, cold and not much of it (1 sausage left when I went down at 8, wasn't replenished while I was there). Awful! I didn't even bother going down the last morning.
- TV not viewable from the desk, which would be nice while getting ready in the morning
- The double bed had two single quilts... very odd and not very comfortable.

Other:
- Not really sure how you get Wi-fi in the room, as the only option I saw was to hard-wire the cable into a laptop. But I didn't really look into this as didn't end up spending much time in the room.
- Temperature was too warm for me, even though it was mid-Feb and snowing one day! But again, I didn't really look into this, so may there were controls somewhere.

Overall:
I'm back again in a few weeks, for another course, and while I'm generally happy to stay at the Ibis, I'm really wishing I hadn't bothered booking breakfast and really hoping I can get a refund on it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bates69_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Birmingham Centre wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person when you are staying with us the next time and would appreciate it if you would call me on 0121 622 6010.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel. It is close to Birmingham New Street station and the Bull Ring.

Check in went relatively smoothly. The room and the hotel is clean. We asked for and got a twin room. Upon entering the room you find the twin beds pushed together to form a double which you can easily pull apart although the room itself is very small and pulling apart the twin beds meant you couldn't open the door... The bathroom is very small as well, the shower worked well although there was no shelf to put soap or shampoo on...

Wifi was not free and has to be paid for separately in Euros.

This hotel is good for a night but much longer the lack of space I could see really start to frustrate for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayawayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points you’re raised personally regarding the shelf in the shower. With regards to the internet; we are looking into obtaining free Wi-Fi within our hotel. In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham City Centre.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night on business. I would not want to have to stay for longer than 1 night.

My room was clean, basic and quite small - the en-suite bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever had to use and if there had been two of us using the room, would have been too cramped.

Biggest problem was that the shower head would not stay up the rail it was fixed to; to stand under the shower I would have had to be approx 1 metre tall. This, for me, is not a good start to my day!

I didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of food served in the restaurant

On the plus side, the hotel staff were very polite and welcoming and the hotel is well located for the centre of the city and there are a lot of restaurants, mainly (but not exclusively) Chinese within 5 minutes walk of the front door?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments regarding the shower. Rest assured I will address them. We at ibis Birmingham City Centre look forward in welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing