We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for one night for going out and club night. Very easy to get to New Street to meet others. Excellent customer service at check in from Natallie. Sorted car parking for me which is underneath the hotel - car park messy and could do with a tidy up.

Got a rear room on the 4th floor which is probably the quietest location. Room small but functional and well equipped. Bathroom small but entirely acceptable and user friendy. Shower could be a little more powerful. Amazing comfortable bed (but not as comfortable as German Ibis hotels). Thank you.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis Birmingham City Centre and I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diximix
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Positives:
- Staff friendly and helpful (e.g. issue with adjoining room door being unlocked sorted quickly)
- Room clean and tidy
- Bar staff friendly also

Negatives:
- Breakfast - over cooked, under cooked, cold and not much of it (1 sausage left when I went down at 8, wasn't replenished while I was there). Awful! I didn't even bother going down the last morning.
- TV not viewable from the desk, which would be nice while getting ready in the morning
- The double bed had two single quilts... very odd and not very comfortable.

Other:
- Not really sure how you get Wi-fi in the room, as the only option I saw was to hard-wire the cable into a laptop. But I didn't really look into this as didn't end up spending much time in the room.
- Temperature was too warm for me, even though it was mid-Feb and snowing one day! But again, I didn't really look into this, so may there were controls somewhere.

Overall:
I'm back again in a few weeks, for another course, and while I'm generally happy to stay at the Ibis, I'm really wishing I hadn't bothered booking breakfast and really hoping I can get a refund on it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bates69_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Birmingham Centre wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person when you are staying with us the next time and would appreciate it if you would call me on 0121 622 6010.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel. It is close to Birmingham New Street station and the Bull Ring.

Check in went relatively smoothly. The room and the hotel is clean. We asked for and got a twin room. Upon entering the room you find the twin beds pushed together to form a double which you can easily pull apart although the room itself is very small and pulling apart the twin beds meant you couldn't open the door... The bathroom is very small as well, the shower worked well although there was no shelf to put soap or shampoo on...

Wifi was not free and has to be paid for separately in Euros.

This hotel is good for a night but much longer the lack of space I could see really start to frustrate for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayawayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points you’re raised personally regarding the shelf in the shower. With regards to the internet; we are looking into obtaining free Wi-Fi within our hotel. In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham City Centre.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night on business. I would not want to have to stay for longer than 1 night.

My room was clean, basic and quite small - the en-suite bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever had to use and if there had been two of us using the room, would have been too cramped.

Biggest problem was that the shower head would not stay up the rail it was fixed to; to stand under the shower I would have had to be approx 1 metre tall. This, for me, is not a good start to my day!

I didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of food served in the restaurant

On the plus side, the hotel staff were very polite and welcoming and the hotel is well located for the centre of the city and there are a lot of restaurants, mainly (but not exclusively) Chinese within 5 minutes walk of the front door?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments regarding the shower. Rest assured I will address them. We at ibis Birmingham City Centre look forward in welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in November, the lifts were out of order, wasnt a problem as I was only on the second floor. but, stayed again in Febuary and both lifts were out of order, I was staying on the 5th floor, I'm not old, nor do I have any health problems but the 5th floor is a long way up to walk after a night on the Brum tiles.
I can't fault the Hotel for the price but one does expect to have working lifts. I did express my dissatisfaction on the customer feedback email, but heard nothing back to date.

Room Tip: Request a low floor just in case they havnt fixed the lifts again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M16HEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here on Trip advisor. Your review however is related to our sister hotel; ibis Budget Birmingham city centre. I shall forward your comments onto the General Manager at ibis Budget.
I would like to thank you for choosing Accor hotels and look forward in welcoming you back to Birmingham in the near future.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good value hotel for a business stay. Things I wasn't keen on - no carpet and no kettle. However, it is a budget hotel. The basin is in the bedroom and the shower door opens directly into the room, but that wasn't a problem. The Continental breakfast at £4.25 was all I wanted and it provided me with a cheese roll for my lunch too. 15 mins or so to walk into Birmingham centre. I'd be looking for something more convenient next time but wouldn't be unhappy to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here on Trip advisor. Your review however is related to our sister hotel; ibis Budget Birmingham city centre. I shall forward your comments onto the General Manager at ibis Budget.
I would like to thank you for choosing Accor hotels and look forward in welcoming you back to Birmingham in the near future.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,315 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing