We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location... Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #51 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
clare
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location... Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The hotel is basic but extremely clean. Couldnt fault it - the staff were very friendly, the bedroom was bigger than i thought and very clean. Location wise it is ideal. Not even ten minutes walk from the train station and pretty much across the road for the Bullring shopping centre. We got a taxi to the Mailbox for dinner - £3.50 in a taxi. Would definitely return to this hotel if I was going back to Birmingham. The price was also very reasonable for such a central hotel. Also, Leo on reception was so helpful throughout our stay - thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Birmingham City Centre.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    564
    358
    142
    118
See reviews for
122
441
175
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Handy for the train station, bull ring, town hall ( we went to a concert there).

Right in the middle of china town, a bit noisy til late on but not too bad.

Room lovely and clean, bed very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
385 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in December for a spot of Christmas shopping. The location in Chinatown is a short walk to the bullring and main shopping areas and perfect for good Chinese restaurants nearby. Our room backed on to a busy nightlife area down below, so I recommend ear plugs especially if you are visiting over the weekend like we were! The noise did carry on until 3am with loud thudding music. Rooms are small and basic, but we weren’t there to spend time in the rooms so it was fine for us – I wouldn’t stay here for a longer trip or a holiday though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we are working with the local council to try and reduce the noise pollution which is generated of external night life. Contact me at any time by email me on h1459-dm@accor.com if you’d like to discuss things further. With kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unlike many 4 and 5 star hotels old style service is very much in evidence at the hotel including friendly staff and a night bar service for residents. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Bull Ring, the main railway station and close to an outstanding selection of restaurants. Rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable and exceptional value

Room Tip: Request a room with a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonmouthshireEmporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

sorry but ibis let me down this time
sink in room 231 not working
lack of toilet roll's
room not cleaned
bed not made
no soap etc
late nite door man very rude !!
unable to us internet
one lift out of order
no clean towels
reception staff to busy to help
but will give it another try

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at ibis Birmingham City centre appreciate your feedback and we are addressing the issues raised. Please feel free to email me on h1459-dm@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

the hotel was clean and tidy, although staff were lacking in general customer service skills, room clean, but had to ask for a clean wuilt as it was not clean, and bathroom could have done with a re-paint

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becciosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am sincerely sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at ibis Birmingham City centre up to your expectations. I can assure you that they are not up to mine or that of my team either. We pride ourselves on our employee training, so this is something I will be looking into personally, to ensure that no other guest has your experience. Please feel free to email me on h1459-dm@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing