We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...WORST Travelodge EVER! lol”
Review of Metro Inns Walsall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Inns Walsall
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. You know what your getting with a Travelodge. In this case pretty much even less.

The hotel is an extremely worn jaded and faded establishment. EVERYTHING is dated. The whole building needs a referb throughout. Coupled with the fact that there didn't seem to be any/enough staff even working there. The ones that did seemed just as miserable as their working environment.

Only paid £19 a night. So you cant really moan. Beds were OK. TV had about 6 channels. Odd tiles in the bathroom. Filthy marks on the doors, some damaged. Odd tiles replaced in the shower/bath area. Taps wouldn't work properly/turn off. Had to leave the cold tap on for 2 days as it wouldn't turn off!! Reported it, staff came to look. Did nothing! Shower water temp was way too hot. Rooms were warm enough. Had to ask for extra towels as they only put the one small one in the room. Stayed in a room which was on the rear. I think that was better than staying in one on the main road side.

Funny smells along the corridors. Bar area small but OK. Didnt bother with any food/beverages.

On the whole a miserable and bleak hotel. Only stayed there as it was cheap. Handy for the town centre, wont need to return thankfully!

Travelodges have usually a good standard. I think they are ok. HOWEVER this one has to be the WORST Ive ever stayed in.

Do yourselves a favour, choose the Walsall Premier instead!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear - quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 283 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a dump, bed had absolutely no springs in it, mold growing on the tiles in the bathroom, electrics shodding and probably not very safe, one pillow each and one towel each, but they did give me another one. My friend was staying as well and they had a shower and then couldn't turn off the water. They need to take a long hard look at themselves and improve if they are to get my business again

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed_100-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed recently as I just wanted somewhere to put my head for a few hours overnight. I can't comment on any food or drinks apart from the fact that I know they were available in the bar or room.

I booked a cheap deal, so can't really complain too much as you know what to expect at most Travelodge's. The room was ok, but very basic. The water pressure wasn't good in the shower.

Anyway, overall it was ok for what I needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grizzly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This used to be a class hotel, now its dirty smelly and the staff are inefficient trying to do everything and not too well either Had to change rooms as soon as we got there.it was cold damp and smelt of cigarette smoke. Very noisy during the night, Only one pillow each and only 1towel between 2. Got fed up of waiting for breakfast items to be refilled so the all you can eat for £6.99 was 1 cold bacon sandwich.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philiphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband booked a room for us 2 adults 2 children one toddler when we got there we went up too room to find there was only a double bed, which isn't what we ordered online, so we went to reception and said that it isn't what we order, the reception guy was very rude and he didn't no what he was doing n also he was trying to manage the bar and the reception now that is just awful, in the end we asked for our money back and he was saying he couldn't give it back all we wanted was for him to sort a family room out, in the end we went to premier inn where you get best service ever, and a good night sleep I would not recommend travelodge to any one.

Room Tip: DO NOT GO TO TRAVELODGE it is awful and wouldn't even go there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade2010-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just what we needed for one night when there wasn't room at our family's house. Nice and quiet. Telly worked fine. Linen and room clean and warm. Shower worked, could have done with a second chair but we don't complain at that bargain price of £28.

Room Tip: We were on top floor, a lower floor might have resulted in more powerful shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Quality of the room is not only dated but also poorly up kept. Very low powered shower, mouldy sealant and grout. Tried to charge a phone but the sockets were too close to the desk to get charger and cable in. TV did not work.
Customer service was barely evident, check in: no welcome key card, no enjoy your stay.
Breakfast, well.....
I was the only person dining and i was greeted by the staff member sat down chatting with another off duty staff member, which i could have forgiven if the breakfast did the talking.
I was invited to help myself to the "continental" breakfast while my cooked breakfast was cooked to order.
The continental breakfast consisted of cereal boxes, grapfruit segments in a bowl (clingfilmed over) and a pre packaged muffin.
The cooked breakfast arrived, the bacon was thin and dried out/dehydrated not crispy in a good way more microwaved. The sausages looked good but tasted foul. The bread for the toast was so thin it was instant melba toast!
I have been to great Travelodges with great service and comforts but i will not be recommending thi one, keep away!

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeoxlong71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
4.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#93 of 118 in Birmingham
28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#83 of 118 in Birmingham
361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
1.6 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#10 of 13 in Walsall
134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Walsall

Address: Birmingham Road | Walsall, Birmingham WS5 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $49 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Walsall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel, offering 96 ensuite bedrooms, close links to Walsall, Birmingham, West Bromwich and Wolverhampton. We have a 24 hour check manned check in desk. Check in from 2 pm (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) check out 10 am (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) We also have a brand new spacious underground bar area known as Basement Jacks and a restaurant on the ground floor known as Mumbai Kitchen/ Basement Jacks Bar & Grill. Serving an outstanding Indian Menu alongside our equally delicious classic menu, Steaks, Pies, Burgers and Tikka, Bhuna, Passanda nothing is too much. We look forward to welcoming you to Metro Inns Walsall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Inns Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Walsall Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing