We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst travel lodge ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro Inns Walsall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metro Inns Walsall
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst travel lodge ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Found a pair of socks in the kettle when I went to make a cuppa! When I checked in there was half a drunk bottle of pop on the desk. The shower only worked at either scalding or freezing! Oh and could hear everything from next door!

£30 very poorly spent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    54
    49
    113
See reviews for
24
87
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This isnt the best or newest Travelodge it is in a tired old building, my room was basic clean and inexpensive at £28 for a fri night but bed rather spongy. If you get a deal then it's fine - if the people moaning about the place paid more then I can understand but for that price don't expect it to be brilliant. I stayed here as it was convenient to where I had to go but otherwise I would have stayed at the holiday inn express which was only £7 more and gets good reviews it's just a bit further out near the motorway junction. I think there is a new premier inn near the art gallery right in town which could be good but was either full or not yet built when I booked

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were shunted here at midnight after Travelodge screwed up our booking. My three year old was left on the floor with a duvet and pillow with no covers or pillowcases. The bathroom was disgusting and full of mould. All of this was eclipsed however by the experience my partner and child had the next morning when they tried to use the male toilets by the reception/dining area. . . the toilets were smeared all over with excrement. My young son was pretty freaked out. When my partner reported the state of the toilets to a member of staff she essentially shrugged and said she hadn't had time to clean them . . . this was past 11am!!!!

Filthy hotel, uninterested staff, just don't bother - pay more for somewhere that cares.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabernus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Tabernus,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in October and had 4 rooms in total at this place. We booked this hotel during my sisters wedding for some family who had travelled over from Canada and India. We know it's the the best hotel in the world but it's walking distance from our house which was the main criteria.

The positives about this place are:
- That it is being refurbished and given a facelift. All the rooms we stayed in were the refurbished ones. If you are staying here, ask for a refurbished room at reception.
- The reception staff were always friendly and helpful.
- This travelodge has a bar on site. Not all of them do and it's on the ground floor.
- The beds are comfortable.
- Our rooms were always cleaned and towels replaced.
- The immediate area surrounding the travelodge is quite nice. The houses in the immediate area are amongst the more expensive in Walsall. This also means it is quite safe to walk around outside the hotel at any time of day.
- It is very close to junction 7 of the M6.

The negatives about this place are:
- Whilst plenty of parking space, it costs £3 per day to park. This has been implemented at numerous Travelodge hotels around the country not just this one.
- Whilst there are modern vending machines with snacks, drinks and ice creams they are expensive.
- Whilst there is a bar and restaurant on site it's not cheap for what you get
- There aren't proper cupboards in the rooms so not much hanging space.
- Whilst it is a decent area, there is not much to do in the immediate vacinity of the hotel. Even the nearest newsagent is a 10 minute walk away.
- There isn't free wifi
- The lift is tiny

Overall it's not the best travelodge in the country, but it's certainly not the worst either.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyKush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear CheekyKush,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West SussexUK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

It strange when you get a great price for a Monday night and then when you stay you realise why ! Paying for parking is a rip off , we parked car then noticed lots of broken glass on the floor , very reassuring, was my cat going to be safe , why got clean it up. Room sparse with NO spare pillows or towels for two. We asked on leaving for meal out if they could have ready when we returned , yes no problem from the staff. We return , oh have given to somebody else ! Whats room number ? Will drop up in a minute , you can guess whats coming next .................. never arrived . Poor , Great value but just leaves you feeling happier to pay more for less tired and less than special service . Finally loo seat has not even fixed down properly , how could Housekeeping not notice and put on a fix list ? Think I know why , less than bothered to make your stay at least ACCEPTABLE. I could be staying on business for 6 months, not sure I could stay here for another 6 minutes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deannewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear deannewton,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have no issue with the Travelodge brand. I've stayed in at least twenty of them this year. It's cheap(ish) and (usually) reliable, but every now and then I get a bad one, and this is a bad one. It's an old, tired building. The rooms are old and tired. The only two plug points were rendered useless (for my laptop charger) by being too close to the table the were situated above for me to plug in. A twin room but towels for one. Heating didn't work, front desk were unhelpful, though that's not surprising at a Travelodge. They're a customer service business but have a cavalier approach to serving their customers beyond offering a very basic service. £3 for parking. It's not much, but most other Travelodges don't charge.

Room 115: Bed was reasonably comfortable, pillow good, bathroom clean, shower hot with good water pressure.

Last weel I stayed in a chain of Dutch hotels and for less than the price of what I paid here, I got something approaching a four star hotel.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel borders a very busy road. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear ADInglis,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Found the hotel less than inviting curtain in room hanging off the last visitors hair in the bath flat pillows untidy staff generally awful!,, it was a cheap stay won't do it again worth paying more has to be the worst place I have ever stayed

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear weany,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
6.4 mi away
Campanile Birmingham
Campanile Birmingham
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#89 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
10.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Walsall

Property: Metro Inns Walsall
Address: Birmingham Road | Walsall, Birmingham WS5 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Walsall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel, offering 96 ensuite bedrooms, close links to Walsall, Birmingham, West Bromwich and Wolverhampton. We have a 24 hour check manned check in desk. Check in from 2 pm (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) check out 10 am (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) We also have a brand new spacious underground bar area known as Basement Jacks and a restaurant on the ground floor known as Mumbai Kitchen/ Basement Jacks Bar & Grill. Serving an outstanding Indian Menu alongside our equally delicious classic menu, Steaks, Pies, Burgers and Tikka, Bhuna, Passanda nothing is too much. We look forward to welcoming you to Metro Inns Walsall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Inns Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Walsall Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing