We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
98
103
75
49
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
103
75
49
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tribute band home from home wedding party buffet style full english clean hotel public areas stayed here for one night yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 394 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I cannot belw i have lived in great barr for 40 years before visiting this place. Came back to the area from overseas to visit my parents and spent a week there.

Staff very friendly and welcoming, food was great. Only downside for the kids was the wifi wasnt that great, but that being said I've stayed in top mame name hotels at 200 dollars a night and had worse wifi. But i would still give this place 10 out of 10 for quality.

Rooms were a decent size and the beds were really comfortable.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank cblackburn1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Many thanks for posting your comments on this site. Both myself and all of the staff here at the hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Rest assured we are looking into improving the current wifi provision so that it provides better coverage through the hotel.

Regards,

Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel, I've been two times. Good food onsight and the breakfast is amazing for no extra cost. Rooms are of a very high standard. Just be careful the shower is over a bath. Staff are good as well.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
Thank newvic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Many thanks for leaving your comments on this site, both myself and all of the staff concerned are delighted that you have enjoyed your trips to The Great Barr Hotel. We shall indeed look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards,

Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed, wrong room on arrival, shown to correct room by a less than friendly manager. Room was sub standard, unclean carpets and stained furniture. Hotel needs serious renovation as all carpets throughout hallways are dire. ABBA tribute weren’t exactly professional, and there were too many hen party’s booked in which over shadowed the whole evening. Food was good and the service was good by the staff, however the dessert table was a free-for-all so not much left to choose from other than food that had been touched by everyone who got there first.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lolroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

A good hotel with friendly, helpful staff, comfy bed, nice room, good bar, plenty of parking and a great breakfast. Easy to access from the motorway. What's not to like? Would definitely recommend and use again. I must also give attention to Andy's Cars, just lift the phone in reception to get hold of this taxi company. Arrived within minutes, friendly and responsible drivers, great value, we had to use them 3 times during our stay and they were consistently reliable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Many thanks for posting your comments on this site and both myself and all of the staff here are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Great Barr Hotel. I will pass on your comments to all of the staff and I will let Andy's Taxis know that you were very pleased with their service.

Kind Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a business trip with several colleagues. All I can say is that I am embarrassed for this choice. Rooms are tiny and very outdated, it smells like cigarettes, the light is dark and dingy, the ceiling has stains, the carpets are disgusting, the furniture has seen better days, and the tv is smaller than my laptop screen. Just don’t bother and stay elsewhere, so you wont be embarrassed.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank MSZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews