We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Over all my experience was good, I was however a little disappointed by the very limited room service, and once a service charge was added a soda can cost you £4.50, excusing the room service it was good value for money, surprisingly quiet despite the very busy maid road and the cleaning staff are lovely!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri-Tomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    93
    67
    44
    64
See reviews for
74
81
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Myself, hubby and two children stayed here as we were visiting family for Christmas. Stayed here before. It's a good hotel but we were disappointed by few things. On check in we were not offered breakfast in morning. It may be that it wasn't available being xmas day but the subject was avoided by staff. We found underwear from previous occupant beside the bed which made us question level of cleaning. The bathroom door is in desperate need of oiling. As always however the staff are very friendly. Unless family rooms can provide single beds for the children we won't be staying again - they're too big and old to share a sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thankyou for your review, the rate booked was a specially discounted family rate on a room only basis, breakfast was available at an additional charge which you were advised of.

We have noted your comments about the housekeeping issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barr, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Great Barr hotel today for a Christmas meal with the family. We were in a large group of 27 and the staff coped well with our large group. Food was good and the staff were excellent. Having read some of the previous reviews I was a little dubious about this venue. Just goes to show that you sometimes have to give things a chance and judge them for yourself.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thankyou for your review, it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding in August.We had no running water or lights in our room.We were told to phone the manager Helen as she deals with refunds.4 months later and several phonecalls later we are still being told she is waiting for a response from head office and can't give us their number as it's private.This issue is dragging on.Do not stay here if you require any aftercare.The hotel itself is old and dated and we did not enjoy our stay at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed over last night with my friend in a family room for a works party. The room was big plenty if room for a group & or family. It was clean & cosy which is what i look for. The Food & entertainment were brilliant would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moggy5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel and we are pleased to hear you had a great time .We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here but as most people only review to complain we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived the receptionist was very courteous and helpful and check min was smooth. The room was lovely and warm and very clean. The furnishings and furniture were all a little dated but very serviceable. The bathroom was big and clean with lovely fluffy towels.
We had booked into the hotel as we were seeing a Peter Kay Tribute. The evening meal was excellent as was the service and the entertainment was first class.
If I were to have a little moan about anything it would be the noise from the corridor and the room next door. But they were obviously enjoying themselves! and it didn't last too long. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBAKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thankyou for your review, it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After staying here for a relative's wedding we will never be returning Poor service. The worse restaurants manager I have ever met and the proudest receptionist. I just feel for my relatives. I even e mailed a complaint which then received no acknowledgment

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacjcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We have noted the comments in your review. We very much regret that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

From all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Property: Great Barr Hotel
Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing