We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
A TripAdvisor Member
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at the Great Barr Hotel and I will certainly stay there again when I am in the West Midlands on business. It represents great value for money and is perfectly located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    92
    67
    44
    62
See reviews for
72
80
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from attending a wedding at this hotel.

We checked in early (2pm) which was excellent. However, we had asked for a room near the reception (Due to us both being smokers) but were allocated room 205 - a good 5 min walk away along corridors and stairs!!

The room was adequate for us as only staying for one night. Double bed which was comfy enough. Room was cold though and the corridor leading to it smelt musty? Trouser press, tea and coffee and a hair-dryer in the room. The bathroom light automatically caused the extractor fan to operate which was very noisy.

The large room for the function was ok for the number of guests. Food was good also. Drinks reasonably priced at £10 for double Vodka and a large wine.

Staff seemed friendly enough but when we were checking out the hotel before the wedding it did feel like we were being followed and asked constantly if we were OK?

All in all - was OK. 3* hotel. Could do with updating though but I think they are in this process at the moment.

Please leave a helpful vote if indeed you did find it useful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is probrably overlooked by many as not in the centre of Birmingham.
But it is often wonderful value, has friendly staff and seems to offer a more personal service.
The Breakfast is good and the car park secure.
It is only 10 minutes into central Birmingham by car.
We use it to attend appointments in Brum and use the money we have saved on staying at over-priced hotels to go out on the Town.
We were not sure whether to share it with others - as we still want it to have space for us in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funchal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

would like to say enjoyed all 3 day stay. staff very friendly rooms clean and tidy,beds comfy,after reading some reviews on hotel thought we were at different place. you are not paying 5star prices, but got very good treatment, breakfast was a full english. bus stop just round corner. went into birmingham on the bus left car at hotel very easy We. had a full day at black country museam that was well worth a visit, we are both O A Ps. but found it very easy to get arround. every body we spoke to was very friendly.Also went to broad street on the canals you would have thought you were abroad not birmingham. smashing time will go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been staying in various hotels around Birmingham for business some disgusting some good. I needed somewhere I could grab a bite to eat in the evening and have a couple of pints as well. The Great Barr ticks all the boxes,Especially when I booking through kayak fantastic prices. Staff All very friendly. Choice of bar meals or sit down in the restaraunt (slightly higher prices than bar). Breakfast is spot on. Single room clean and tidy with trouser press. Bathrooms clean no problems with hot water etc etc. have stayed there over past 3 weeks and booked in for all of next week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel. Look forward to seeing you again soon. With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel

Helen Wilson Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was our second stay at the Great Barr Hotel and we chose it because it is in close proximity to family that we wished to visit and represents very good value for money. The room we stayed in actually exceded the one we stayed in during our first visit and was more than adequate for our four day stay. We ate breakfasts which were very appetising with something to suit all tastes. All the staff were efficient and friendly and all in all the hotel makes a good base when you want somewhere to stay when in North Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel


Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms on a Friday night a few weeks ago. Both rooms smelled musty and in a shabby, dirty state. As soon as we entered the room, 2 spiders on the ceiling caught our eyes. As we walked towards the window (clearly left open to air the musty smell of the room), we saw 2 more spiders fixed to the curtain, they weren't moving and looked as though they had taken root! When we went to the other room reserved for a relative, we found they had trapped 1 spider under a teacup to prevent it travelling further on the bed!

We were made to pay the full amount of both rooms on arrival, before we had even seen the rooms. The porter must have known what was in store for us! Dirty hotel, customer service non-existent! Don't go there! Saw a lady the next day who had spent the same night there as us, much to our surprise, she had the same experience!

No surprises to hear that we won't be returning to this dirty, musty smelling hotel!

Room Tip: The 100 rooms ar down a smelly corridor near the exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
As previously advised when you contacted us, rooms cannot be protected from spiders or any insects as the bedroom wing overlooks the garden. All our bedrooms are checked daily by the Head Housekeeper.
You had failed to mention that once you had made a complaint, we accommodated you with another bedroom which you accepted. We have also offered you a refund which you have failed to reply to. I believe the reason you were asked to pay for the rooms on check-in was due to the fact that you did not have a credit card for pre-authorisation and this is a standard procedure in the industry. In view of the above, your comments are misleading and grossly unfair.

Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Park Hotel
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
72 reviews
Westmead Hotel
#47 of 117 in Birmingham
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Property: Great Barr Hotel
Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing