We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the money”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been staying in various hotels around Birmingham for business some disgusting some good. I needed somewhere I could grab a bite to eat in the evening and have a couple of pints as well. The Great Barr ticks all the boxes,Especially when I booking through kayak fantastic prices. Staff All very friendly. Choice of bar meals or sit down in the restaraunt (slightly higher prices than bar). Breakfast is spot on. Single room clean and tidy with trouser press. Bathrooms clean no problems with hot water etc etc. have stayed there over past 3 weeks and booked in for all of next week.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel. Look forward to seeing you again soon. With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel

Helen Wilson Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Great Barr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was our second stay at the Great Barr Hotel and we chose it because it is in close proximity to family that we wished to visit and represents very good value for money. The room we stayed in actually exceded the one we stayed in during our first visit and was more than adequate for our four day stay. We ate breakfasts which were very appetising with something to suit all tastes. All the staff were efficient and friendly and all in all the hotel makes a good base when you want somewhere to stay when in North Birmingham.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel


Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms on a Friday night a few weeks ago. Both rooms smelled musty and in a shabby, dirty state. As soon as we entered the room, 2 spiders on the ceiling caught our eyes. As we walked towards the window (clearly left open to air the musty smell of the room), we saw 2 more spiders fixed to the curtain, they weren't moving and looked as though they had taken root! When we went to the other room reserved for a relative, we found they had trapped 1 spider under a teacup to prevent it travelling further on the bed!

We were made to pay the full amount of both rooms on arrival, before we had even seen the rooms. The porter must have known what was in store for us! Dirty hotel, customer service non-existent! Don't go there! Saw a lady the next day who had spent the same night there as us, much to our surprise, she had the same experience!

No surprises to hear that we won't be returning to this dirty, musty smelling hotel!

Room Tip: The 100 rooms ar down a smelly corridor near the exit.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

As previously advised when you contacted us, rooms cannot be protected from spiders or any insects as the bedroom wing overlooks the garden. All our bedrooms are checked daily by the Head Housekeeper.
You had failed to mention that once you had made a complaint, we accommodated you with another bedroom which you accepted. We have also offered you a refund which you have failed to reply to. I believe the reason you were asked to pay for the rooms on check-in was due to the fact that you did not have a credit card for pre-authorisation and this is a standard procedure in the industry. In view of the above, your comments are misleading and grossly unfair.

Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here whilst on a two day conference and was very pleased we had picked this hotel.All facilities excelent.The rooms tidy and adequate and the staff were brilliant.We had a great conference and i will recommend this hotel to my friends.The breakfast was delicious and they kept us in tea and biscuits all day.Brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here when visiting the NEC which was 20mins or so away.
Location was nice, tucked away with a Harvester resturant 10mins down the road.

Good bits!
Room was clean, nicely presented.
Reception was lovely.
Plenty of free parking.
Quiet location.

Bad bits..
When heating came on at 5AM!! - VERY VERY noisy!! Constant tapping, we stayed in 318
Told breakfast was at 7am, BF likes cooked none of this cereal rubbish so to be told the chef didnt start till 8am was abit strange... double check and yes 8am cooked breaky would be served. wasnt a major issue but if we were stuck for time BF would have kicked off!
Also toilet made strange banging noises every now and again!

Other than that... it was ok. i paid £51 through Olohotels B&B per night. I wouldnt have paid much more.

Room Tip: Go completely opposite to room 318!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyjo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights whilst taking in a football match. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom had a bath and shower which pleased my partner as he enjoys a good soak.The young girl on reception could not have been more helpful, she really went out of her way for us. The staff in the bar were also very friendly and helpful as was the lady who served breakfast. The food was very good and also reasonably priced. The bar is very cosy with some leather couches and an open fire. We only paid £18.50 each per night to include a full english breakfast, what fantastic value. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly reccommend it.
There is a very nice carvery pub/restaurant just around the corner which is also excellent value, it is called The Malt Shovel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clar1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Some of the rooms are attractive boutique style, very nicely furnished, beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast is very good, other food moderately so, mostly owing to the fact it was very cool by the time it reached table, however, desserts are delicious.The hotel is set back from the road so there is no close traffic noise. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
We needed to change our room owing to the fact that for some reason we were allocated a room in the middle of a corridor where other rooms were being used by people getting ready to attend a Tribute Night. We considered it best to change before they came back to their rooms following the event in the early hours.

Room Tip: Make sure that there are no guests in rooms close-by attending a "Tribute Night" and that...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreanbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
2.1 mi away
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
#3 of 5 in West Bromwich
26 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $72 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing