We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
nottingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2006

We booked in to this hotel for two nights on business, 12th and 13th January 2006. It was like an episode from "Fawlty Towers" My advice is just don't go there. Room very small,furniture falling apart and on 7th floor with lift only stopping at random floors. We got to 8th floor after 10 minutes and walked down. Lift opened at lower basement which was awful (glad I had not eaten!) Tried to get a snack at the bar, this was barricaded by two vending machines and the only seats were broken. Tried to get down the stairs from the 7th floor only to find obstacles all the way, old carpets, furniture, wood with 2 inch nails sticking out and stair treads that were dangerous. My husband decided to check out as our personal safety was at risk. We were late for our meeting (also had to fetch and move the car) and had to pay full price at another hotel, the first alternative that we tried was full! Not the best frame of mind for a business meeting!!!!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cjb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    271
    484
    474
    1,093
See reviews for
197
601
286
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2005

Apparently I stayed in a different hotel than many of the other reviewers. The "B" is in an excellent location, right across the street from New Street station and a few steps from Sainsbury's. My room was rather large for a single and the bathroom was roomy and clean. Every hotel has a few quirks; this one definitely does, and it is a bit overpriced, given the fact that breakfast isn't even included. But the plusses outweighed the minuses for me, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

it's true - its all true what they say on NO account stay in this hotel.

peeling wallpaper, no heating , no hotwater, no service - I checked out the same night at 10.00pm as i was unable to have a bath and they were still letting people in despite the fact that the boiler had broken down

stay at the novotel on Broadstreet, they arranged for a taxi to come and pick me up and then upgraded me when they heard of my terrible story of woe - the rooms are formulaic but very clean and the staff at the Novotel are just lovely and all for the same price as the Britannia

DONT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2005

I was unfortunate that my company travel agent booked me into this dump. I am from South Africa and here in the UK on business. After spending a few nights at another very classy hotel i was moved, due to room availibility and was recommended by that hotel that I should try the Brittania. We booked in for three nights but after the first night there was no way that I was gonna spend another second in that place.

Firstly, the personell at the reception could not give me directions to the hotel. Then we had to park the car in a public parking lot about 200m from the hotel. there was no porter available to help us carry our luggage.

When i got to my room, there was cigarretes in the ashtray, coffee in my cups, dirt on the floor, nothing was clean. After risking my life taking the elevator downstairs (and i say risking my life cos it sure felt like it) i managed to get another room.

The room was "clean" thank god. The TV was on the floor with a remote that didnt work. The furniture looked as though they hadnt ever been cleaned and the room sure smelt that way. I struggled to get sleep that night cos I couldnt get past feeling really dirty. I was awoken early the next morning by the soothing sound of a passing train. I could go on...

So if youre one for adventure and living in the edge, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

As a seasoned traveller I have stayed at many 3 star hotels and on the whole they are effecient but boring,usually run by chains.The Britannia on the other hand is never boring.The whole experience may be rubbish in terms of quality but there is always plenty of "free" entertainment on offer.
Sure the chain hotels fulfill their jobs with the standard waffel about "mission statements" and "customer service" and "reaching out to fulfill customer goals".

The Brittania offers no such nonsense just a crap hotel offering crap service,rather like Tony Blair admitting he's a crap prime minister and doing away with spin docters.
An hour spent sitting in reception listening to all the complaints is sheer comedy at its very best.I've seen everyone from the single traveller to the whole crew of a Pakistani airline battling with staff who either don't care or are simply worn out with constant abuse.

When the Brittania Hotel eventually closes or is comletely refurbished Birmingham and this website will lose and I suspect miss a great instution and talking point

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

The location is excellent for shopping as only a few minutes walk between here and the Bullring. However it is a small trek to Broad Street and the more hip evening areas.

The room was very dingy – it was extremely dark even with all the lights on and the curtains open in the day. Bathroom was clean but the rest of the room looked really dated. Quite a long room so plenty of space for our shopping bags (!). Room felt unclean and definitely in need of redecorating! Noise from other rooms and the corridor was very loud at night.

Staff are extremely rude - did not encounter anyone remotely pleasant on the reception desk. But worse of all was at breakfast when the very rude head waitress assured us that our rate did not include breakfast. Unfortunately we did not have our email confirmation of booking on us so it was really our word against theirs. We were sent to reception and told that we could either pay for breakfast and then have it refunded if indeed it was included in our rate or we could go without. Eventually they agreed that we could have breakfast so long as we faxed them a copy of the booking confirmation the next day. And was breakfast worth it?!! What do you think! Very small buffet and after all the negotiating we only had 20 minutes to eat before the end of breakfast so several items had run out and were not restocked. Cannot believe they actually expect people to pay for this!

We did fax the hotel the booking confirmation and yes it did include breakfast. I found out later that the same thing had happened to someone we knew only they had not persevered and so had missed out on breakfast. There also appeared to be other guests who had breakfast included but who were refused this by the hotel during our stay. Funnily enough a few weeks later we looked on laterooms (who we had made the booking through) for another Birmingham hotel and saw that the rate had been changed for this hotel – same price but no longer including breakfast.

How is this hotel still in business? This was the 1st time I stayed in Birmingham - have been back several times since and there are plenty of nicer hotels - Britannia seriously needs to sort itself out.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NixKitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2005

I was hoping for a romantic weekend for me and my boyfriend. We often travel to Birmingham as i live in the North and he lives in the South. We both love birmingham, it's a fantastic city, with lots to do and see, it doesn't deserve it's bad reputation one bit!

Anyway, as this was our 3rd trip in a couple of months, and our last for about a year, we decided to try a different hotel, and due to the location (almost opposite NewStreet Station) we decided we would go there. Stupidly I too didn't read the previous reviews of the place.

When I arrived at 4pm ish, the room i was given was still being cleaned, so after another 30 mins i was given another room. I might have well stayed put in the first room. the whole place is horrible, it hasn't been decorated for years, the carpet worn bare in places, with dark brown paint on all the woodwork.

the room was as bad, a sickly old green, again very very old and dated, with the same brown painted wood. and as people have said, the tv looked like my nan had donated it to them. We didn't turn it on as we were convinced it might explode.

the bath room was quite nice, and clean, sort of a marble effect, although very small.

to top it all off, at 3 am on our last night the fire alarm went off, and we were made to stand in the main street in Birmingham in our night ware for nearly an hour. The staff handling of this was very very poor, and i'm glad to say it was a hoax, as no one was around to direct us to the ground floor safely. there were many familys and children who were obviously scarred, and the staff did hardly anything to reassure.

it's clearly under staffed. although it was moderatly clean and in a good position, there are a hundred better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank feebhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing