We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“it was OK”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

i paid £28 for a room - so am writing with that in mind & it was great!

the housekeeping manager should be dealt with as they allowed too many staff to go on holiday at the same time & so had a problem finding us a room - waiting for an hour after advertised booking in time, but upgraded us & gave us B&B from room only as compensation - more than we expected (my wife only asked for a free drink in the bar)

when we got to our room it was a 3* city centre hotel room, if you want luxary - you are not going to get it at these prices - sorry

would i go back - yes

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    277
    500
    487
    1,159
See reviews for
211
633
296
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Not somewhere to stay for more than a night. I was put into a smoking room as none other available ... very basic room, though bed comfortable enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Examiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Widnes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

stayed for 2 night from 25/6/09. Hotel in need of updating but the rooms were awful tiny, smelly, dirty walls and carpet. muck smeared up the walls and the doot (not window) out lead onto somekind of balcony which was inches deep with water filled with bottle, glasses ans fag butts. we were in a smoking room, although confirmation stated that we were not. Bar was awful staff couldnt pull a pint to save her life and it tasted awful. the lifts did not work and we were on the 7th floor which was awful, asked for assistance with bags, on check out and 1 guy arrived and picked 1 bag up and ran off with it. So i had to struggle down 7 flights of stairs.

Staff were not at all friendly, horrible and unhelpful which was a shame because everyone else we came across in Birmingham was lovely, everyone is really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

fantastic service, i have MS so was worried about our stay due to past customer reviews but we could not have had a better weekend, the staff were helpful and friendly, the place was clean, food was great. The only downside through no-ones fault was the breakdown of the lift on sunday though one call to reception and before i had put the phone down 2 porters were knocking on the door to assist with taking our luggage and my wheelchair downstairs which enabled my partner to assist me with tackling the stairs. will be going again for definate

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We decided to take up the offer of staying one night for £35. On arriving, we were told nonchalantly that the Superior Room we had booked was not available as we hadn't arrived early enough (arrival was 7.30pm), so instead we would get a double. Not such a big issue, until we got to the room and discovered that they had just stuck two single beds side by side. The springs were coming through as well. We immediately asked for a change, to a double room, and on being given a second room we discovered that this too was a twin room with the beds shoved together!
The duty manager was unhelpful, as were the staff that thought we were being unreasonable by asking for what we had actually booked!
The customer service was terrible, as we had to wait an hour in reception just to sort these problems. In the end the Duty Manager offered us a refund, as he could do nothing more. Not that we were in a position to take the refund as it was late, our options were limited.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelcritic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I wouldnt even reccommend this poor excuse for a hotel to my worse enemies. The front of house staff were so rude and had 'lost' my booking and blamed me for it! Even after showing them full proof of confirmation this was still the case, they also tried to offer me a double room in which they supposed id be happy to share with my client, how ridiculous. The whole decor of the place is so outdated it needs a total revamp and to be restaffed! To be fair I hadnt met all the staff but the only 2 that I did were rude, bolshy and mannerless and have no customer service skills whatsoever, if Britannia want these hotels to last they need to train their staff (or better still sack the rubbish ones and employ people with a bit of humanity) and update everything, it looks like something out of Crossroads! Even the staff's uniform needs to be taken out of the 1980's and put into modern day. Only stay here if there really is nowhere else to stay and please remember to always have proof of confirmation of booking and in hindsight take a name of whoever confirmed things with you as proof, good luck!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Check in poor. No service, untrained or uncaring receptionist.

Room: Although it appeared to be newly decorated it still had a tired and old fashioned feel. Bed was obviously well past its use by date. Although the room itself was quite large, no provision had been made for workspace, no Wifi or fast broadband connection. TV offered only basic service.
Bathroom: OK met all the basic requirements.

Cleanliness: OK

Restaurant dinner: Both the service and the choice of food were poor although the food that was available was cooked OK. Apparently there is an a la carte menu although this wasn't offered and from overhearing other conversations was unlikely to have offered much extra.

Breakfast: Pretty good really. Interesting that no grilled tomatoes were available, only canned tomatoes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapscan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
223 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,071 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing