We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I remembered staying here before only when I was walking up to the hotel. It's located on New Street, just around the corner from Birmingham Intl train station, so the location is great. Check-in was quick and they've got free wi-fi in the lobby. The room was OK and fairly clean, but in general, I think the hotel needs some refurbishment. I took up their offer to eat as much as I liked for GBP 9.95. The meal was supposed to include a complimentary glass of table wine. I didn't ask for it because I didn't fancy it, but I still expected them to offer it to me. Well, they didn't. It was self-service and the plate I took first was dirty, the food looked really stale, especially the green salad and cakes. So I had some fish and chips, which was the only thing that evening that looked good enough to eat. It tasted OK, but the whole experience was a complete disappointment. No wonder the restaurant was empty. Next evening I walked up the street to an Italian restaurant for a pizza - which wasn't perfect, but much better than the food in the hotel. I may stay there again if I get a good price for the room, but I am definitely not eating dinner there again.

Room Tip: The rooms looking down on main street are nice because of the view of the street, but it gets really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

Staff are on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the food on offer, they would have been able to address your concerns, enabling you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable veiw.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    281
    506
    492
    1,187
See reviews for
221
640
304
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at the hotel I'm happy to recommend it. No, it's not the Ritz, but it's clean comfortable and less than half the price of most of the hotels in the city centre. The staff are very friendly, which when you work for a ruthless hotel chain like Britannia can't be easy. I particulary liked the young Chinese girl on reception who was demure and cute. The night porter was also very friendly. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, very near the Bullring. Breakfast was perfectly OK, and actually better cooked than at many Britannia hotel's that I've stayed in. The best rooms are the executive rooms on the ninth floor which come with air conditioning and Jaccuzi baths. I would say these are on a par with rooms in a 4 star hotel, and some have excellent views over the city.. You can upgrade to one of these for £10 extra on arrival. Take it from me - this hotel is much better than its Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is like an old fashioned city centre commercial hotel. It is badly in need of major refurbishment to bring it up to acceptable modern standards. It is however very cheap and the staff are extremely helpful and obliging. The restaurant is the best part and is well furnished and serves decent food. Breakfast was great.
Otherwise you can expect threadbare carpets, once upon a time white net curtains, ancient metal single glazed windows that have not been cleaned for decades and very tired decor throughout. Room furnishings also extremely basic and well past replacement time. Round pin power sockets impossible to use.
Some reviews have complained of noise but we were lucky and only disturbed by the street cleaners on the main road early in the morning.
The best bit of the experience was the very willing and helpful staff and they should be commended. It cannot be easy to deliver hospitality in such a run down hotel so obviously in need of money being spent to upgrade the guest experience. That would of course increase the prices but would be worth it.
Be aware that not even taxis will get to the front door so be prepared to walk with luggage through the crowds on the busiest shopping street for 5 minutes to get there. Travel light if at all possible! Other budget hotel options are available close to the city centre without all the disadvantages of this one.

Room Tip: Go to a more reliable modern budget city centre hotel without the problems of this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrshire911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for any problems you encountered with your room, I will of course pass your comments onto The Housekeeper for improvements to be made where deemed necessary.

Thank you so much for your kind comments with regards to the Staff and food, I shall certainly pass these on.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cheap cheerful place to rest our head. For twenty pounds you can't really complain. Based on New St only a 10 min walk to Bullring shopping centre. Room was clean and hotel is centrally located. Rooms are a bit dated but they were clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ningaloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Britannia Hotel. Had absolutely no complaints. The staff were friendly and the spacious room was very comfortable. Did not try the Bar or Restaurant. If I was visiting Birmingham again I would have no hesitation over staying here. Great value for money.

Room Tip: I was in Rm 311 and it was GOOD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was on a hospital visit and I used this hotel as a base for a couple of nights .ok its a little dated, however it was fine for my needs comfy, friendly staff and in a good central location, my room was on
the ninth floor which was very quiet, it was midweek , I did not use the bar or restaurant so cant comment on these, I used the local amienties for breakfast and evening meals, I did notice the the Hotel supplied a all you can eat breakfast for as little a £6. I will definately use this Hotel again if
I need a base for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to get nice reduction,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked the place for couple of night. Rooms was good according to what we pay for. the place need a massive makeover but was OK. The main complain is the NOISE. I did not sleep well because of people having fun next door and then watching TV very late and loud. In addition to that, doors are not well fitted so more noise during the night when people comes back from disco

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paternos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet some of your expectations at this time and do wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand and swopped your room if necessary allowing you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
278 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#94 of 117 in Birmingham
513 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,093 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing