We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Sunny Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Depressing”
Reviewed January 18, 2008

It's not the facilities or the food, the rooms or the location that can make or break a hotel, it's more likely to be the service. Or more specifically the people delivering it.

Accepting that this hotel is going through a dusty re-fit which they can't help (it must be difficult for them) they are still the most unhelpful team of people I have ever met!

I travelled 173 miles to get there in my car in driving rain. I queued up for half an hour to be told there was no booking for me. I knew there was but they just couldn't find it. I went away, made a call, came back and waited for the reservations person to arrive.

The manager tried to convince me I'd been booked into the Coventry hotel and I should drive over to there. I hadn't, I was due in a conference the very next day in this very hotel. Eventually I got my room after about an hour. Boy it needs the re-fit!

Every time I came across any member of staff from hereon in they were talking negatively about a fellow member of staff or moaning generally. At breakfast the person serving the tea and coffee just spent all her time moaning about and at the guests. And breakfast was rank.

Talking of food, the buffet lunch was rank too. Slops of tray baked muck served by the disinterested. Nothing cooked entirely from scratch I am told by the cook, most of it was from a packet or a catering pack. Mmmmmm, nice.

My key kept malfunctioning which made to-ing and fro-ing difficult. On one occasion I had to go back to reception three times to get it changed so I could get into my room. Never once did reception apologise or offer to come with me with a master key.

Only one lift was working and it was very slow. The coffee I had nipped out to get and have in my room was stone cold by the time I eventually got in my room - well it would be wouldn't it after 45 minutes!

I used to complain about the Holiday Inn. I'll never say a bad word against them ever again!!

  • Liked — Loved the sticky carpets!
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BrightonNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    281
    507
    492
    1,188
See reviews for
221
640
304
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Stayed in Birmingham visiting friends just before xmas who booked me in and paid half the bill. I'd never have found it if they hadn't been with me - it's not exactly well signed, and the front entrance isn't at the front! Where you'd expect the door to be, there's an O2 shop! Inside it's very old fashioned - lots of dark varnish, marble, 'oil paintings,' etc. Must be to someones taste, but not mine.

Bedroom wasn't bad. Like I said, I didn't like the way it was decorated (Chintzy curtains, and different patterned chintzy bedding didn't help the hangover...) but that's just personal. It was clean, the tv worked, the shower was hot, it was in the city centre, and that was all I wanted it for.

Total bill was £70(ish), and I paid £35 of that so was happy enough. I wouldn't stay for anything special or to sweep someone off their feet, but I don't think those people are who this place is aiming at.

  • Liked — Great location in city centre
  • Disliked — Chintzy curtains
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

A filthy, deplorable hotel!

Arrived here for an intended 3 night stay ... lasted 1 night and if it had not been 9pm when we checked in, we would have left to find somewhere else straightaway.

We did not dare to try breakfast - if this is how their public rooms look, God forbid what the kitchens are like !

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sarapops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Rotherham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

I read the reviews before I booked the hotel & decided to see for myself.
I found the room (twin room) clean & of decent quality for the money I paid. I got a decent nights sleep & experienced very little noise both from the other guests, or from the outside.
I stayed B&B & found the buffet style breakfast excellent & good value for money.
Overall, a decent budget hotel.

  • Liked — Decent Quality At A Good Price
  • Disliked — Room Wasnt The Warmest
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank millers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

arrived at hotel at 9am and told couldnt check in until 2pm. We managed to persuade them to let us leave our bags and went shopping. Came back at 1.45pm and told we couldn't check in until 2.30pm! Went upstairs to bar...which doesn't accept cards (where does not accept cards these days?!!?). Eventually came to check in...to be told we'd been double booked along with dozens of other people and would be moved to a better hotel and get better rooms! What a joke! We were moved to an equally disgusting hotel far out of Birmingham and offered no compensation! Have since written to Britannia hotels but they have chosen to ignore me. What a disgraceful company!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Thishotellooksquitenice intheprofesionalphotographs I,M wonderingif it was the samehotelwhich I stayed in .
The corridors,carpets,and walls are filthy ,I used the stairsas I dont like lifts and you couldwrite your name in the dust.
The rooms are so dirty dull and dingy I was so glad that I was only stayingfor 1 night .Since returning home I have been itching all over.
On a lighter notethe restaurant where breakfast was served was as if you,d stepped into another hotel staff were curtious,although within an hour of eating breakfast I had a cronic case of diahorea(WHETHER IT WAS LINKED TO THE FOOD I CANT SAY WITHOUT HAVING TESTS)
They offer room service and sandwiches 24 hours but on requesting them was told no food was available that was 10PM ,there was no food left ,perhaps that was a good thing after my breakfast episode
I would,nt recommend this hotel to anyone
I WILL BE CONTACTING THE COMPANY I TRAVELLED WITH TO COMPLAIN AS I HAVE USED THEM COUNTLESS TIMES IN THE PAST FOR COACH/THEATRE BREAKS AND ALWAYS STAYED IN FABULOUS HOTELS THEY HAVE A REPUTATION TO KEEP AND ALL I CAN SAY IS THEY WILL QUICKLY LOSE IT IF THEY CONTINUE TO USE THIS HOTEL

  • Liked — Location For Shopping
  • Disliked — Lack of Cleanliness ,Uncomfortable Room, Needs Updating And Profesional Cleaners
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannaGPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Airport
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2007

When we arrived we had to wait for half an hour to be checked in, when went to the room we were less than impressed with the general level of hygiene and the awful smell in our room.
The overall levels of service were shocking. Having just dropped our bags in the room, we decided not to spend the weekend at this hotel for the reasons above.
Amy the manager on duty was very helpfull when we complained and checked out.

  • Disliked — Service and general level of hygiene
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pattniash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
280 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#94 of 117 in Birmingham
514 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,096 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing