We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Room + Uncomfortable Bed.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Noisy Room + Uncomfortable Bed.......”
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Was part of a conference and the hotel was booked for us.

Location: Very convenient for city centre...and its about a 20minute walk from NewStreet Train station (unless you get lost...which I managed to do). They have a car park for guests...they have a 24hour rate which I can't remember now but seemed quite reasonable.

Staff: Very friendly.

Rooms: Hallways are a bit dated (carpet in stairwell is faded and have holes). The rooms are a good size. The toilet and bathroom are separate. The bath is really narrow...they should just do away with it and leave the shower. But overall it was clean,bright and had good water pressure.

The mattress was hard and the 2 'pillows' were as flat as pancakes. Was unfortunately there on St Patrick's day and the noise from the street was quite loud...isn't double glazing meant to cut down sound? The next night was slightly better but street noise was still an issue.
Needless to say I didn't get much sleep.

Internet: You can pay to use it in your room (free in the upgrade package). They also have two iMACs in the lobby which are free to use.

In retrospect....I should have paid the additional cash to upgrade my room.....then again, the Hyatt Hotel was just a short walk down the street.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Firstly I would like this guest for their comments and the positive and constructive way in which they have made their feelings known. I feel for any guest, when they say they had a disturbed night and would sympathise.
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is on Broad Street, a busy and very popular destination for weekend night life. We are working with the local emergency services to reduce the siren noise and are currently reviewing our glazing/sound proofing. Rooms nearer to Broad St have double glazing however it is a consideration to introduce a further layer of secondary double glazing this summer.
We will also always give priority to guests who wish to have room away from the front of the hotel, as rooms towards the rear of the hotel appear to suffer much less from this issue. Since this guest stayed we have reviewed all pillows throughout the hotel and replaced those that were in need. We also provide wrapped extra pillows in every room for guests convenience.
I hope that this guest will consider the Novotel for their next visit to Birmingham, whereupon we can display our commitment to a 'good nights sleep' for every guest! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    606
    285
    74
    47
See reviews for
215
487
86
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Had some difficulty finding as computer put on other side of street on corner of Granville Street
Actually hotel is opposite. Met manager after checking in and mentioned TA reviews to him. He confirmed rooms had been refurbished. Room was good with settee and large screen TV with good selection of stations.
Felt cold and duty manager brought me another duvet.
The separate toilet would be convenient for couples, but could do with small hand wash basin.
Did not eat in hotel as wanted a Balti and went opposite to Bombay Mix
where surprised to find table cloths cutlery and beer. Very convenient and good, see restaurant reviews.
I paid a conference rate of £70, room rate listed was £186, but reception said could do special offer on application.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Firstly can I thank this guest for their review. (I do remember chatting to you in Reception and I am glad you again had an enjoyable stay with us!)
Many Novotel regular guests will know that one of our brand standards, when many of the hotels were built in the UK, was to have a seperate toilet. Popular with some guests and a slight annoyance to others. I would also hope that this matter wouldn't be the deciding factor for returning to Novotel? We will however review the hand washing/sanitizing facilities.
Thank you for all of your positive comments and I hope we will see you in the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I needed a functional hotel in Birmingham just for an overnight stay before early morning onward travel. That's exactly what I got: clean, warm, quiet enough, good location. The spa/fitness centre was closed for refurbishment, but this wasn't revealed until after the booking, which was a bit irritating. Obviously, travelling in January on a Sunday night for work doesn't set you up for a great experience, but what's slightly worrying is that the only other interesting thing to report is that the shoe shine machine came in handy, and I never quite worked out how to use the orange juicer at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
I am sorry that this guest felt uninspired by their visit, we do strive to ensure every guest feels special and I will be working with my team to ensure we are focused on this throughout 2010 and on into 2011, not only when we are at our businest but also on those quiter evenings. I am delighted to be able to inform you that we are starting our public area imrpovements this summer, so hopefully next time you visit us, you will experience a fresh new Novotel Birmingham Centre. Thank you for reading my response to these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for jut one night but that one night was simply great! From the minute we checked in at the friendly desk we were taken care of! The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the food delicious. All the staff were kind, curteous and very professional.
All in all an excellent experience! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Can I thank this customer for their positive review. It is always really appreciated by the team, when we receive great comments. We do strive to ensure every guests feels this way on departure and hope that any potential guest reading this review will book ther next stay in Birmingham at the Novotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Having stayed at this hotel before I was looking forward to returning for an engagement party on Broad Street. The location is fantastic, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet has a wide selection of hot and cold foods.....yet again could not complain about these.

What I am upset about is that a few small items were stolen from my girlfriend's suitcase.....leggings, some foundation and hair clips. OK so these are small items and individually I would think that my girlfriend had simply left them at home but I know she used the foundation and hair clips on our first morning there (we stayed two nights) and placed the foundation back in her make-up bag and clips back in her suitcase. Imagine our surprise to coming back to our room to find these random items were no longer in these places.

We commented to staff who basically insinuated that we were lying.....why would we lie about such small things? They did in the end agree to let us replace the items and they would re-imburse us for them but at no point was an apology forthcoming and throughout we were treated as if we were the dishonest ones. I am still awaiting a reply from the hotel as to the outcome of their "investigations" but I suspect they will tell us that they believe the items removed themselves of their own accord as it couldn't possibly have been anyone to do with the hotel. I am expecting an offer of compensation for the distress my girlfriend went through from the knowledge that someone had gone through all of her things.

I would recommend this hotel on location and comfort but make sure all of your posessions no matter how small are locked up away from prying hands.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronaSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
As the hotel General Manager, I contacted this guests on return from annual leave and made a personal apology. Our investigations could not prove that any member of my team had been in their room, however I could not dispute that the items mentioned had been moved/taken. As a gesture of goodwill, the guest was recompensed for their loss and invited back to experience the hotel services.
I hope that any potential guest reading this would have confidence in our security and take an overveiw of all of the positive comments from other guests. For information, we provide safes in every bedroom and a key locking system which identifies all entrance and exit from all bedrooms.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2010

The public areas are lovely, excellent restaurant, welcoming and helpful staff. However the superior double room we had was definitely not of 4star standard. The carpet was really stained and marked and the furnishings (cushions etc) were of cheap quality. Everything was clean and well-kept however - maybe time for a makeover of the rooms? Would stay again however, the bed was really comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rk0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you for posting your comments. I am delighted to be able to inform you that we have now upgraded our soft furnishings in our bedrooms and started a carpet replacement project this summer.
In addition to this we carrying out further improvements to our public areas, so hopefully our guests wil consider that they are not only great but fantastic.
I encourage any potential guest reading this comment to 'come and try our facilities for yourself', as we are very proud of our hotel and strive to ensure that every guest leaves satisfied. Thank you for reading my response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Chose this for a one night stay for an event at the ICC, which is a 5 minute walk along Broad Street. The Hyatt has a direct walkway but costs more than twice as much. The room was clean, the staff were helpful, but the bed was uncomfortably firm, the breakfast was cold and the carpets in the corridor (5th floor) looked as if they needed cleaning. 24 hour parking for £13 was very welcome and useful for a 1 day event after checkout.. For a 4 star, no frills, but perfectly OK.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
We will take on board the comments this guest has made and thank them for taking the time to post their thoughts.
At Novotel we strive to be as competitive as we can in an extemely competitive market place, whilst providing our guests a 4 star service. On this occasion we obviously didn't quite get everything right, however you can be assured that the issues mentioned have been addressed in no uncertain terms with my team. Our Service Extraordinaire and NeXT (training) Programs are designed specifically with service and operations in mind. All employees are now absorbing the cultures of these programs, which will ensure that every member of the team knows the value of their duties and can knowingly put them into practice in their day to day lives.
I hope we will see this guest back in the hotel in the future, whereupon they can see the true Novotel customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,834 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing