We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Birmingham Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Most impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night, whilst I attended a conference. From start to finish I was impressed.

There was very convenient parking in the basement, and the welcome was efficient, warm and friendly. My room was an 'executive room' and was large and comfortable, with pretty much everything you would expect. There was also a Nespresso machine and decent soap, shampoo etc.. The room was also spotless.

I went downstairs for an evening meal and had a glass of wine, and then decided to have something to eat in the restaurant. The food was incredibly good and not what I would expect from a hotel like this at all. I've had far, far worse meals in places with Michelin stars. The rump steak, in particular, was cooked exactly as I'd asked and had a wonderful taste and texture. Of other note was the mascarpone ice cream, which came with the rather good pecan tart. Service was splendid too - friendly and efficient. I hope that the hotel owners can see, and reward, the hard work of their casual staff! Some of these people could certainly have bright futures in hospitality.

I would definitely stay here again on a return visit to Birmingham.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the overall service from the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    575
    273
    67
    46
See reviews for
199
468
83
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on business. Excellent location, very comfortable, ideal for city centre. Caring staff who are friendly and helpful. Have stayed in other Birmingham City centre hotels previously but would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed here a few times and have recently attended an informal meeting in their lounge/ bar area, it was stylish, discreet and made a great back drop/ setting for the meeting with a future employer.

With regards to the rooms - they cannot be faulted Novotel have aimed for excellence and have most certainly achieved this and quite possibly exceeded it too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brummiechick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience here at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust you had a good meeting.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed overnight for works Christmas party 2 weeks ago, just got into the car park below the hotel, it is a snug fit for a 4x4, check in straightforward and room nice and clean. Had a quick drink in the hotel bar before going out, reasonable prices though could have done with more than 1 bar staff on duty the week before christmas. Good breakfast in the morning and polite staff throughout, seemed a well run hotel and good value, good location, would use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R50KEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I was very pleased to read your comments regarding your recent stay here at the novotel and have shared your feedback with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

stayed at the Novotel Birmingham, the breakfast facility was great even when I had to wait 45 minutes for an omelet. because the chef on Sunday said she was too busy. the real thing was the lack of gym. this should not be called a gym or gym facilities. sticking 1 treadmill in a room is not a gym. the room we stayed in was on the 6th floor, the carpets in the hallway and room was awful, downstairs was nice but on our floor they need to update the carpet and update the room, felt very 1998.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Centre. We are currently refurbishng our gym facilities and I will be pleased to reopen the brand new facilities during January 2014.

Kind regards

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing