We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    599
    279
    73
    47
See reviews for
213
483
86
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess hHill
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Restaurant a bit pricey compared with the cost of accommodation which is truly superb value. Has own garage at £14 per 24 hours, very convenient. Staff are really friendly and cheerful. Coped with children well. Very comfortable and clean and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cortla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Birmingham Centre.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is well placed near to the canal and various restaurants. However, the walls are paper thin resulting in shared toilet experiences. The staff are nice and pleasant, when you can find them, especially at breakfast when there was no one to serve coffee / tea or replenish food. I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I am sorry that your experience did not match that which our other guests have enjoyed. please be assured that I will be reviewing your comments with my team, to ensure that every guest receives the best of hospitality!
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A short walk from Birmingham New Street, this is obviously not a purpose-built hotel in the Accor chain, and feels less luxurious than other Novotels I've stayed in. That said, the room I had was at the front, with double-glazed opening windows with big arches that made the most of the light (though the view of the wasteland carpark opposite was not inspiring!). It felt more like an Ibis, but with Novotel touches in terms of toiletries (the bathroom was spacious, behind double doors off the bedroom, but the WC was in a small and tired space inside the room door). No proper wardrobe as with usual Mercure/Novotel standards. The front desk staff were very helpful and welcoming, giving directions to local area. The bed was comfortable, plenty of desk/seating space and plugs. The best thing though is the proximity to the canals, just a few minutes' walk away (and the conference/exhibition centres just a few hundred metres further along). The canal area is lovely for a stroll and has plenty of (albeit chain) restaurants and bars canalside. Head in the opposite direction, towards Five Ways, and you enter a decaying concrete and traffic-filled area. But it's central, comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

the hotel is awsum for night clubers as it is in the heart of the centre .exelent manager very kind and understandin also has security guards on the weekends for extra safety ,nice clean rooms and awsum bar and food

Room Tip: top floors exelent veiw of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azaard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, especially about the team! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this conveniently-located city-centre hotel for 2 nights in August 2013. The lady checking me in was extremely helpful and chatty and it wasn't long until I was up in my room. I was away from the main street and had a neat and clean room of a decent size on the 2nd floor. The sound-proofing was pretty good and I enjoyed 2 great nights here.

The bed was very comfortable, there was a separate sofa, desk and chair. There were coffee making facilities and the bathroom (separate toilet) was modern and very clean. I had a very comfortable stay.

I didn't eat breakfast as I think £13.95 is a little steep (although comparable to other hotels) but I did make use of the gym which was good and not too busy on a Saturday morning. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from Birmingham New Street station and the Bullring shopping centre. I enjoyed my walks to and from the hotel, There are lots of clubs nearby on Broad Street and I was pleased to find a Nando's that opened until midnight just up the road ;o).

I can recommend this hotel for whenever you're in Birmingham, I'd book without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayothamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,683 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#49 of 117 in Birmingham
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing