We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pleasant room and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant room and excellent staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights over an Easter weekend and were very pleased overall. Our request to the receptionist for a quiet room away from the lift was met very pleasantly and without any fuss. The room also had an interior door which added to the noise insulation. On the first night we were completely undisturbed. On the Saturday night there was inevitably some noise audible from Broad Street although clearly not the fault of the hotel and to be expected given the location.
The rooms was comfortable and had been quite recently updated as was the bathroom with a powerful shower over the bath. My only criticism was the separate toilet which seemed to have bypassed any makeover and was quite antiquated.
Thanks again to the delightful chamber maid who telephoned reception as we were checking out to say that I had left my phone charger in the room. Brilliant!
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as Broad Street is at the heart of Birmingham's nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and making particular reference to the team and the hospitality they provide, is very pleasing! We work hard at inspiring and motivating the team to ensure every guest has a hassle free and relaxing stay! I have noted your comment re the toilet, which we will address. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    599
    279
    73
    47
See reviews for
213
483
86
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Can't fault the staff both at checking, breakfast and check out.

However the room was ok apart from the separate crampt toilet with barely enough room to turn around in /shut the door behind you.

I had booked a room with breakfast for 2, however as my partner could've attend I would have hoped that I could have got a refund on the 2nd breakfast that I prepaid.

Otherwise fine for NIA and symphony hall etc

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Matthew175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We at the Novotel Birmingham Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have noted your comments. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future? Please feel free to call me on 0121 643 2000 or email me on richard.marsh@accor.com to discuss the requested refund for your breakfast.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but I would defiantly go back. The room was very modern and clean. After a hard day shopping and an great evening out a peaceful room was just the ticket. Also great customer service. I left my ring in the room and I was saved for me thank you guys

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and making particular reference to the team and the hospitality they provide, is very pleasing! We work hard at inspiring and motivating the team to ensure every guest has a hassle free and relaxing stay!
We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby Magna
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Found this great deal and it was well above expectations, in the middle of Broad St. with parking available what a touch. Greeting from staff made you feel so welcome in fact all staff were very polite. Facility play area for children what more could you ask for. Have stayed in many hotels on Broad street before however will be using the Novotel hotel group from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tish1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Exactly as described on-line, a warm cosy yet modern hotel conveniently located. Have stayed before and will stay again.
Handy restaurant and good breakfast included.
Bed large and comfortable. Good sound system

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank shanks43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
285 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

You know what you are getting with Novotel. In my experience the rooms are always spotless and a decent standard. The Birmingham centre hotel is no exception.

The food at the bar was really good. This is a decent central hotel. If you want something central in Birmingham, this is a good choice.

One note of caution, when the staff say the main train station is a short walk, well it is, unless you have a heavy bag and there is snow and ice on the ground!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Birmingham Centre.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is fine, but noisy. You can hear noises both from outside (vintage windows are not soundproof) as well as from neighbouring rooms (you can hear your neighbour do his business during the night and the toilet seat bang when it falls back onto the bowl).

Most irritating are the car park charges. Once you have stayed 6 hours you are charged for 24. Why not. However, don't think you have paid for 24 hours. Once you drive back to the hotel, the clock start ticking again and you may pay for another 24 hours if you park for 6 hours again. 48 hours charge for 12 hours of parking. Not acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Carnarvon-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at the Novotel in Birmingham Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments seriously. Do feel free to contact me on 01216432000 or email me on richard.marsh@accor.com to discuss these issues further?
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,683 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#49 of 117 in Birmingham
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing