We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We had a reasonable stay here the night before an early morning flight. The room was quite big and the mattress was comfortable but the toilet was a bit dingy. We spent some time in the bar in the evening and had to wait an hour for someone to come and take our order (after about 4 or 5 reminders). They explained that they were short staffed that evening, so it wasn't the staff's fault I suppose.

The best thing about our stay was the location, it is right across the road from the departure hall which was very handy given that we had an early flight to catch in the morning. Everything else was pleasant but not amazing.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

I would very much like to discuss in more detail the bar service your received so I can investigate and take any appropriate action. Please do call me on 0121 782 7000 at a time convenient to yourself.

Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    930
    421
    115
    64
See reviews for
470
821
202
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dom Rep
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

Great over night stay, very adequate and very comfortable. Exactly what you need before flying out. Made the mistake last time of staying at cheaper hotel, not again, if I fly from birmingham then Novotel is just right, pity I never parked at the hotel though APH were very good anyway - Room service was a bit long but very good when it arrived

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricks40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit please feel free to contact us directly as we also offer our own park and fly packages.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
190 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel for a night or two when visiting NEC or overnight stay before a flight. Certainly not luxurious but very functional and good value. The bed was extremely comfortable, our bathroom was a good size with a fantastic shower and the breakfast was pretty good. Restaurant was a bit pricey but food was good. All in all suited our needs perfectly and I would return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and visit to the NEC.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

About all you can say about this hotel is it’s functional- but only just.
I’m an Accor club member and had booked online – so not best pleased to be asked to fill in a registration card when I checked in. Apparently they just prefer to do it that way here..? Got to our room and it was freezing, turned on the heating and after 5 minutes of blowing even colder air I called reception. After an absolute age – good 4-5 minutes someone picked it up and asked if I’d turned it on – yes, if I’d increased the temperature – yes, eventually and reluctantly agreed to send someone to look at it. After about 10 – (yes ten) minutes the heat started to trickle through and blowing warmer air when the room manager knocked on the door. Tried to get a wash and even after running the hot tap for over 10 minutes – no hot water – eventually just barely warm water came through. Same story the next morning but it did finally get hot water for a shower after about 15 minutes..!!
Good points:
o ideal for the airport with both terminals being just a 2 minute walk away
o rooms are very well insulated with no aircraft noise at all
o rooms are well furnished and comfortable and good to work in
o lots of (expensive) NCP parking all around
Bad points:
o sort the check in details out – the last thing you need to do after a long flight is wrestle with paperwork.
o heating and hot water are pathetic..!
o dragging big cases around to/from car parks is awkward – there’s provision for a car drop off at the entrance but no details available of how to navigate via the drop off car park etc.
o breakfast is expensive at £15 a head, walk into the terminal 1 building opposite and get a fill English for about £7 to £8
o sort the plumbing out – toilet handle has to be ‘pumped’ for it to flush
o secondary door from room to hallway cannot shut, and looks like it’s been that way for a long time
o why charge for WiFi – just another example of rip-off practices with captive customers
o heating & lighting stops working when the room key card is removed – take a tip and just replace it with any store or loyalty card – that way you have a warm room to come back to
o the walk in ‘rack rate’ here is £185 a night excluding breakfast, book on the internet – best rate I got was £65 – and for what you get that’s verging on over priced too.
o Lots of food choice in the terminals - still not cheap but more variety to suit all tastes

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

I was disappointed to read some of your comments about your recent stay with us. Please do call me on Tel: 0121 782 7000 so I can investigate this in more detail with you and take any appropriate action.

Yours Sincerely,

Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

A good stay, booked well in advance via internet, for extremely good value for money. Minor problem with room temperature that could not cope with the extremely cold weather and did not seem to be adjustable. Particular room was looking a little 'tired', but as this was only for sleeping in for one night, it was not too important. Excellent restaurant and food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I was very pleased to hear you found us great value for money. With reference to the heating. This has since been corrected due to the unforeseen cold period we have been experiencing in the UK.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing