We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best option for airport overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
jc30
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best option for airport overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Most of the comments made by previous posters would fairly sum up the Novotel - best location, good comfortable rooms and reasonable prices. Our rate included breakfast, which, although some posters found too basic, suited our personal needs. My husband had the hot buffet breakfast (bacon sausage etc) which he said was good; I had the cereals and toast with honey which was perfectly adequate for me. There was also a selection of pastries, cheeses, cold meats and yogurts, jams etc. Coffee was very strong, which was fine for us. The staff were very attentive and service was good in the restaurant and at reception. We ate in the restaurant at night; the food was perfectly fine but a little expensive for chain hotel fare. Midday checkout was also a bonus for us as we could have a lie-in with no early morning departure. A minor problem we found with the room is the separate loo - slightly inconvenient to have this separate from the bathroom. Otherwise, the Novotel is a very good option for an airport overnight stop.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    917
    409
    112
    61
See reviews for
458
807
198
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, U.k.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

This hotel is in a perfect location - Novotel Birmingham Airport is literally across the road from the 2 passenger terminals at Birmingham International Airport and a 90-second free ride on the sky-train from Birmingham International Railway Station, which is itself connected to the Birmingham NEC building and near to the LG Arena.

Like all Novotels the staff were very nice to me and my room was warm and most importantly clean!

The hotel has its own restaurant (which I didn't get to try) but also as you are over the road from an airport there are more choices inside the terminal building including 'Frankie & Benny's', Starbucks etc.

The only small problems I found were on a technical level - for some reason the TV system doesn't have the Freeview digital channels - this does not need to be a deal breaker for a hotel, but if you have a few hours to kill before going out or before you go to sleep, it seems strange that such a modern hotel chain would still have such a cumbersome TV system, especially after the national digital switch-over. It would also have been useful to have access to television schedule listings via something such as teletext.
Also I could not get the audio connector for mp3/iPods to work in my room (room number 208). I followed the instructions but it didn't seem to respond to my working iPod Touch but I forgot to mention this to the front desk when I left, as it could just be a loose wire etc.

Pros:

*Amazing location for travel options + NEC/LG Arena
*Very nice bedding with a thick duvet.
*Room safe
*Sound from the television is pumped into the bathroom which means you can keep listing to the TV audio while you brush your teeth etc.

Cons:
*Dim toilet light (separate to bathroom). I assume it is an energy saving bulb - which is great to have - but mine just seemed to take an age to brighten up fully.
*No Freeview digital channels or schedule listing channel
*Audio connector for mp3/iPod didn't work

Outdated TV system aside, the warm and clean Novotel at Birmingham Airport is literally the closest you can stay from the Terminals. The breakfast was fairly basic but perfectly good enough if you can get it included with the room price, as on its own it seemed fairly pricey. Also I would have liked to see a few more hot vegetarian options.

For any traveller using Birmingham Airport, International Railway Station or going to see a show at the NEC/LG Arena you couldn't have a more convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangermousetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

stayed here before a holiday, location could not have been better, literally under a minute from walking from the lobby to the terminal (a real minute, not like some hotels who claim they are close to an airport but are 15/20 minutes walk!). check in was a doddle, anthony on reception was brilliant, i had loads of questions and he answered everything, a real nice change! didnt eat in the restaurant bbut used the bar and the staff were again really nice and chatty, made us feel very wlecome. minor grumble, woman on reception when checking out (ritta?) was a bit miserable and a little too harsh in her language? but then it was about 5am so understanble!will defintely use again though!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottilitsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

I was placed at this hotel after my flight was cancelled and I have to say it was a great hotel . The staff was helpfull at checkin the rooms were clean and comfortable. The only complaint I would have is that the restaurant staff that I dealt with had poor english language skills, which really surprised me considering I was in England . I would recommend this hotel , would stay there again and I would eat at the restaurant again but i would most probably be a little more forward and ask for a english speaking waiter.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravellerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Midlands/North South East, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed here on 30 December 2009, as we had an early flight to Lanzarote the following day. We'd parked at Long Stay Car Park No 1, and caught the courtesy bus to the airport, but to be honest it was walking distance. Room was good, had a nice meal in the restaurant - husband had Mediterranean vegetable lasagne and I had an omelette. It wasn't cheap, but then I hadn't expected it to be. There was a fitness room, which my husband used, and he said it was good, though small. Staff were pleasant.

Hardly noticed any aircraft noise. It depends on what's important to you, but for me, the convenience of the proximity to the airport made our stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Ended up staying here as a result of bad weather, and didn't so much look to stay here, but it was the closest hotel to the airport. Had never stayed in a Novotel before, but would do so again. Having stayed in airport hotels before, this was a pleasant surprise.

Check-in was efficiently, friendly and a pleasant experience. Room was clean and well-equipped. Bed was VERY comfortable. Sound-proofing of the rooms was excellent - despite being in an airport, no noises of planes could be heard.

Internet access is free in reception, including the option to print boarding passes.

Restaurant was good value with a good selection, and good food.

Overall, took lots of the stress out of being stranded at the airport and was pretty good value for a totally last minute booking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThinkSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

Stayed for one night using the airport parking package costing £99 for a weeks parking. Decided to park at long stay ca rpark first and took bus into airport (although it is walkable - about 5 mins from longstay 1). Parking can be a real nightmare at Birmingham airport due to security so would recommend doing this (rang hotel first to find out where to park).

Check in smooth. Room perfectly acceptable - the bed was huge! Everything clean and tidy. Requested and got a quiet room away from lift/stairs.

Dinner in bar was very expensive but no other choice as arrived late and restaurants in airport close about 9.00 pm at the latest. That said, food was excellent and service faultless.

Only negative - absolutely no other facilities, i.e. gym, swimming pool etc which is a shame.

Hotel just a short walk across road from terminal at Birmingham airport so very convenient. Ibis hote (sister hotel) is next door and will try this next time as is about £20 cheaper for parking package.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing