We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located to the airport and NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel has ideal location for the visitor to NEC, Birmingham Exhibition Center and also stone throw distance to Birmingham airport. Rooms are typical Novotel style with swing desk, spacious, well equipped and clean. Restaurant serves good food including some Asian delicacies. Room rate become quiet high when the large exhibition is held, rather higher than those hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Ask the room with bath tub. No noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masaofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

As a frequent Accor Customer, I am becoming more and more discontent with the standards represented by various Accor Brands, namely Novotel and Mercure. Tonight's stay, Unfortunatley, further adds to my dissatisfaction.

Firstly, Signage to the hotel from the labyrnth of Airport access roads is dismal. Upon following such signage, one is "trapped" into paying to access the airport's "Drop off only" car park, albeit only £1 for 10 mins, this is unncessesary when you have to then pay at the machine, then exit the carpark to park in one of the more suitable carparks, which, wait for it, will cost no less than £22.50 per night. Fortuantely, the carpark is only a short walk to the Hotel entrance (Which is located in the "drop off" car park.

Check in was pleasant, a secondary parking ticket is provided to help reduce the cost to circa £16.00. Internet Access is offered, however at this particular Novotel, is a chargeable addition. As is the normally standard TV / Internet / Movies / Radio (Basically any form of in-room entertainment) - a further £19.50 per night.

Corridors and Rooms are dated. Furnishings are normal Novotel furnishings, But rooms are nothing special by any means.

In summary, I would suggest that you stay at the adjacent Ibis hotel, which offers almost all the same facilities, besides the gym and larger bathrooms, and save yourself at least half the nightly room tariff. Tonight's stay has simply reminded me why I have started to look outside the Accor Brand when booking accommodation at home or abroad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel_Witter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

No one would choose to stay here if they did not have a flight before or after.Check in was civil, the room clean and the bed comfortabe.Do not expect good food!!
The bar was so depressing that the last thing on my mind was to linger for a drink...looked more like a works canteen.
All you can say is it fulfills a need.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a great stay, staff where very friendly and helpful,it was great that we where early to book in and our bags were stored until we returned from the NEC.We will stay again thanks.Kids really enjoyed keeping up with facebook etc on the computers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivacious_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

if you have an early flight, or an early trip out of BMG in the morning, this is a very good place, 3 min on foot from the airport terminal, rooms are very well isolated an quiet, clean enough for the UK, breakfast is very good,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriele290858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was travelling on business and had an early departure from BHX. The check-in was smooth and very friendly. The rooms absolutely quiet considering that this hotel is located at an airport. The room was clean and functional, the bed comfortable. Internet was free of charge and reasonably fast.
The breakfast had a choice of healthy, continental and full English. For the "always on" business traveller, the hotel offered niches where you could watch your program of breakfast television. From teh hotel you only had to cross one street to be in the airport building - just perfect. This is certainly my hotel of choice for early departures from BHX.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2night in order to attend the Horse of the Year Show at the LG Arena, I have to say first of all that Katie at the reception was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us, for the whole 2 days she asked how we were as we passed and was very friendly and polite. We stayed in the Executive Room 2 adults and 2 children, the room is a bit small when you have the sofa bed out, but clean, with a very posh bathroom. Breakfast was fabulous, and we had the most fantastic view out of the window of Terminal 1 and we could see the planes coming in and out. Very sound proof and you would never know you were at the airport. Very conveniant location as the departure lounge was only a 100yrds from entrance of hotel, we then caught the air rail to the NEC and we were at the LG Arena,
Will most certainly stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwelenlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $89 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing