We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2night in order to attend the Horse of the Year Show at the LG Arena, I have to say first of all that Katie at the reception was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us, for the whole 2 days she asked how we were as we passed and was very friendly and polite. We stayed in the Executive Room 2 adults and 2 children, the room is a bit small when you have the sofa bed out, but clean, with a very posh bathroom. Breakfast was fabulous, and we had the most fantastic view out of the window of Terminal 1 and we could see the planes coming in and out. Very sound proof and you would never know you were at the airport. Very conveniant location as the departure lounge was only a 100yrds from entrance of hotel, we then caught the air rail to the NEC and we were at the LG Arena,
Will most certainly stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwelenlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,931 - 1,937 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked here at the last minute due to a change in travel plans. I had a early morning flight and the location was ideal to accomodate that. For what was offered, I thought the hotel was highly overpriced, based off of previous reviews, it might be more reasonable if booked more in advance. The room was clean and comfortable. I ate at the hotel restaurant upon my arrival and also had the breakfast before checking out. I was not too fond of the evening meal, but the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked 2 rooms in September. The receptionist was happy to give us 2 rooms next to each other and facing airport, so my little one could watch for airplanes.
The room was clean & the bed was comfortable. A little strange to have a seperate toilet to the rest of the bathroom and it took me a while to realise some of the plug sockets didnt work.

We arrived quite late, so just ordered a snack from room service, this was seriously expensive & a complete let down - There wasnt much food for the price we paid & the standard was not very good. We did complain about this.

The buffet breakfast the next morning was a huge improvement. The breakfast staff remembered us from the night before and couldnt do enough for us.

Overall an average stay in a basic hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is excellently located for the airport and the NEC. Customer service is good, rooms are OK. Breakfast is decent enough but the meal we had in the evening was poor - overcooked and not particularly decent portion sizes. Parking seems expensive (though doesn't it always) even at the reduced rate of £16 overnight. Would stay there again if I couldn't get in to one of the better hotels near the NEC (i.e. the Crowne Plaza)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good hotel experience. Team at check-in was welcoming and prompt. The room was clean and well furnished, with all essentials provided. And buffet breakfast was good, cooked food stocked up promptly. All in all, a very effective service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The property is right at the Birmingham airport - short walk from the car rental return and a shorter walk to the departure hall. Check-in was painless with zero wait time (unlike the Ibis at Schipol - waited over 30 minutes the last time I was there). The young lady doing the check-in was very friendly and informative. She made us feel unrushed and welcome, and provide great directions on how to get to a close by gas station before I turned in the rental.

Our room was modern and clean, and big enough (just) for the two of us for the one night. Interestingly, they have a double window system with about 1 foot dead space for sound deadening. I never heard any outside noise at night. There are very limited choices on TV, but I didn't stay there to watch television.

The included breakfast was good quality although very predictable. The breakfast service was very quick - probably use to dealing with business travelers who want to get in/get out as quickly as possible.

I had opted for the non-refundable, advance room purchase with full breakfast through a web service. In all, I have to give high marks in every area. This time I was traveling for pleasure, but I am already planning on staying here my next business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very friendly, hotel looked clean and presentable, customer service very good. Conference room average and compact. Buffet food for conference not brilliant. The salmon had dark bits on the edge of the segments not to be mistaken for salmon skin. This smelt odd and not as fresh as expected. The fries were cold and not hot. The wraps were good. I didn't like the way the buffet food was presented outside the conference room on a table where anyone could sneeze, cough or pick at the food whilst walking down the corridor. However customer service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retrodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#17 of 118 in Birmingham
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $98 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing