We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall value (if you book in advance)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good overall value (if you book in advance)”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The property is right at the Birmingham airport - short walk from the car rental return and a shorter walk to the departure hall. Check-in was painless with zero wait time (unlike the Ibis at Schipol - waited over 30 minutes the last time I was there). The young lady doing the check-in was very friendly and informative. She made us feel unrushed and welcome, and provide great directions on how to get to a close by gas station before I turned in the rental.

Our room was modern and clean, and big enough (just) for the two of us for the one night. Interestingly, they have a double window system with about 1 foot dead space for sound deadening. I never heard any outside noise at night. There are very limited choices on TV, but I didn't stay there to watch television.

The included breakfast was good quality although very predictable. The breakfast service was very quick - probably use to dealing with business travelers who want to get in/get out as quickly as possible.

I had opted for the non-refundable, advance room purchase with full breakfast through a web service. In all, I have to give high marks in every area. This time I was traveling for pleasure, but I am already planning on staying here my next business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    936
    428
    117
    65
See reviews for
474
836
207
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very friendly, hotel looked clean and presentable, customer service very good. Conference room average and compact. Buffet food for conference not brilliant. The salmon had dark bits on the edge of the segments not to be mistaken for salmon skin. This smelt odd and not as fresh as expected. The fries were cold and not hot. The wraps were good. I didn't like the way the buffet food was presented outside the conference room on a table where anyone could sneeze, cough or pick at the food whilst walking down the corridor. However customer service was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retrodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Check in was fast and efficient - very helpful and professional reception staff.
Rooms - on the small side but comfortable and clean - not much space to drag your suitcase passed the bed. Don't rely on the television alarm to wake you up......not sure if there was a problem with mine but luckily I was awake when it went off and it was on a very very low volume... wouldn't have woken me up from a deep slumber.
Great selection at breakfast although the staff seemed a little disorganized that particular morning - had to search around for someone to order my tea. If you can get the right deal it's still the best hotel on the airport complex... I particularly like the free internet service at reception and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I always opt for a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palm-Tree-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

but I wish the shower tub was not so high (not every one is under 40 or 6' tall!). Dinner at the restaurant was pleasant. I had beef and he had lamb. Service in the bar for a snack when we arrived, however, was dreadful. I was able to print out boarding passes at their computer with no charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corgipilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were very pleased with our overnight stay at the Novotel, the convenience of just walking across the road to Departures for an early flight was spot on. The room was comfortable, good shower and bed, and and the package of "Park & Fly" for 8 days @ £105.00 inc VAT was great value.

We had dinner in the Restaurant which was pretty good really for an airport hotel, the crab fishcakes did taste home made as billed. Steak and fish and chips both OK too. If you want to cut costs then pop across to the airport to eat.

If you can get a deal - and this hinges on any nearby events at the NEC when rates shoot up- this is definitely the hotel of choice when flying out of Birmingham.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Dont be fooled by the look of this restaurant. The food was overpriced and poorly executed. Starters were okay but all 4 of our main courses were dreadful. The Ceaser salad was just a small leaf salad, the green curry tasted like it had come out of a packet. By the time we had eaten we wished we had gone to Burger King. If your staying at this hotel and have time, then give this one a miss and make the effort to take a taxi to a real restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely apologize for any inconvienence that this casued you. We appreciate all feedback, as this helps us improve on the guest service experience. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0121 7827000 Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night only, and were more than satisfied with the hotel, which was very clean, very comfortable, and had pleasant staff, which was a bonus. The bedroom was spacious. Very comfortable bed! Tea and coffee supplied. Separate bathroom and toilet. Iron and ironing board in the room, which personally I find a great addition, as it is always nice to be able to refresh clothes after being creased in the case, if needed. Satellite TV with many channels. Breakfast was excellent, big choice and very fresh.
It is very convenient, as it is situated on the airport itself, with only a short walk to the terminal building. We had a special deal for bed and breakfast for the Friday night, and to be fair it was reasonable. Weekday stays are apparently a lot more expensive. Another good point to make is that if parking the car in the NCP mid-short term parking, make sure that you request the discount card from reception before picking up your car and paying. We had four days parking at the airport, and were shocked to find out when we went to pay that it should have been £90.00. However, the discount card, which is put into machine before making payment adjusts the price and we landed up paying £48.00. This is a big difference.
As far as we are concerned there is nothing to complain about. Everything about the hotel was more than satisfactory, and when we travel from Birmingham Airport again or perhaps arrive back late, then we will have no hesitation in booking a room here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing