We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #94 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value with a few niggles”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is situated a short walk from Birmingham railway station and not far from the City centre. It's also of course very convenient for the NEC.
The hotel is an old building but is modern in a conservative sort of way. The lobby is reasonably clean and tidy. My room, on the first floor was excellent. It was spacious, very clean and well appointed, with the usual refinements, including a TV which was a bit of a puzzle.. Tea and coffee were provided but no chocolate. The shower (over the bath, not in a separate cubicle) was easy enough to use. I slept very well-no disturbing noises from anywhere. Breakfast was provided - I opted for the full English, which was average, it being the first time I have encountered tinned tomato and mushrooms in such circumstances. There was also a radio playing. All in all, though, a pleasant stay, and in my case not expensive. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winkelschleifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    141
    155
    86
    91
See reviews for
38
123
89
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and myself stayed the night when we went to the Hippodrome Theatre which was just a few minutes walk away also very near to the railway station,Bullring and China Town all within 5 or10 minutes walk. For the price and location well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent 3 days here - booked on Comfort Hotel (Choice Hotels) website booked it but found it cheaper on another website .. Choice hotels guarantee a free night if you find it cheaper elsewhere ..... so it was 3 nights for the price of 2. Hotel is a little tired. Room had peeling wallpaper where water must have come in at one point ... Broken tile around shower fitting but all in all it was clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very central and a 2 minute walk from New Street Station. Costs were very reasonable and breakfast was available at an additional cost but there are loads of places near by for breakfast lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgetglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great hotel , after a late mind up we decided on a nite out in brum all other hotels were fully booked , found comfort inn and wat a great price , lovely welcome when we got there the room was lovely the bed was so comfy and it was so warm in the room the bath was good to nice and hot , was that good for price to so booked there for weekend and wat a great price wouldn't get that in any other hotel in brum

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We decided to stay here after reading other reviews and we were not disappointed. We had a warm greeting at the reception desk and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was clean, tidy, warm and well appointed. While unpacking we were able to watch our flat screen TV, drinking a nice cuppa tea. We had a bath with a shower over and hot water was plentifull. The bed was comfortable with white crisp linen. Every morning we were greeted with a friendly 'hello' from the lovely lady waiting to clean our room and also from reception as we dropped off our keys for safe keeping. What we paid to stay for 'bed only' some hotels would charge that, and more, for a breakfast. Everyday were given a voucher to reduce our parking by £18.50 per 24 hours....what more could you want. On checkout we were thanked for staying at the hotel, wishing us a safe journey and, hoping to see us again in the future.

Room Tip: Close to New St station and the city center. Cheap car parking....near to chinatown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We also chose this hotel due to it being situated near to the station and the good price... however if i was to visit Birmingham again, I would certainly pay a bit more and travel a bit further for a more "comfort"able stay!
We booked a twin room, which was quite cramped and had damp patches on the ceiling! The proximity to the station meant that we could hear the train announcements, which is not great at 7am on a Sunday morning!
We were also asked to wait in the bar, whilst they checked whether our room was ready, which was quite an experience - it was like we had stepped through a time zone into a back street pub with a number of random men propping up the bar! Very strange with a musty old pub smell - not my idea of a hotel bar, I'm afraid!
Needless to stay, I won't be visiting this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comf, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Comfort Inn, Birmingham. I do apologise for the issue with the train station and your room during your stay with us.

We are currently in the process of updating our bedrooms and we would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to show you the improvements that are being made.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I choose this place because it is right next to the New Street train station. Its easy access to shops and restaurants and everything else as well. I asked for a room with a bath tub so they changed my room to accommodate which was really nice. Sadly i had a bad nights sleep because you can hear the announcements from the train station until about midnight. Currently there is construction right outside that went most of the night-not the hotels fault at all but something to be aware of. The staff were all really nice and the bar downstairs was nice.

The hotel is very old style-on purpose-which is rather cute and i liked it. the room and bathroom could use with a bit of an upgrade but as i wasnt there for anything fancy or romantic it was good and comfortable. I would stay there again, but would ask first about the construction out side. The price was also great!

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms without windows facing the train station. They would be quiet i imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comf, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us.

I can only apologise about the construction work from the train station but within the next 12 months it should all be finished.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found our staff to be friendly, which I have passed on your kind comments to all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
280 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Property: Comfort Inn Birmingham
Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing