We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant birthday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here for my birthday over the bank holiday weekend and had a fabulous stay. The check in was extremely quick. We opted to stay on the Executive Level with the use of the Clue Lounge and found the floor very quiet and the room was a good size. The location was fabulous, just a minutes walk away from the Mailbox where there were plenty if bars and restaurants. The hotel had even arranged a card and some wine in the room for us upon arrival, it was a lovely touch! The next morning we went for breakfast in the Club Lounge and the lady on duty also wished me a happy birthday. We would definitely stay in another Crowne Plaza hotel. It was a great experience. The only downside to this hotel was the car park. It was a little run down and not very well sign posted for hotel customers. We were a bit apprehensive about leaving our car there, but when we returned in the morning there were no issues but we wouldn't like to leave it for longer than 1 night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear SiobhanJade,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre to celebrate your birthday. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with your Club Room and that we you were happy with the extra touches the hotel provided to make your birthday more special for you.

The car park that we recommend to our guests is a public car park that is situated underneath our hotel and is not owned by the hotel. I have therefore passed on your comments to the manager of the car park to review.

I was pleased to read that you would definitely stay in Crowne Plaza hotels in the future and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    848
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
608
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here on NYE and the check-in and check out process was very fast considering how busy hotel seemed.
Rooms good size and with tea/coffee facilities, robe's and iron board etc.
Bar and restaurant area seems very drab and boring with no atmosphere but did not eat inside hotel so can't comment on food quality.
Wifi is very fast....location brilliant...would stay here again business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTD837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear KTD837,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and for writing a review. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with your check-in and check out experience and with the size of your room, as well as the amenities provided within it.

I was also pleased to read that you found our location to be brilliant and that you would stay with us again for business or for pleasure and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stbalbans
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a 2 double bedded room. Room was very clean and comfortable on the 4th floor with very little noise. Well equipted with tea and coffee and complimentary water. Beds were comfy and room was well decorated. Easy walk into town and the mailbox next door. Walking distance of the mainline station. Staff were polite and friendly.the breakfast was excellent.
Now the negatives- the shower door on our shower was missing and therefore turned the bathroom into a wet room and extremely slippery which I found out when vacating the shower. the fridge did not work - and the ironing board was dangerous with the iron attached to the board. When I lifted it out of the wardrobe the iron fell onto my foot. Also the electrical testing on the iron expired in September 2013.we were charged £5 for 24 hours wifi which was slow. Most hotels now have free wifi of a reasonable quality. I know that the wifi will be complimentary from July. Also cost us £27 to park the car - so with 10 Internet plus carpark - be prepared to add this amount to the cost of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flory44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Flory44,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. We welcome all feedback as this will enable us to improve what we offer to future guests and therefore I have taken all your negative comments on board and these will be actioned accordingly by the relevant department managers.

I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with your room and with the facilities and amenities within it. I am also glad to read that you found our breakfast to be excellent and our staff to be polite and friendly.

I do hope that you will give us another try to see the improvements that we have made through feedback from valued guests, such as yourself.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hotel very comfortable. located right net to the mailbox. Hotel staff friendly. Complimentary wi-fi reasonable speed. Small Sainsbury supermarket 5 mins walk away. You can watch the Shakespeare plays in Birmingham if you have time ;)

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CabinCrew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear CabinCrew2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be very comfortable, in a great location and with friendly staff. I was however disappointed to see that you had only rated your stay with us as 3 star. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at guest.relations@cpbhamcity.com

I look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

After a couple of weeks of staying in some hotels under a different brand, it was great to experience the quality Crowne Plaza, Birmingham City Centre has to offer. Ideal central location, speedy check-in, higher level room, great bar and restaurant, and TV that offered Sky Sports (Monday night, so football was on). My only minor criticism was that the internet was exceptionally slow. Most guests now look for a good internet service, so sorting this out would make this hotel the ideal place to stay. In summary though, a really pleasant experience and would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MartScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear MartScot,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay, especially our location, speedy check-in and great bar and restaurant. I have also taken on board your comments regarding our internet service and have passed these on to our IT support to look into.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant experience with us and would definitely return and so I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Arrived late and parked in the underground car park (carefully avoiding the bays that have flooded!). Since I'm a Platinum member I got an upgrade to the Executive floor. Check-in person was very efficient - gave me the required free Wi-Fi codes and the offer of a complimentary drink/snack at the bar. The only thing that she didn't ask about was whether I had a car in the car park - but I suspect that it's probably cheaper to just pay the ticket yourself (£10 for 18 hours I paid in the end, which was pretty good in my opinion). Executive floor gives you the free wifi plus the rooms are upgraded apparently (though to be honest it isn't obvious what the difference is) - in addition you get access to the executive lounge with a selection of soft drinks and a complimentary continental breakfast. My only niggle with the stay was that I wish the lights were a little brighter!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirMixalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear SirMixalot,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was pleased to read that your check in experience was efficient and that you found our hotel to be smooth and chic.

The car park that we recommend is the public car park directly underneath the hotel and the prices for parking are exactly the same whether you pay at the hotel or with the car park directly.

I have also taken on board your comments regarding the lighting in the rooms and have passed on your comments to our maintenance manager to review and action accordingly.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Crowne Plaza is located at the centre of everything, a walk from New street and the Bullring by day with a very short walk to the mail box and the cube for the nights eating and entertainment. The hotel was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The rooms are smart with clean lines and minimal clutter. Flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms have everything you need. We booked a standard double which was lovely for the weekend a reasonable size and a good price at £80.00 per night bed and breakfast. we visited while the german market was there and the hotel had very few rooms left as we booked, there is definitely a deal to be done if they have rooms available. The bar was comfortable with sofa's to sit comfortably. The staff were friendly and efficient at reception and in the bar. Breakfast was superb, buffet style with everything you'd expect for a Crowne Plaza with the english breakfast items kept fresh and hot.
Car parking underneath the hotel with a charge even though you are resident which really would be my only gripe!
A great place to stay central with shops, bars, and restaurants accessible. The hotel is also very handy for the ICC and NIA both in walking distance.

Room Tip: We booked a standard double which was sizeable and had everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sunnybunny1971,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was pleased to read that you were happy with our location and with the facilities and amenities provided within your room.

I was also glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient and our breakfast to be superb. We always want our guests to enjoy a great British breakfast and so I am glad that we delivered this for you.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,814 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,486 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,159 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing