We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
NE UK living in SE UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel for business”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night between a two day meeting in the same hotel, also has all meals here. Room was sizable and nice and clean. It was hot when I visited but I didn't use the aircon at night because it was rather noisy. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice. Meeting rooms were fine and with good tea/coffee/water/snack services outside. Breakfast was very good. I would say the only let down was lunch (from the buffet restaurant) and dinner (special banquet). The lunch buffet had nice salads, desserts etc but the main courses were rather generic (Thai curry one day and beef curry the next): it wasn't that the food was bad, but more that it could be described as a chicken or beef stew - nothing curry about it. The evening dinner came with two meat courses but these were nothing special. Very close to Birmingham New Street station and town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    889
    353
    103
    58
See reviews for
249
636
91
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Came for the weekend, lovely staff very efficient had lunch from the bar snacks menu, a bit pricy but very nice hot & fresh. Service excellent, room lovely & clean & everything in its place nothing too much trouble for staff, I would defiantly book again, you do need to be able to book breakfast when you book room.
Had a great breakfast nice & hot with lots of choice.
Quite central to everything we found Brindley Place which was within 5 minutes absolutely amazing we went Friday tea time around 5pm & it was buzzing fantastic atmosphere x

Room Tip: Room views not great.... But that's not what we went for x
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is adequate in most ways, but the air conditioning unit was simply hoepless in the room. Making for an almost unbearably hot two days. It would have been more comfortable to have slept in the car in the underground garage.

Room Tip: try your aircon on a hot day, or it will be pergutory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear TheBlade,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. We are truly sorry for the unusual condition of the room you received during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Concierge service a great feature for leaving luggage before and after checking in. Car park convenient, but a but pricey (£13.50 per day). Extremely well positioned for train station and local restaurants. Room was clean and linen fresh, towels were good and shower was refreshing. Air conditioning unit was on the noisy side in comparison the the Express by Holiday Inn chain which has much qieter units. Breakfast was well presented and had a great choice (get it in a package deal). Reception was helpful and efficient. Another good stay at this hotel. I will be back!

Room Tip: Look through teh different packages to choose the best inclusive one for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here several times and the rooms have been upgraded over the years. The new modern styling is very nice and comfortable. The main staff is friendly and very helpful. I was a bit disappointed in the restaurant staff and food. I ate there late one night and the fish and chips was way over cooked. The fish inside the batter was crunchy. The server was no where to be found, but to their credit the front desk removed the charge the next day, even they were appalled that you could burn fish and chips.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFAW_NDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really clean and crisp room. Great TV, clean bathroom and room. Shower / bath was powerful and temperature adjustability was really good

Mega size bed - and super comfy! Crown Plaza's are expensive - so there would be cheaper alternatives around. I find generic brands all a little samey - but this delievered what you want - a good night sleep!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this hotel. If I am staying at a holiday inn , I try to use the crowne plaza brand as I find these, in general, of a much higher standard. This hotel did not disappoint. It is located about 250 yards from new street station, so really well located.
I stayed on the executive floor on level 11. The room was nice, though typical of a business class room. Good sized bed, bath separate shower and a nice range of toiletries, room safe, and fridge. Canapés and drinks were served in the lounge from 1730 to 1930. These were ok but not spectacular so I paid a visit to the restaurant.
I was impressed by the food quality and levels of service. There were a couple of trainee waiting staff and I noticed how well the senior staff watched over them. I was impressed with this and the overall level of service. A 3 course meal with wine and coffee came to £66 which was a little expensive but it was good food and I was happy with the experience.
Breakfast was ok with a good range of cooked, continental and healthy options. I opted for the cooked buffet buffet breakfast. The hash browns and black puddings had been left out too long and were a bit hard and dry, but the rest was fine.
Just one little niggle I had was that when I returned to my room after breakfast , my key card stopped working and had to return to reception. I was ok with being asked for ID, but a little apology might of been nice.
But overall I was very happy with my stay and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing