We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel....would stay again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 14th December 2012 with 6 friends for our 'annual Christmas do'. The German market was on, which is quite big and has a lovely chrissmassy feeling!We chose this hotel due to the close proximity to the centre. It was about 4 mins walk to the Mailbox and probably a 10 min walk to the centre. The hotel was lovely, the reception staff were friendly,efficient and tidy. The room itself was great..we were on the 6th floor, lovely view, plenty of space, fantastic linen and comfy bed. Spotlessly clean,tea & coffee facilities,iron,ironing board and a big tv!The breakfast was served,buffet style until 11.00,that was a bonus..piping hot and plentiful..most things you could think of..and more!
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if we find ourselves in Birmingham again.
P.s we ate at the Brazillian restaurant at the Mailbox...fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Go for high up, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed on New Year's Eve. Check in was fairly simple. We had to go back a couple of times because the card keys for door wouldn't work which is annoying when you are staying on the 6th floor. The room was large with a dressing table with light and plug sockets. Lighting could have been better. The room had a large comfortable bed and the bathroom had a bath and shower.
We were nervous that there would be a large queue for breakfast (breakfast hours were extended for New Year's Day) but we needn't have worried and were quickly shown to a table. There was a good selection at breakfast. Vegetarian sausages were available on request. All food was self service and food was regularly replenished.Hot drinks were poured by staff from metal jugs. A teapot would have been nice as my partner had to keep asking for more tea.
Check out took a little longer than I would have liked but I think we may have been unlucky with an inexperienced member of staff as other queues moved quicker. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great hotel, large stylish room's & bathroom's. Location's great aswell only downside is the cost of room service i was going to order 2 breakfasts but it came to £56!!!! Which i thought was ridiculous!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel, car park is a public multi story and dark, felt very unsafe. Hotel was poor quality for the price. Location is good but other than that its poor. There are better hotels in the same area that come in cheaper. Don't be fooled by the brand that is normally associated with much better hotels.

Room Tip: Complain about the room and that will try and find you a good one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustenAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear AustenAdams,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. i apologize we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel several times over the past four or five years, with my wife and children aged 13,10 and 8. This Hotel is one and if not the only one that I can find that will sleep FIVE per room, as I feel that my children are not old enough to have adjoining rooms. Great Hotel fantastic central location, ideal for the Christmas Market!

Down side BAR PRICES.

Rooms are large and clean, Staff are very helpful

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5StarTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is ideally located within the City Centre and for the train station. Check in/out was quick. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Staff were polite and pleasant. The room was very nice and had everything I needed. The only critiscim I had was the lighting in the room was inadequate and I could hear every word spoken by the guest staying in the room next door. Quality breakfast with a wide selection to choose from. Would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Easy to find hotel and a short walk from the station, not sure about parking as did not have car. Check in was quick and easy. Room was spacious and with the pillow menu meant i could have a lovely soft pillow not like the usual rocks you get in chain hotels. Had one of the best nights sleep ever in a hotel. Shower is a great power shower but i did manage to get plenty on the floor, good selection of toiletries and good sized fluffy towels. My only complaint about the room is lack of decent light, there is no main light and even with all the lamps on was really dim. Not a problem in the summer but in the depths of December was needed. There is also no plug socket near the full length mirror for Straightners so had to do at desk but was almost too dim to see. Did not eat in the restaurant at all as there is a great choice nearby. Was a great location for the Christmas market which was on until 9pm and started just across the main road. Had a late drink in the bar (which as per all hotels was expensive) and as already mentioned if you want a comfy seat you are really sat in reception. Wish they would make these places cosier. Price was £75 for the night via corporate rate so good value for a hotel in the city. Very qucik check out the next morning. Once again did not have the pricey breakfast as Weatherspoons close and much better value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzy0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,019 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,471 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $87 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing