We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious bed, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Celle, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxurious bed, good location”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were lucky to be upgraded to a Club Room with the benefit of an extremely spacious, modern room and a wonderfully comfortable bed. It included a complimentary breakfast with a selection of cold cuts, granola etc. The location is just a short walk from Symphony Hall and Brindley Place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    865
    334
    98
    57
See reviews for
236
614
84
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at the crowne plaza on business this week. Great location as very central to all areas of the city centre. Has secure under ground parking, although access is via stairs so not much use of you are in a wheelchair .

Standard double room was big with contemporary decor, including two double beds and tea and coffee making facilities . Hotel broadband also available.

Dined in the restataunt and a fabulous meal which was good value and very tasty. No complaints at all. Great place whether staying on business or pleasure

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Mellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is well located for those looking for culture and nightlife. Just a five minute walk from the back end of New Street and a short stroll to the NIA, the ICC, Symphony Hall and lovely Broad Street, this hotel will appeal to wide spectrum of folk. The room was well appointed and comfortable but noise from adjoining rooms was a let down. Staff were very good as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Nothing special.
Check in staff not particularly competent - rushed and not very friendly.
£5 charge for internet.
Big room. Small bath and all a bit tired.
No taxis outside and a long walk from New Street Station. They called a minicab.
Room service was poor. It took four staff to deliver the tray and get the cash and return the change.
I would not go back out of choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerB1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback . We would always try and ensure a great welcome so my apologies that this did not happen on this occasion. The internet charge has been set at a lower level to try and maintain an acceptable connectivity . Concierge in the hotel lobby are available to help with transport requests and can book at time needed so please do use them when staying will ensure no wait. The Naigation Street exit from New Street is the quickest way to get to the hotel rather than the main entrance.
Your room service experience really should not have taken four visit even if cash was being used. To make payment in the hotel easier reception are able to open up a charging facility. They will just ask you to swip the card on arrival then this will be used on checkout.
The hotel has been recently refurbished but we have an ongoing redecoration program so will pick up your feedback and add to this.
Do hope you may reconsider and try us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have stayed here many times and it never disappoints.
It is a superb Hotel in a superb position with rooms that are some of the best I have ever stayed in. They are large enough and deffinately more comfortable than most by far with a breakfast that would be very hard to beat.
If you are considering staying here dont waste thinking time, just book it.

Room Tip: Personaly i prefer rooms facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBoy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great location for the ICC where I was attending a conference the next day. Room large but very cold and it didn't warm up when the air conditioning was turned up. Room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. Really bad smell on my floor (8th) corridor but thankfully that wasn't present in my room.
Drinks in the bar very expensive and service poor. Food average.
The car park is adjacent to the hotel but it's very dark and dingy and just didn't feel safe - poor lighting.
I wouldn't use again considering the Malmaison is just down the road and much nicer and of similar price or even cheaper at times.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peeblesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Good location for show at NIA. Misleading car park , this is not the hotel car park and not made clear on hotel site, no clear directions. After getting car park ticket validated was told we had 10 minutes to get to car and get out of carpark. Could actually take you that time to find your car!!!!
Bar prices very expensive . As we were in the bar we asked to look at a room service menu from reception before we went to our room and we waited 15 minutes before we were given one . Food pretty average and nothing to really shout about. Sometimes staff didnt really seem to know what they were doing !
Not really sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Joanfife,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad you liked the hotel location as well as your room accommodations. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel staff less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing