We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praying to be back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I only say that my 4 days stay in Birmingham last December was a unique experience in my life....and this was more comfortable because of staying in the perfect Hotel..Crowne Plaza Birmingham! Praying be back again!

Room Tip: A unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VassiliosFanaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,793 - 1,799 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is well located, about 10 mins walk from New Street Station.

The room was large with two double beds (very comfortable), flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities etc.

The bathroom was spacious and modern with a large walk in shower instead of a bath. However, the bathroom was not particularly clean.

The usual buffet breakfast with hot and cold choices was on offer. Food was of a good standard, but needs to be replenshed more often. I went for breakfast around 7.30am and it was already very busy with some dishes having run out. There was an on-table menu with around 5 dishes that could be made to order, but not enough staff around to take the orders, so leave additional time if you want to take up this option.

All in all, a comfortable hotel in a good central location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

A late booking for a weekend away with hubby. Stayed 11th n 12th Nov. Wouldnt have been my first choice of hotel but due to Top Gear live and some other events going on there wastnt much choice left. Kinda knew what to expect having stayed in other CPs in the uk. Finding the hotel and car parking not a prob. Check in efficient. Room v spacious with a bed right up there with the best ive slept in. Were on the 8th floor not a great view (overlooking some derelict building). Asked a couple of times for a vase or something to put flowers in that i had but nothing ever arrived. Didnt get our complimentary bottles of water n hubby had to plead with housekeeping for some extra coffee (one each would never keep us going). In the morning had to open the curtains to be able to get dressed as even with all the lights on it was still way too dark for me. Its great that they serve breakfast until later on a weekend but what a long queue for the food due to the fact that dishes were not being topped up quickly enough. Didnt have a drink or meal at the hotel what with there being so many great places right on the doorstep. Check out quick if no extras to pay for. Hotel car park a rip off seems to be plenty of cheaper off site ones around if your willing to use them. Only a cheaper rate or special offer would get me back to this hotel although location is a great plus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifi_travels907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to write your review.

Great to see that it was easy to find the hotel and your check in was swift. Apologies for not getting the vase as requested and this will be addressed with the Guest services team.

Complimentary bottles of water are now placed in the drinks cooler to ensure it is chilled for guest consumption, there is also a little note to inform guests.
Fantastic to note that bedroom was spacious and you have rated the bed comfort very highly.

Breakfast comments will be shared with the team to take on board. Hotel does not have any control over parking charges as the service is provided by a different company.

Once again thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stay here regularly (2-3 nights most weeks). I have found the staff to be consistently very helpful and pleasant. This makes the Crowne, in my view, the best hotel in Birmingham. Being away from home so much, I really appreciate that when I stay here, there is never any hassle with reservations, charges or anything else. The hotel is centrally located and convenient for much of the city. Of course, it is not always perfect, but when there is a problem the staff really go out of their way to sort it.

My only concerns here are the price of parking and bar prices. They seem a little steep, but broadly consistent with the rest of the hotels in the city centre.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back of the hotel, and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you for being a regular guest and also taking the time to document your observations.

It makes us proud when a regular guest makes such comments for staff service. Our main objective is to ensure that our team is customer focused and all trainings are based around this concept. Your comments reflect this very well.
Pleasure to note your comments for all hotel facilities and central location.
Car parking facility is not operated by the hotel and your comments will be passed on. Appreciate your concern for Bar prices and we are competitive and more economical as compared to other city centre hotels.

Once again thank you for your kind note and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Great hotel located just 10 mins walk from centre/station.

Was my first time staying at this hotel and I would stay again.

I rec'd a room upgrade and I always find CP hotels offer a great sleep, comfy matress and duvets/pillows.

My room had great working area.

Only complaints are no free Wifi ( I know everyone seems to charge but I dont know why when its cheap enough) and I found breakfast food very bland tasting so was put off eating there in the evening.

Room Tip: I was on 10th floor and views aren't great in this area so dont worry about room, I would think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd160368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind review.

Pleasure to note that you will be staying with us again after your recent first stay. Your comments for central location, comfortable bed, pillows and over all facilities are very much appreciated.
Our internet charge is very economical as compared to other city centre hotels- £5 for 24 hour access however your comments will be shared with the management.
Disappointed to know your feedback for breakfast quality and please be assured that this is not reflective of our usual high standards and attention to detail. This will be shared with the Head Chef to ensure quality food service is maintained at all times.

Once again thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed twice at the Crowne Plaza in Birmingham City Centre and both times we were very impressed.
The rooms (in our case club rooms) were excellent and spacious with very large comfortable beds and pleasing decour, and were presented in a excellent manner.
Location for the Ciry Centre is also excellent (max 5 min walk) literally three buildings down is The Mail Box which has a mix of shops, bars and restaurants (Oriental there is by far the best Chinese in Birmingham).
The club lounge in the hotel offered free alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks to club room guests and was a nice quiet relaxing change to the bars downstairs.

The staff at the Crowne Plaza are very helpful and efficient (we had to change rooms once and it was done within 5 mins of us checking in) and we found the overall experience very good.

Would definately stay again and plan to in the near future.

Room Tip: If an upgrade to a club room isn't too much more cost then definately go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times and can happily say that this is one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in.
Rooms are clean and spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Room service is prompt.
Breakfast is good, as is the restaurant food.
My only gripe is price. I travel on expenses but £7.20 for a 250ml glass of average red wine is taking the mick somewhat. £15 for breakfast is also excessive. If I was paying for it myself I would not stay at this hotel.
However, it is 2 minutes from The Mailbox, 3 minutes from the city centre and 3 minutes from
Broad Street so very well located.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eadeswerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,252 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $81 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing