We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinctive Art Deco gallery, a very fine collection.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barber Institute of Fine Arts

Barber Institute of Fine Arts
Ranked #9 of 275 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1932, this institute has acquired an outstanding collection of Old Master and 19th-century art, which includes masterpieces by Simone Martini, Bellini, Rubens, Murillo and Gainsborough.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Distinctive Art Deco gallery, a very fine collection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a gallery which is well worth a visit. The collection is quite small but has excellent examples of famous artists. It is rarely very busy so good for quiet contemplation. The occasional special exhibitions are good and sometimes highlight gems in the collection which are not conspicuous.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CountryStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    97
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“German Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's compact, but bursting with some wonderful fine art. Personally I don't like the Degas with the finishing post across it, but some of the other pieces are magnificent. It's open to all; they ask for a donation, but if you can't afford it, you are welcome anyway.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was a rainy day so we decided to spend part of it at the Barber Institute of Fine Art in Edgbaston. We weren't disappointed. The exhibitions (Portrait of a Lady and the European Landscapes of Thomas Fearnley) and the permanent collection were outstanding. Any permanent collection that includes sculptures by Rodin and Degas as well as paintings by Monet, Manet, Renoir, Van Gogh, Pissaro, Degas, Gauguin, Constable, Gainsborough and Rubens has to be worth a visit. Because of the time of year (end of December) and the nature of the day (cold and wet), the galleries weren't at all busy. We appreciated the lack of busyness. We had some sandwiches and drinks from the small cafe, ate our lunch and went on our way, glad that we had made the effort to visit the Barber Institute of Fine Art. By the way a 61 or 63 bus from the centre of Birmingham drops you off just a few hundred metres from the Barber on the Bristol Road.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small yet outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This little museum offers an astoundingly broad range of art, covering many centuries, by the great artists of centuries past.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a gem of a gallery. There was a Thomas Fearnley exhibition on when we visited which was a real treat - not an artist we had heard of, but he died aged 39 so probably didn't have a chance to become famous. The other 3 galleries have many wonderful paintings. Definitely worth a visit while you are in Birmingham - on the university campus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank valLeicestershireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barber Institute of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Barber Institute of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing