We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We found the hotel ok following the satnav, when we got there we realised there was no close parking even though it said there was on the premier inn website. So my boyfriend went in to ask where we could park and they said you could park in front of the premier inn until 8am but then you would have to move and we didn't want the hassle of getting up early. So they gave us some directions to the nearest car parking which was an absolute nightmare to find as the directions were rubbish and were telling us to go down streets which were closed due to road works and diversions and no through roads. After a lot of stressing of driving round passing the premier inn about 5 times we eventually managed to find a car park and they gave us the postcode for the new street car park that the premier inn had recommended. I would advise no one to stay here as it charges ridiculous prices of £24 for 24 hours so we ended up paying £48 even though we weren't there for 48 hours. There was a security guard in the car park who said that the premier inn offered a discount of 10% on the car parking but we soon found this not to be true. We then had to walk to the premier inn with our suitcases with no knowledge of where we were following the satnav on our phone like fools. When we got there check in was easy on the machines and could go straight up to our room. At about 22:30 my boyfriend went down to reception to ask about the car parking discount. The receptionist was with another customer at the point and when she finished with her she didn't acknowledge that I was waiting at all and walked straight past me and I had to say excuse me to get her attention. I asked about the car park and she just said no they didn't offer a discount, she was very rude and had zero customer service skills. Breakfast in the morning was very good as was the service.
If you order pizza to your room, bring a knife as they don't cut it into pieces for you! We just had a big round pizza and had to rip it with our hands and it was cold.

All in all an ok stay but probably wont be returning anytime soon unless they get car parking sorted!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this valuable feedback. Premier Inns strive to achieve the highest levels of customer service and we are sorry to hear that we have failed to do so on this occasion. Also, due to our location, we understand that the lack of parking facilities can be an inconvenience and we do try to let all our guests know about it, so they can plan their trip accordingly. However, the road works will be finished soon and finding the closest car park will be much easier, so we do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Quiet street so close to the shops and bars, great price for a high season Saturday night. Room was clean and new looking. It took us less than 10 minutes to walk to the canal area for our night out, though there were bars and eateries a stone's throw from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MummyRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hello,

We are so pleased to hear our location was so suitable to all our needs and that our rooms were up to your standards. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. Very central location, a spotlessly clean room and extremely comfortable bed. Very helpful, friendly staff. Only down side was the problem we had with gaining access to our corridor, and then our room using they key cards provided. We had four different cards during our two day stay. Taking the lift up five floors, many times only to discover that the key card would not let us in,then having to go back down 5 floors again in the lift to reach a member of staff. On our second day, having to do this caused us to miss the 9.30 train we'd planned to get to Stratford. Staff were very apologetic, and helpful, but it was still a nuisance, and time consuming. Speaking to other guest, some of them had similar problems. However I would recommend this hotel, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are very happy to hear you were pleased with our service and facilities. We are aware our key cards can be a bit temperamental at times, and keeping them by your mobile phone or bank cards can stop them from working, but due to the size of our hotel, they are a necessity.
We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience at a Premier Inn and what a very pleasant and positive one it was. I was there for 4 nights on a work course. Firstly the room was very tidy everyday and clean and very spacious. Had all the amenities I required.

The location was fantastic, very central and close to everything!

The beds... Are divine! Hypnos mattresses and a range of pillows to choose from, it was the best 4 nights sleep I've had in a long time, we are looking to upgrade our bed to a Hypnos mattress lol.

The hotel bar/restaurant is very good, prices reasonable and service with a smile!

I'd be very happy to stay at another Premier Inn on the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAdyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello MrAdyyy,

We are happy to hear about your excellent stay with us and about how pleased you have been with our hotel, our service, our bedrooms, and more importantly, our matresses. We do believe we have indeed the most comfortable beds in the country and we are happy you think so too.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we hope Premier Inn has now become a top choice for you in your future travels.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my first stay here but I am highly likely to use it again. Convenient for almost anywhere in the centre of Birmingham and a few minutes walk from the station. Great check in, good rooms, quiet and comfortable. Better than average breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahweb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello Sarah,

We are extremely happy to hear that our hotel matched your standard and that we have become a top choice for accomodation whenever you visit Birmingham.
Our location makes us an excellent choice indeed, and I am delighted to hear that you have had a good experience throughout your stay.

Thank you for the lovely feedback.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I usually book Premier Inn hotels for family trips as they're consistently family friendly, clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. We stayed two nights in this one and were very happy with the hotel. We booked a standard family room and it was spacious enough even with the double bed and the extra single bed. As with many hotels these days the windows don't open but there was air conditioning. An minor criticism would be the lighting as we found the choice of lighting all a bit bright when we were trying to get our wee one off to sleep and for during the time he was sleeping. The location was great, very central, and perfect if traveling by train as it's only a short walk from many of the central stations, New Street, Snow Hill and Moor Street. All the attractions of the city centre are nearby but it also feels quite a calm spot as there's a nice bit of green space in the square around the cathedral opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosco_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello Rosco,

Thank you for your brilliant feedback.
We are thrilled you have found our hotel so comfortable and satisfying to all your needs. Our location is indeed one of our main strenghts, together with our wonderfull staff, who will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
We have taken into account your suggestion to add an option of dimming the lights.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Premier Inns are very nearly all excellent basic hotels but this one is better than usual. Excellent location in centre if city and near New St station but quiet. Wonderfully cool on scorching and humid day. Friendly staff and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello Lesley,

We are extremely pleased to hear that our hotel has exceeded your expectations and that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. I will pass your wonderful feedback to all our staff.
We do hope to have become your number one choice whenever you visit Birmingham.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,203 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing