We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Premier Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I don't have anything bad to say about this premier inn. Check in was easy, our room was big and clean and we were up on the 6th floor so there was no noise from outside! The location is great too, right in the city centre and just

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saz281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Good Afternoon Saz281

Let me say thankyou for such a great review we feel extremely proud and hope you come back and see us again shortly.

Please keep an eye on the website for our saver rates also.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    594
    132
    55
    36
See reviews for
383
554
120
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location was ideal as only mins walk from Birminghham New St Station, also very close Bullring & centre. We paid £50 for room, which in prime location seemed ideal. About 10mins walk to Brindley Place, Broad Street & Symphany Hall (for concerts).

Room was exceptionally clean, spacious & had all we needed. Normally like to stay at independent BBs/hotels but tried Premier Inn as needed 1 night/central.

Think Premier Inn have the perfect ingredient. They call them budget. I would not say luxury, but certainly higher end budget. Stayed at a Travelodge before & not even close.
Comfy beds, exceptionally clean, and spacious rooms, with usual TV, tea/coffe/kettle, etc plus desk. Would think leisure & business travellers be pleased to stay here.
Liked Breakfast options, varying from take away £3 or so to £8.25 pp unlimited buffet plus all extras. Plenty other places to eat but it is deciding where as so much choice nearby.

On negative side: am not used to the auto check in system whereby staff not needed, but they are on hand if necessary. Seemed a little sterile as am used to meeting the hosts of places I usually stay. You could actually book in stay/leave without seeing any staff member.
For very good price place stay/central location - you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Room 320 excellent, apart from stain on carpet -probably unable to remove without recarpeting whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Janner,

Thankyou for your wonderful review in regards to Premier Inn Waterloo St we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Although we do have the Quick and Easy Self Check In there should always be a host there to welcome you and guide you with the check in.

I will show these comments to the rest of the team as feedback, hope you stay with us again soon


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

my daughter and i stayed there last weekend as we were at an open day for birmingham university , do not hesitate to stay there as you get first class service, sheila in breakfast room was just lovely as was all dinning room staff ,reception girls must get praise as they were so helpful printing boarding cards etc , very good location as shops and new st station walking distance cant wait to go back

Room Tip: 608 quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tphp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello tphp21,

Thank you very much for coming to stay at Premier Inn Waterloo Street.
Sheila will go out of her way to please every single guet, she is an assett to our team and I will congratulate her on your lovely comments.

Don't forget to visit our website to find great deals on rooms!

Kind Regards
Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Premier Inns increasingly know how to get things just right, and this one was even better than I have come to expect. Apart from the room having everything needed and being spotlessly clean, we had the guaranteed good night's sleep and the breakfast was very good. But what made it extra good was that the staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recomment it for a city-centre stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Marianne601,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Waterloo Street.
Cleanliness and a great nights sleep is what we truly believe in and I am glad to hear we met your needs in this area.

Please visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Thursday 25 April. Great location for business district (also for shopping). Room basic but clean and as always, great bed. What blew me away was the staff - very polite and attentive. I had a real issue as when I woke up on the Friday, my iPhone had died and I'd left the charger in the car which was 10 mins away and I needed to call my boss urgently. Emily, who was on the front desk, bent over backwards to find a charger, calling housekeeping, searching last property etc before tracking one down. Thanks Emily for saving the day. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pickle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Pickle68,

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Waterloo Street.
I will pass on your thanks to Emily and I am pleased to hear how attentive she was.

Hopefully we will see you again soon and don't forget about our saver rates online!


Kind Regards
Racahel Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night 24th april-25th april 2013 great location 2 mins to train station and shops yet set back a street so was quiet on night. stayed on 5th floor.lovely genuinely warm welcome by lady on reception who helped us use the fast check in system which is fab if you have stayed there before or are on a business trip etc as its a 'cash machine style' computer that gives you your room card and receipt. Had an evening meal and the full breakfast next morning and it was lovely and so were the staff. Amazed how great staff were usually in hotels as they say same thing over and over they talk to you through gritted teeth but not here. Other guests had same opinion everyone looked happy and a business man said he had stayed in lots of the pricier hotels and it was much better here. I'd definitely stay here again if visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippyDippyDooDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Trippydippydoodaa...

What lovely comments ..I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do really put alot of effort into making it a home away from home and can see you that is exactly what you experienced.
We hope to see you back again with us very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked this when I came to Birmingham for the day to see P!nk and decided to stay overnight. Not having stayed at a Premier Inn before (and having given up budget accommodation long ago) I did not know what to expect.

I only stayed one night and this is what I can say:

* Check in is easy and fast - self check in and it is all very self explanatory

* Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable and I had a good night's sleep (if not long enough!)

* Staff is amazing - one even walked me to New St station when I asked the way and the rest were very friendly and helpful

* Location is great - 5 mins walk to New St station and across from a lovely park

Missing one star because:

* Breakfast is not included

* WiFi is not included

I would not stay here for a long period of time for those two reasons but for a night or two it very much does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krinkles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Krinkles28,

Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Waterloo Street,

I am glad that we restored your faith in budget hotels.
All of our staff thank you for the lovely comments on our hotel and we hope that the breakfast and wifi doesn't keep you away for too long!

Kind Regards
Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing