We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, great location right in city. Very good value for money. Exactly what you want from a budget hotel staying with a young family. The only negative was the room was slightly on the small side, given that we had booked a family room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertfordshirebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    630
    146
    57
    42
See reviews for
411
596
125
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had the pleasure recently of organising an outing for 22 people to the Athletics at the NIA and chose this Hotel for it's location. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all mod cons, the bar lively and fun place to be, and the breakfast buffet, although a little pricey, enjoyed buy all.
The biggets surpise of our stay was the attitude of the staff, extremely attentive, happy and accomadating, an experience that I have never had before in a Hotel Chain. Thank you June and Sheila for your help in making our stay in Birmingham special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault in, self check in and out, quick and easy! Only thing is the room smelt of fish and chips! :)

Close to everything and always a short walk away.

Would return back to this hotel, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights 13-16th Feb 2013 in a family room. From check-in to check out we found the staff friendly and efficient and the hotel clean. This hotel is very central to all the tourist areas. Our room (323) was an unusual layout - long and narrow. You walk between the two single beds to reach the double bed. The TV can only be viewed from one set of beds. We quite liked the unusual layout of this room. The room was clean - towels and sheets a sparkling white. OH thought the passageway between the two single beds might be an issue for a larger person though. We brought a car and parked in the car park mentioned on the web site on Brunel Street. This cost £10 per 24 hours. The car park is called Town Hall car park (makes it easier to follow the signs). You pay on exit. There are no lifts so bear this in mind. It's easy to walk to the hotel - from the front entrance turn left towards New Street Station, at the traffic lights, turn left up Hill Street. When you reach Victoria Square it's a diagonal right (look for the Premier Sign). We had breakfast at the hotel once, £16.50 with a free teen! Excellent service from the seating, being shown around the buffet and paying. It was a last minute decision for us, we hadn't booked but the hotel was taking bookings. The food was excellent - rather than pile the dishes high under the heatlamps the food is constantly topped out. All items were present and really tasty. Very good value for us. We ate at a number of different places so didn't check out the hotel for dinner. If you're looking for cheap and cheerful, turn left out of the hotel and first left - halfway down Bennets Hill is a Wetherspoons called The Briar Rose. Typical Wetherspoon's food but with above average service. If you turn right out of the hotel and first right down hill, on the corner is the larger of the mini supermarkets in the near vicinity - this one a Tesco ( just in case you've forgotten the essentials!). We really liked this hotel - thought it was spot on for location. The unusual room layout really suited our family and it was clean and comfortable. What made this hotel stand out was it's staff who were faultless. I can't believe we only paid £19 a night for this hotel - an absolute bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have a better view but may well have more passing noise than those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hi,

Stayed in this hotel due to business rather than pleasure in November 2012. I arrived at 18:00 in the rain and received a warm welcome, helping me self check in, in one of the 3 PC's in the reception area, I was ready to go with my key I less than 5 minutes.
I booked a double room with tee and breakfast included and an extra. In total for 1 night it came to about 75 pounds which isn't too bad but I think I was lucky as this hotel is now more expensive since I tried booking another business trip for March. Shop around a little you may find a better deal.
The rooms were clean and of a good size, it had everything you needed so very pleased there.
Dinner was a bit of a letdown as you have a specific menu and the food at the bar which is located next door, accessible via the hotel reception was in my opinion as good as a Weatherspoon pub, cheap and cheerful; but again I paid 22.50 for both breakfast and dinner so you decide if its value for money.
Breakfast made up for my dinner options as you had everything you can expect to get in a hotel, choice of continental or full English or both ! ;)

In summary, very nice and clean hotel but if you have a choice eat out for dinner/supper there are so great restaurants close by!

Hope this helped make your mind up.
Chris

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my second stay at the Premier Inn in Waterloo Street, Birmingham. The hotel overlooks St Philip's Square which is pleasant enough but it's also a particularly good venue for the Town Hall, Symphony Hall, Museum and the main shopping area. Despite it's central position, the rooms are so well soundproofed that a comfortable, quiet night is guaranteed. As with all Premier Inns I've stayed in the members of staff here were polite and efficient, the rooms clean and comfortable and, particularly on this occasion where I managed to get a double room for £19, represented extremely good value for money. I visit Birmingham for concerts mainly but love the markets and the friendliness of the people. I wouldn't like to visit this hotel if I was travelling by car as there is no dedicated car park. Book in advance on National Express or train, however, and you may get a good deal. I look forward to my next visit in April!

Room Tip: Never had a bad room in a Premier Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the moment we stepped in the premier inn we were welcomed by very pleasant and friendly staff. Premier breakfast was excellent with every option available. The room was comfortable stylish and warm, fresh towels every day. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,033 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
874 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing