We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birmingham City centre Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hi,

Stayed in this hotel due to business rather than pleasure in November 2012. I arrived at 18:00 in the rain and received a warm welcome, helping me self check in, in one of the 3 PC's in the reception area, I was ready to go with my key I less than 5 minutes.
I booked a double room with tee and breakfast included and an extra. In total for 1 night it came to about 75 pounds which isn't too bad but I think I was lucky as this hotel is now more expensive since I tried booking another business trip for March. Shop around a little you may find a better deal.
The rooms were clean and of a good size, it had everything you needed so very pleased there.
Dinner was a bit of a letdown as you have a specific menu and the food at the bar which is located next door, accessible via the hotel reception was in my opinion as good as a Weatherspoon pub, cheap and cheerful; but again I paid 22.50 for both breakfast and dinner so you decide if its value for money.
Breakfast made up for my dinner options as you had everything you can expect to get in a hotel, choice of continental or full English or both ! ;)

In summary, very nice and clean hotel but if you have a choice eat out for dinner/supper there are so great restaurants close by!

Hope this helped make your mind up.
Chris

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,466 - 1,472 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my second stay at the Premier Inn in Waterloo Street, Birmingham. The hotel overlooks St Philip's Square which is pleasant enough but it's also a particularly good venue for the Town Hall, Symphony Hall, Museum and the main shopping area. Despite it's central position, the rooms are so well soundproofed that a comfortable, quiet night is guaranteed. As with all Premier Inns I've stayed in the members of staff here were polite and efficient, the rooms clean and comfortable and, particularly on this occasion where I managed to get a double room for £19, represented extremely good value for money. I visit Birmingham for concerts mainly but love the markets and the friendliness of the people. I wouldn't like to visit this hotel if I was travelling by car as there is no dedicated car park. Book in advance on National Express or train, however, and you may get a good deal. I look forward to my next visit in April!

Room Tip: Never had a bad room in a Premier Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the moment we stepped in the premier inn we were welcomed by very pleasant and friendly staff. Premier breakfast was excellent with every option available. The room was comfortable stylish and warm, fresh towels every day. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a 2 night mid week break. The hotel is ideally situated near the Bull Ring and resturants on Broad St are a short walk. If you come by car there is no parking at the hotel and be prepared to drive around to find one. The one advised on web sight was full. You will pay £10 - £18 per 24 hours so this is some thing to factor in, it could be better to travel by train, New Street station is with in walking distance. The room is standard Premier inn, clean and well maintained, but with out an arm chair, there was a standard chair for the desk, but there was 2 of us and that meant someone had to sit on the bed. Did not eat at hotel so can't comment on the reaturant. The tv was a bit small, other than these small niggles we were very satisfied with the hotel and would certainly stay again, might cost in a train trip next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayjay200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pleasant helpful staff, ideal position for Birmingham new street. Very pleasant bar and restaurant 5 mins from Mail box.
An excellent location for Glynn Purnells Bistro or Purnells restaurant.
A very attractive spot as well pretty green right in front with lovely church
Great price for city centre Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonneStalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just had the pleasure of staying at this hotel & would not stay in any other in Birmingham now. The rooms are excellent, ours was spacious, very very clean, well equipped & the bed was amazing. We had windows all around & being on the 6th floor also had excellent views. The staff were very friendly & very helpful & the hotel is situated in a brilliant place to get to everything we like about Birmingham City Centre, also walking distance of New Street Station. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Glen1152,

Thank you for you lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Waterloo Street.

The sixth floor really does offer some fantastic views especially around the St Philips Cathedral.

I hope to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here with in a group of 6 girls, at end of November. Very nice hotel in a brilliant location for shops and New st station. Everything clean, and staff very helpful. My only niggle was we were originally allocated rooms all over the hotel, but after asking the reception to put us closer together, she managed to change one of the rooms, so we were only 1 floor apart. We had a room over-looking the cathedral, and very spacious. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerntravellerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear northerntravellerH,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay in November.

The Reception Team always try to ensure that block bookings are allocated together however I do apologise for the inconvenience caused with your initial room allocations, on this occasion there may have been a large number of group bookings but with only a certain amount of room types per floor.

I hope to welcome you back here soon!

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,203 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing